RSS

A weekend that didn’t make its presence felt

21 Nov
I did not do any of the regular weekend chores nor could we catch up with our sleep. The weekend that flew away seemed inadequate and missed to give us it’s feel. I have no Idli batter, no ginger-garlic paste, truckload of clothes to be ironed, my eye check up pending. Most importantly, I hardly cooked in the last two days which makes the weekend so unusual.

Friday evening, we had sudden guests at home. I rushed home from office as soon as I was informed of their arrival. I had only 1 hour in hand to transform a ‘Tornado-struck’ home to a presentable abode. Mantam were too happy to have guests over as they got pampered and also got new dresses, colouring books, crayons and cute li’l purses. They were so obsessed with their purse that they hid it under their pillow when they went to bed.

Saturday morning, my kitchen was taken over by the aunts. I enjoyed eating not-cooked-by-me food after a long time. We went to drop them at another relative’s house in the afternoon. On the way, we dropped by a shop to buy some goodies for the aunts. When I paid the bill, all of a sudden Mannu started crying loudly. On inquiring the reason behind her outburst, she said “I have a purse and money in it. I wanted to pay. Why did you pay?” I controlled my laughter and consoled her saying “We’ll go to another shop. You pay there.”

On the way back I wanted to go to Thippasandra market coz I had found from the internet that there was a shop that rents out costumes for fancy dress. Mantam have a Family Day celebration on 24th where they have ‘Community Helpers’ as the theme. We are asked to dress them up as Doctor and Nurse. We roamed around looking for the costume shop, we stopped by a Sugarcane juice shop. Before Abbas finished ordering, Mannu had neatly taken out 2 coins from her purse and kept on the counter and said “I have paid”. We just smiled coolly. The juice had not yet arrived. She kept on looking at her empty purse and the coins that she had given away alternately. Finally, she put the 2 coins back into her purse and said “This time you pay. I’ll pay in the next shop” Abbas and I simply burst out into laughter. She carries my stingy genes. LOL

We finally spotted costume shop and there was doctor’s coat there.

Me: “How much?”.
Shopkeeper (SK): “150”
Me: “We want it on rent”
SK: “Yes. It’s 150 on rent”
Me: “Per day how much?”
SK: “Per day 150”
 

Abbas and I looked at each other and I told the SK “We’ll come on Wednesday” and left. We thought they charged too much plus picking it up and dropping back would be a pain considering our tight weekday schedule. We hopped into a Fancy Store and we bought some hairbands and bangles for Mantam, one Nail Art kit for my niece. We were heading home when I suggested that we go on Namma Metro ride. Mantam kept on asking where we were going on train. We said Bangalore. When we got down in MG Road, they asked if we had reached Bangalore. They danced in the train. Tammu was giving crazy poses and I couldn’t help but click her nautanki-ness. Tammu was worried about Bulu thinking that he might feel lonely and cry as he couldn’t board the train.

When we came back to Bulu, guess what Mannu asked “Are we going to restaurant now?” I dismissed the idea outright as I had dinner ready at home. Abbas insisted on going. He wanted to have Chinese, I wanted to have Biryani. We finally settled on a Multicuisine restaurant which served both. Mannu said again “I’ll pay here okay? and kept the purse on the table as though the treat was on her! We didn’t have to feed them. They used the fork and spoon and ate on their own with little help from us. Yayay to that! When the waiter was serving on Mannu’s plate, like an adult she politely told him “That’s enough”. They asked for finger bowl after finishing food and reminded us that mouth freshener and toothpicks were not given.

Sunday morning, we were all lethargic. For breakfast we had some french toast. I finished off painting the M-seal pot and windchime. I didn’t have to cook lunch as previous day’s cooked dinner was staring at me from the fridge. In the evening we stepped out to buy some veggies and fish. I went to all possible cloth stores to check if they had white colour uniform shirt and none of the shops had it. Finally I went to my trusted tailor to check if she can stitch a coat if I brought white cloth. She was going out of station and the shop would be closed for next 5 days. Abbas was getting so pissed off with my craziness and said “Why don’t you chill out? It’s not some international pageant that your daughters are participating in. Let it be. It’s not a big deal if they can’t participate.” I countered – “They’ll feel bad when other kids come dressed up and they get to be the audience. We can try our best.” He taunted – “You will not change. Ya, let’s try. Let’s cover all cloth stores in bangalore and spend the night on this. It’s very very important to try.” Finally I gave up. But I’m thinking of some other ideas. Let’s see. I’ll get some workaround but will have Mantam participate! Wish me luck.

We had a simple dinner of Rice, Dal an Fish fry and went into snooze mode!

Leaving you with some pics:

Tammu-Mamma-Mannu Trio

Excited to go to Bangalore

Balancing act

Nautanki No.1

Pole Dance ??!!

Closer look

 
18 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

18 responses to “A weekend that didn’t make its presence felt

  1. R's Mom

    November 21, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    YOU DID THAT!!

    babes marry me..seriously..I mean how much talented can a person get?? cooking, painting, jarring (if thats the word for the decoration on that jar), twinning (or rather producing twins), and on top of that working!…This Abbas Bhai is one lucky fellow!!!

    I mean, boss, how much more can you do..

    And this Mantam, zara kala tikka lagana..they are so so cute

    and they are so matured yaar…I mean taking out money and all that…R toh will put the money in her mouth only 😉

    loved the photos..kala tikka okie?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 21, 2011 at 5:01 pm

      LOL on twinning 😀

      I thought we settled on me adopting you. You are back to marriage again?? 🙄

      That ‘jarring’ is so so simple re. Even kids can do it. I simply painted the whole pot in black colour and used glitter tubes on top, as simple as that.

      Like

       
  2. Sugar and Spice

    November 21, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    “This time you pay. I’ll pay in the next shop” – LoL at that!

    150 rupees for a white coat? On rent that too??! 😦 **I know I sound like an ollllddd auntie**

    Super pics those! The chimes and the M-seal work looks awesome! 😀

    Shopping, finger-licking food, guests, painting, crafts, Namma metro ride – and you call this ‘A weekend that didn’t make its presence felt’??!!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 21, 2011 at 5:04 pm

      Yes, 150 Rs for a coat on rent was difficult for me to digest too!

      Thanks SnS

      Yeah, we did many things but didn’t eat a heavy meal and snore at home. Also lot of chores now will get transferred to the coming weekend.

      Like

       
  3. garima

    November 21, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    One multitalented you are 🙂
    And when did mannu grow so much,i mean paying money and all.I have fallen in love with Mantam 🙂

    hey for doctor’s costume try some of you white shirt na ,alter it to their size..yeah i know i suck big time when creative thinking is required 😦

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 22, 2011 at 11:05 am

      They like to act like grown-ups re. They try to imitate elders always.

      Our white shirts will be too large to be altered. I’m trying to get hold of some school going kids’ who have white shirt as their uniform. For nurse costume, their day care teacher said that she will give her daughter’s old plain white frock.

      Like

       
  4. summerscript

    November 21, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    Awesome pics 🙂 the kids are so so cute…loads and loads of hugs to them
    This time you pay. I’ll pay in the next shop” – 😀 😀 See how clever she is..

    And the painting work is realllyyy good. You are a multi talented person 🙂

    So now you have to teach me cooking as well as painting 😀

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 22, 2011 at 11:05 am

      Come home, I’ll teach you all that I know!

      Like

       
  5. Little Fingers

    November 22, 2011 at 2:12 am

    You have your hands full isn’t it..I love your art work, they are amazing. Kids are sweethearts, I recently started reading abt them and already a fan 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 22, 2011 at 11:06 am

      Thank you so much.

      Like

       
  6. RS

    November 22, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    I love the idea of Mannu’s idea of paying 🙂 You went to ‘bangalore’ Eh? 😀 I know – from where you live… Yet to get onto that train… Just waiting for the ‘muhurtam!’

    And that ‘jarring’ (RM’s idea) is suuper. Did you get the girls involved too? When do you get time for all these? Do you sleep at all????

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 22, 2011 at 1:41 pm

      Yeah right, we live in outskirts of Bangalore. Take Chutku soon no? I’m sure he’ll enjoy.

      I did give them two paint brushes and they did the basic coat with white colour. Mannu spoiled my brush by scrubbing the brush against the pot as though it was Scotch-Brite. I did not let them touch the pot when I was giving the finishing touches.

      No re… I just completed both the pot and chime this weekend. I have been working on them since many weekends.

      Like

       
  7. Bikram

    November 24, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    wowow thats some talent you got ..

    and bangalore is indeed a interesting place had some fun days out there 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 25, 2011 at 10:27 am

      Thanks Bikram.

      And I’m really really sorry I forgot to send you my contact details. Infact it totally went out of my head that you would be in B’lore around this time. *hangs head in shame*

      Like

       
  8. Scribby

    December 7, 2011 at 11:51 pm

    OMG big girls these are now,eh? wanting to pay bills and asking for finger bowls…hehehe super cute 🙂

    I absolutely adored the pots and chime 🙂 and look at the red goggle hair band 🙂 lol @ pole dance 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 8, 2011 at 11:55 am

      Yeah, they like to pretend like grown-ups.

      Thanks Scribby.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
