RSS

Vive La Salsa

30 Nov

As a kid, I was very reserved and timid. I got along well with only a select few. I was very low on self confidence. The thought of speaking out in a crowd or making an appearance on stage would give me jitters. I mean, even being the tree in one of those school plays would make me shiver out of stage fear. I still remember that I had tried being a part of a group dance but I got an inferiority complex looking at how good the rest in the group were. I had discovered that I had two left feet. Period?

Corporate world turned the table around for my personality. I was enjoying my transformation from within. I wanted to try out all things that I intentionally missed as a child. When a circular e-mail landed in my inbox from HR about the Salsa workshop that is going to be conducted within the campus, I thought – “Why not put my clumsy feet to stake and give Salsa a shot?” Best part was that the workshop would be on weekdays within the campus during lunch hour. So join I did…

First class. The instructor (A) first introduced himself and we all went awww. He has danced with many celebrities, has been a part of many international Salsa events and so on. All this trivia only made me wanna kick myself for joining. I was glad I hadn’t paid the fees yet. I decided to abscond post that class. A finally declared that we are gonna begin and I was already fumbling for tricks to escape that very moment. He said – “Join your feet. Lift your right foot. Keep it one step back”. I wondered if a physical exercise trainer had arrived by mistake. And he went “Lift your left foot and put it down, bring your right leg back in place”. I mean even my kids could do that easily. Then went on some more elementary feet movements. 50 minutes went by and finally he said he was gonna play a song and we had to stamp our feet as per the pattern he had taught.

The music began and boy oh boy, was I tapping my feet to glory or what? It was like magic, I stared at my feet and pinched myself to believe that they were mine. I had fallen in love with Salsa. After the completion of first month A announced that he hosts Salsa parties once a month at a popular pub. All his students get free entry and they could bring some guests along. I badly wanted to go and pataofied Abbas to come along. I taught him a few dance moves so that we both could dance our first public couple dance together… We told Ma that we were going for an office party for the fear that she might be bewildered at the thought of her Bahu learning Salsa and going for parties leaving twin infants behind. After putting Mantam to sleep, Abbas n I set off to the party.

It was our first time in a pub. They had organized a short workshop on Cha cha cha for beginners who would like to shake a leg with other pros. I pulled a reluctant Abbas to join. And this guy forgot all the Salsa steps that I had taught him the previous day. A few people were dancing so gracefully that Abbas backed out. He said that he didn’t wanna dance along with experts themselves make himself a laughter stock. My expressions turned sour out of disappointment. Every other person was dancing and we were like the only 2 audiences there. I told Abbas that we better leave instead of standing and watching others. I was sad that I couldn’t dance. Abbas could sense the cause of my agony. He said “You go and dance with someone. I will certainly not mind” Just like Kajol in DDLJ free from the clutches of Amrish Puri, I ran free to spot one of the fellow students there and danced with him… When I came back to Abbas, he said “Abhi Khush?”. I said “Bohoth”.

That was in Kolkata and now I’m totally out of touch. RM’s post triggered these sweet memories…

 
21 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

21 responses to “Vive La Salsa

  1. R's Mom

    November 30, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    Oh you can always start again…and like CR told me on my post..jaa jeele apni zindagi and all that eh?

    Abbas bhai is a total sweetie πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 30, 2011 at 4:04 pm

      Hehe… I wanna join again. Looking for a weekend dance class where all 4 of us can accommodate together.

      Will tell him that πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  2. R's Mom

    November 30, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    and what a wonderful company yaar….I would have loved to have classes like that…meri company mein toh dance ka D bolo toh they will stare at you as if you are a specimen from the other world!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 30, 2011 at 4:06 pm

      This company too is boring that ways. That was my first company in Kolkata.

      Your current company, I can imagine after reading all the tales from your blogposts πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  3. Sumana

    November 30, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    Wonderful Seema. I so wish we have salsa classes during lunch. May be i will give a a try as well. And you danced yay to that. Hats off to Abbas who learnt all the steps for you and also wanted you to have fun. That i call a perfect pair.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      November 30, 2011 at 4:08 pm

      Thanks Sumana. Abbas wanted me to have fun but he was threatened forced to learn the steps by me. πŸ‘Ώ

      Like

       
  4. summerscript

    November 30, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    Wowww πŸ™‚
    Salsa is such a cute dance na πŸ™‚ One of my friend taught me two three steps(don’t remember anything now) and I totally loved it.
    When I came back to Abbas, he said β€œAbhi Khush?”. I said β€œBohoth”. — Abbas is really very sweet πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 1, 2011 at 11:40 am

      Salsa is a cute dance πŸ˜€

      I showed Abbas all these comments and he is flattered!

      Like

       
  5. Bikram

    November 30, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    salsa no salsa .. dance no dance I know one thing .. when the music goes and especially after a couple of drinks down .. ITS BHANGRA TIME .. who cares if it is graceful or not , I dont .. its FUN Time and yooooo hoooooooo

    but great company , my company has one motto work work work work πŸ™‚ and Good man Abbas πŸ™‚ I got to meet him too now …

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 1, 2011 at 11:43 am

      Hehe, Bhangra or Salsa, dance as if no one is watching is you. Having fun is all that matters.

      Yes, it was a good company, they even had guitar classes which I wanted to join but couldn’t as I would have to stretch post work hours.
      Next time when you come to Bangalore, come straight to our home!

      Like

       
      • Bikram

        December 1, 2011 at 3:45 pm

        Thank you so very much …

        Like

         
  6. Little Fingers

    December 1, 2011 at 5:32 am

    Yeah at some point we have to live our passion, even I am so fascinated abt dancing, when I do I just don’t care who watches me..I just blogged yertday that I may not be able to join Salsa but planning to dance at home with our new Kinect. Have fun babe and live life as you like πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 1, 2011 at 11:44 am

      Hope the Salsa plan materializes for you soon. Till then have fun with your Kinect.

      Thanks LF.

      Like

       
  7. RS

    December 1, 2011 at 11:51 am

    Ofcourse Abbas is very sweet – reading about him in all these previous posts also show that – so God bless you both – and when will you introduce us? πŸ™‚

    I would love to join a Salsa class too but Im too shy to do it with anyone else but Hubby and he has no enthu for it 😦 He would rather have me join the Gym with him!! :-O

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 1, 2011 at 12:24 pm

      Thanks RS, was planning to e-mail you to come over to our home. We can have a small blogger’s meet at my place.

      Even I was very shy to dance with a guy other than Abbas. But he was not interested. Kya karein???

      He goes to Gym is it? Cool! But I too find Gym very boring. Not my thing anyday…

      Like

       
  8. Scribby

    December 7, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    lol @ like Kajol in DDLJ πŸ˜›

    You have no idea how much I want to learn Salsa and the current dance class that I’ve joined they teach us a step or two but the overall dance form is hip-hop..

    all this while I’ve not been able to join Salsa calss due to not having a partner and the partner which is available at home refuses to shake his feet 😦 he says ask me to do anything else for you but not dancing,sigh!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 8, 2011 at 11:49 am

      You blackmail him that you’ll dance with other men if he doesn’t join with you. *Runs away before your hubby reads this comment and throws rotten eggs at me for giving such Gyan to you*

      Like

       
      • Scribby

        December 8, 2011 at 12:53 pm

        now that’s a nice idea Seema…hihihih thank you thank you πŸ™‚ and no don’t worry the husby is not around to read this piece of advice πŸ™‚

        Like

         
        • Seema

          December 9, 2011 at 11:02 am

          Thanks. *Leaves out an audible sigh of relief*

          Like

           

Leave a Reply

 
