RSS

Community Helpers

25 Nov

Mantam’s school picks a theme each month and they have so many events conducted all through the month based on it. This month it was ‘Community Helpers’. Yesterday they had an event where parents were invited. The school had put in so much efforts to beautify this event. They had made makeshift hospital, boutique, post office, airport, salon, court, prison, bakery, supermarket, traffic signal etc. I was very much impressed with the whole setup. The teachers were helping students in playing their roles. For example, any parent would come to the Doctor’s clinic, Doctor would check their BP, check using stethoscope and write prescription. Then they would be either sent to nurse for injection or Pharmacy to buy some medicines. It was very well coordinated. Final stall was post office. The postman insisted to fill the feedback form and provided an envelope. We had to fill the feedback form and put it in the envelope and deposit in the post box there.

I felt very nostalgic looking at the whole post office setup. I used to write letters to my friends who had moved away and wait for the postman in anticipation of a reply. I know, e-mails are fast and convenient. But they cannot give a personal touch that a handwritten letter can.

A few of Tammu’s antics:

1. She was more keen on picking up Koflet and eating them than attending patients.

2. There was a boutique adjacent to their hospital. She was looking at the pretty dresses hung there and was whispering to me “Wo dress mujhe chahiye”

3. Tammu was pointing towards the judge (refer pic below) and telling me “Wo dekha. Matha mein ice pehna hai” (Meanin – Look, he has worn ice on his head)

3. At the end of the event, they accumulated all kids on the stage and played a Hindi film song. All kids started dancing but Tammu started crying for me. (I was filling the feedback form) She thought that I had left. I picked her up and she refused to get down. Next song was ‘Lakdi ki kaati’ and she jumped from my lap and kept on jumping on the stage like a spring. In the evening, when I asked her why she didn’t dance initially she said “Wo gaana mujhe pasand nahi hai, isiliye” (Meaning – I didn’t like that song. That’s why)

4. This event was from 10 AM to 12 PM. Abbas and I had to go to office and Mantam thought that we were all going back home. I made them understand that they had to stay back and that I would come in the evening to pick them up. I asked the caretaker to give them some snacks as they were very hungry. As soon as they were  given the snack box, Tammu didn’t bother about our presence / absence. Mannu started crying now. While we were trying to convince Mannu, Tammu takes a break from her munching and says “Baba-Mamma chala jao. Khabo, uske baad Mannu ke samjha debo” (Meaning – Mamma Baba, you leave. I’ll eat and then make Mannu understand)

PS: I had written about costume hunting here. I finally borrowed both the doctor’s coat and nurse’s frock from acquaintances, bought a doctor’s set and made that Nurse Hat myself.

Tammu - The Nurse

Mannu – The Doc
Radio Jockey
Traffic Police
Photographer
Postman

Baker
Farmer

I made that hat! Youtube Zindabad!

 
22 Comments

Posted by on November 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

22 responses to “Community Helpers

  1. R's Mom

    November 25, 2011 at 10:40 am

    OMG! these girls are such rockstars!

    arey Tammu ko R ki hawa lagi kya..bong and Hindi mixed eh? Wait arent you a Maharashtrian..then how come no Marathi/ Konkani?

    Superb set up and all yaar..is that you in that pink shirt? if it is…you look cute yourself 🙂

    Hugs to my doctor and nurse..just ask them to meet me and I will fall sick all over again 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 25, 2011 at 10:49 am

      Here‘s the answer to your language query.

      Yeah, that’s me in the pink shirt. Thank you 😳

      You don’t have to fall sick to meet them. And no chaat over this weekend okay?

      Like

       
  2. Sugar and Spice

    November 25, 2011 at 11:05 am

    Look at those pics – Wonderful! 😀 The judge, the baker, the ambiance – Cool, Seema! (Is that you with ManTam in one of the pics?)

    This post brought back some really fond memories. When I was in UKG, we had sports day in school. A few of them had to dress as old women and a few as nurses – one nurse and one old person being a pair. We were all aligned in a line. While, the nurses will go offer a tablet (chocolate I think) and some water to the old and help them reach the finish line. Whichever pair reaches first, they win. Me and a friend got the second place. 😀

    The nurses hat on Tammu looked exactly like what my partner wore and so I recalled this! 😀 😀

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 25, 2011 at 12:13 pm

      Yes that’s me in a pink shirt. 😀

      So, you got to be an old woman and eat chocolate? Such a sweet race that was eh?

      Like

       
  3. garima

    November 25, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    Seema,the kids are looking so adorable.I loved ManTam’s dresses.
    And complete aww on Tammu’s maturity ,”Baba-Mamma chala jao. Khabo, uske baad Mannu ke samjha debo”
    LOL on “Wo gaana mujhe pasand nahi hai, isiliye” thats fair enough!!!

    Plz fix my health check up appoitment with Mantam 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 25, 2011 at 3:45 pm

      Tammu’s maturity – sounds like an oxymoron to me 😆

      Come home for the health checkup. Will make MD for ya 😀

      Like

       
  4. Sam

    November 25, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    he he.. thats so cute:).. and the judge with his white hair!! will approach you for the excellent hat next time:)

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 25, 2011 at 3:45 pm

      Oh certainly! Lemme know whenever you need it.

      Like

       
  5. summerscript

    November 25, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    Those pics are really cute 🙂
    Such a cute doctor and nurse 🙂 Love the kids and their costumes. The farmer is super cute 🙂
    And you look niceee Seema 🙂 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 25, 2011 at 3:46 pm

      Thanks thanks thanks SS

      Like

       
  6. BIkram

    November 25, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    BEautiful girls .. I would have loved to meet them .. Doc and nurse all in the house .. he he he he
    and let the MUSIC beginnnnnnnn.. what song did she sing 🙂

    childhood days they are so beautiful hana .. god bless them both

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 25, 2011 at 3:50 pm

      😦 I completely forgot about your visit to Bangalore 😦

      She did not sing any song. They danced to the tunes of ‘Lakdi ki kaati’.

      Thanks Bikram and Sorry again 😳

      Like

       
  7. garima

    November 25, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    Oh wow medical check up and MD under one roof,amazing 🙂
    Thanks for the invitation dear 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 28, 2011 at 11:50 am

      You’re most welcome 🙂

      Like

       
  8. Laila

    November 30, 2011 at 3:18 am

    Your girls are so cute… they look adorable in the doctor and nurse attire and so do the other kids!
    This was a great event idea…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 30, 2011 at 2:48 pm

      Thanks Laila.

      Yes, it was a great idea well implemented by the school faculty.

      Like

       
  9. Little Fingers

    November 30, 2011 at 4:05 am

    How adorable they look..Thanks for sharing these pics..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 30, 2011 at 2:49 pm

      The pleasure is mine 😀

      Like

       
  10. RS

    November 30, 2011 at 9:37 am

    Hey! So nice. I *loved* the kids and their getup. All kids look so cutee 🙂 Unfortunately there was nothing here this time – and the last time the little fellow was unwell 😦

    How come I’ve never seen you in shirts here???

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 30, 2011 at 2:51 pm

      Oh, why nothing was organized this time?? Yes, I remember Chutku was unwell last year. 😦

      Whatt? You never saw me in shirts? Really? I used to wear formal shirts and trousers there too.

      Like

       
  11. Scribby

    December 7, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    such cute pictures 🙂 awww I’m waiting for my turn to attend school themes and functions 🙂

    your two little dahlings are cuteness personified

    Oh and snail mails? I had so many pen friends and friends who got transferred to other cities…I still have those letters with me 🙂 one thing that I dislike about emails is the eradication of snail mails 😦

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 8, 2011 at 11:53 am

      Yes, It is so much fun. I enjoy all the events more than them I guess. I get fultoo excited 😀

      Thanks Scribby

      Yes, I really miss snail mails. I felt so sad looking at the postman and post office thinking is Mantam would ever get to see a real postman?

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
