RSS

Weekend of Studying, Cold War and an Accident

28 Nov

Mantam’s school diary read – “Assessment for second term starts on 28th Nov”. I couldn’t believe my eyes. I mean weren’t they crawling just yesterday? Wasn’t it recently that we rejoiced on hearing their first words? Not even a couple of weeks have passed since they learnt holding their pencil firmly. What are they going to assess??? Then I saw their Phonics book which was sent along with their diary. And it was mentioned to revise from ‘a’ to ‘q’. This book had 6 pictures for each letter. Mannu opened her book and like a Robot, she identified each damn picture in the book from ‘a’ to ‘l’. There were a few misses from ‘m’ to ‘q’. I heaved a huge sigh of relief. Now came Tammu’s turn and she refused to even hold her book in hand. After a lot of pestering and maskafying, she kicked off:

Tammu: A is for Crocodile, B is for Ambulance!
Me: Whatt? A is for Alligator na? And this page is all about A. B starts from next page.
Tammu: Ok Mamma. A is for Alligator… A is for Tanker!
Me: Tanker?? Arrrghhh, its anchor, not tanker…
Tammu: Ok Mamma. A is for …. Santa Claus.
Me and Mannu both bang our foreheads with our palms: Santa Claus nahi… Astronaut!!!
 
Where does she draw these connections from?
Some classic examples:
Caterpillar – Pital
Lotus – Skootal (Scooter)
Elf – Wolf
Guitar – Xylophone
Jellyfish – Jelly-Jam
Jacket – Jelly-Jacket (Just becoz Jacket was after Jelly Fish)
 

She keeps on forgetting even after repeating the same word like a 100 times. In the last two days, we had enough cycles of screaming, snuggling, wiping tears, ROFLing, again yelling to produce tears, cuddling and so on. Phew! The funniest moment was when I kept on repeating ‘I for Image’ for like 50 times and after precisely 2 seconds, I asked her what it was. I was damn sure, she had forgotten. With a naughty expression on her face, she confidently uttered ‘I for….’, I bit my nails in anticipation as she said again ‘I for….’ with a smile of accomplishment on her face. Excited me – “Yes, yes. I for… what?” She said “I for… SECRET! I won’t tell you….” She had us all in splits. She is related to Mr.Bean in some ways for you should see her facial expressions. Personification of cartoon, she is!

After both Abbas and I lost our cool on her, she declared that she did not want to study with Baba or Mamma. She wanted Mannu to teach her. Mannu was prompting, providing her hints or even revealing the answers.

Abbas and I were on a Mute mode whole of Sunday as the day started with a silly argument. I had made his fav Chhole and Chapathi. He declared that he will not have breakfast. I did not say a word, I simply sat to clean and chop a Banana Flower which took like two hours, Phew! He said “You don’t have to cook lunch for me.” And walked out of the home. I was just wondering where he must have gone. Did he go to have food somewhere? What if he doesn’t come back by lunch? Has he taken his cellphone along? I will not call him. I’ll feed my kids and have my lunch and sleep. Both of us being Capricorns, we hardly fight. But when we do, it can go into a deadlock. Abbas breaks the ice most of the time. And we never ever have loud outbursts. It is always in silence. So finally he comes back home with milk packets and hits the bed. I was almost done cooking when he asked – “How long will it take for lunch to get ready?” I said “A few more minutes.” and he proceeds to bring the Chhole out of the fridge and eats it in a bowl by topping it with some sauce. I was giggling to myself. So we call off our Maun Vrat!

Post lunch, Mannu goes to wash her hands and mouth to the wash basin. Mantam can’t comfortably reach the basin yet. So they climb on a small stool and help themselves. I was in the kitchen, Abbas in the bathroom. We heard a huge Thud sound and rushed to the living room to see that the basin had collapsed and broken into pieces. Luckily Mannu was untouched. She cried out of shock, Abbas and I were too perplexed to react. But we thanked God a million times for saving us from a grave mishap!

All in all, I am content with the weekend. All the clothes pending to be ironed had formed a huge heap and our wardrobes were almost empty. I finished ironing them all. Also, due to the cold war between Abbas and I, he did so many tasks without me nagging. Lot of cleaning, cooking, eating and sleeping happened. My eye test remains in the same status as we went to the hospital on Saturday at around 2 PM and they tell us that on Saturdays, the test is done before 12 PM. They didn’t mention this in the last visit.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

16 responses to “Weekend of Studying, Cold War and an Accident

  1. R's Mom

    November 28, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    What! Assessments..abey oye..what are you doing scaring me?

    Tammu is one hell of a gal! she is following R’s footsteps to the T…If I say alligator, she says crocodile, if I say apron she says frock..you do get the drift na

    LOL on the fight..

    and thank God Mannu is fine! its scary yaar..the way these kids just hang on to the basin!

    All the best for the ‘assessments’ or whatever!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 28, 2011 at 2:56 pm

      I myself was scared when I read that word assessment.

      Hehe, I know, I have figured out many similarities between Tammu and R.

      Will pass on your ‘All the best’ to their teacher coz I think she is the one who needs it the most 😆

      Like

       
  2. garima

    November 28, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    Thank God the basin didnt hurt Mannu!!!I loved Tammu’s alphabets A for crocodile and B for Ambulance 🙂
    Reminds me of my nephew who intentionally used to say CAT is dog and DOG is cat 🙂

    And girl get your eye tested soon,ok?Tell me how to cook this banana flower btw what exactly is it?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 28, 2011 at 3:29 pm

      Yes, thank God once again!

      You loved Tammu’s alphabets. We were all going insane over them! Your nephew intentionally said CAT for DOG? Hahaha. Kids these days!

      Yes yes, I went for the test na? Kya karu? Next time will go on time.

      Click here for a pic of Banana Flower.

      Like

       
  3. summerscript

    November 28, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    Thank God Mannu is safe !
    Jelly Jam and Jelly Jacket – ROFL
    “I for… SECRET! I won’t tell you….” – hehe she is such a cutie 🙂 🙂

    Good Luck for the assessment 🙂

    Now that you mentioned I have to go get my eyes tested !

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 29, 2011 at 11:26 am

      Like I told RM, their teacher needs all the ‘Good Luck’

      What happened to your eyes madam?

      Like

       
  4. garima

    November 28, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Hey thanks for the link ,i did see that in Food World but dint know what it is 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 29, 2011 at 11:27 am

      Okay. It has so many health benefits re. But cleaning it is a huge task and time consuming.

      Like

       
  5. Bikram

    November 28, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    I loved the alphabets hmm we need to Rewrite the Books .. OH YEsss the little is right .. A for Corocodile it IS .. all say it now ..

    and made me smile the little tiff you both had.. I am opposite I go off my head .. but it happens only like once in 4 -5 yeas 🙂

    and hope you get to get ur eyes tested DONT keep it waiting .. DO IT 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 29, 2011 at 11:31 am

      Haha rewrite books?

      Yes, coming Saturday, will go there early morning and get it done with!!

      Like

       
  6. Little Fingers

    November 30, 2011 at 4:03 am

    Assessment at this age? Are you serious? LOL@ A is for Crocodile, B is for Ambulance!

    Thanks god Mannu is safe, Take care..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 30, 2011 at 2:49 pm

      Yes, even I was bewildered when I read that word in their diary.

      Thanks LF.

      Like

       
  7. RS

    November 30, 2011 at 9:40 am

    Hehehehehe so how did the ‘assessment’ go? really – scary thought – we need to start teaching them so soon? And I bet Chutku will be just like Tammu and I think you were both enjoying and banging your head simultaneaously na? 😀 I can imagine the faces of Tammu – Actually I was seeing Chutku’s last year Bday pics and have some pics of Mantam 🙂 Will send them to you sometime…

    Fights – Sigh! They are so many and so loud that Chutku these days come to us and says: Stop!!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 30, 2011 at 2:55 pm

      I really don’t know what the teacher are assessing re! During admission, they gave presentation on how they ‘don’t teach kids but ensure that they learn’ slogan. And now I see this word assessment in their diary. Will have to ask their teacher.

      Yes, we enjoyed a lot. I was planning to video shoot the whole scene for posterity. It was sure hilarious.

      Do send the pics when you find time.

      Haha, Chutku is the refree is it?

      Like

       
  8. Scribby

    December 7, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    hahaha related to Mr. beans? 🙂

    God the same feeling comes to us when we see Chirpy standing with support and tries to walk…it feels like yesterday when she was just a day young and today she is like 8 months complete?hawww! where does the time go?

    Ohhhhh thank god Mannu is safe!

    you do the ironing at home? God gracious 🙂 and look at me..I give them to dhobi 😛

    so there are some advantages of keeping the maun-vrat 😉 the chores get done without nagging 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 8, 2011 at 11:51 am

      Time just flies na? Enjoy the moment while it lasts…

      Arre, actually my Amma also used to iron clothes at home only. Even MIL, so somehow I’m not used to the idea of outsourcing it.

      Yes, the longevity of Maun-Vrat is directly proportional to the productivity in getting chores done 😀

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
