RSS

Life is good when…

01 Dec

1. Your three-and-a-half-year olds look forward to do their homework and finish their homework on their own without you sitting besides them in 15 mins flat. (for the first time)

2. In the mad morning rush on a weekday, when you are freaking out to leave home on time… husband starts singing – Altaf Raja’s ‘Tum to Thehere Pardesi…” and you too join to make it a duet and the atmosphere becomes so light!

3. When you get an SMS from a friend after a long time saying “Hey auntie, I’m in Kundapur. Lemme know if you need anything from here”. (I ignore the word auntie, was touched by this sweet gesture)

4. Your domesticΒ help says – “Long time you baked anything. When are you gonna bake next?” (Somebody loves my baked goodies!)

5. You play loud music and video shoot their ‘Rasta chhaap’ dance and replay the videos to watch with them. They say – “East or west, mamma is the best”

 
22 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

22 responses to “Life is good when…

  1. summerscript

    December 1, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    I cannot say which point I liked more :). All of them sounds so so sweet πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    loads and loads of love to the little ones.
    Have a super duper weekend Seema (My brain treats friday as a weekend just to overcome stress πŸ˜› )

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 1, 2011 at 1:13 pm

      Thanks SS. I sent you an e-mail. Did you check?

      Like

       
      • summerscript

        December 1, 2011 at 2:11 pm

        yes, yes. replied to it πŸ™‚

        Like

         
        • Seema

          December 2, 2011 at 12:28 pm

          Hey, but I didn’t get your reply… ??? *puzzled*

          Like

           
          • summerscript

            December 2, 2011 at 4:49 pm

            I forwarded the same to your gmail id as well. First I sent to yahoo one I guess

            Like

             
            • Seema

              December 5, 2011 at 12:02 pm

              That yahoo id is not mine πŸ˜€

              Like

               
  2. R's Mom

    December 1, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    *Falls at kiddos feet* I mean doing their own homework…where the hell did they get those genes from?

    LOL on the tum toh tehere pardeshi…I think for the first time I read/heard the song with a smile on the face..otherwise I HATE THE SONG!

    hahahaha! on the baked cookies..so what are you baking next?

    East or west, mamma is always the best na?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 1, 2011 at 1:12 pm

      Yours truly! Who else do you think? Ha! 😎

      It works well to announce homework, brushing teeth, having medicines as rewards instead of bribing to buy chocolates or ice-creams or whatever. It’s like the forbidden fruit re and kids always want to do the reverse of what you want them to. I say “If you don’t behave well, I will not let you do your homework” and they badly crave to do their homework. So far, the trick has worked wonders for me.

      I know, in the 5.5 years of married life, I was shocked to know that it was Abbas’s fav song once upon a time. 😳

      Lets see. Dunno what I’ll bake but will bake soon for sure.

      Like

       
  3. garima

    December 1, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    “East or west mumma is the best’- very true πŸ™‚
    And yes when are u baking next I’ll knock your door that day πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 2, 2011 at 12:27 pm

      Let’s put in the other way round – I’ll bake whenever you knock my door, okay?

      Like

       
  4. Bikram

    December 1, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    Baked things , I have not tasted but hey I LOVE WHAT YOU BAKE .. Do i get some now .. πŸ™‚

    and the singing oh boy dont remind me , the best time of my life is those 40 minutes from home ot work in my car.. FULTO MUSIC and Me shouting too with the song … although never heard that song …

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 2, 2011 at 12:29 pm

      Now? Will bake next you are around.

      Wow, that sounds to be one heck of a ride back home. Howcome you never heard that song? It was like a rage once upon a time…

      Like

       
  5. Little Fingers

    December 2, 2011 at 4:45 am

    1. They are smart aren’t they πŸ™‚
    2. Abbas is super sweet so you are .
    3. Bless to have a friend like that.
    4. We all know that skill of yours looking at ur blog
    5. Mamma’s are the best ..no doubt there πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 2, 2011 at 12:31 pm

      1. This was the first time they did it on their own re…
      2. Thank you
      3. Oh yes, you bet!
      4. Thanks
      5. Absolutely, but we only get to hear it once in a bluemoon. (I did the same to my Amma too)

      Like

       
  6. Sumana

    December 2, 2011 at 9:18 am

    Loved all the points. And tight hugs to the kids on their homework. I swear you get to cloud 9.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 2, 2011 at 12:31 pm

      Will pass on the hugs.

      Like

       
  7. RS

    December 2, 2011 at 10:21 am

    “It works well to announce homework, brushing teeth, having medicines as rewards instead of bribing to buy chocolates or ice-creams or whatever” – I am soo going to try this trick-man! you are soo lucky if they sit and do their homework themselves!

    Have you forgotten that there are some people here who can drool at the thought of your cakes? 😦 Come now yaa-you HAVE to come here someday and dont come empty handed ok? πŸ˜€ Actually on that thought-let me mail you… πŸ™‚

    And what-Mamma is best when she takes our video and lets us watch is it? πŸ˜€ They have their priorities right πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 2, 2011 at 12:34 pm

      Try it on Chutku, lemme know if it works.

      I am humbled. Thank you so much. Hmmmm, I will not come empty handed. Don’t you worry. πŸ˜€

      Yeah, they have their priorities right πŸ™„

      Like

       
  8. Comfy

    December 2, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    Life is good indeed. Touch wood!

    Teach me how to bake please. I can’t even tell you how scared of it am I. Every time I read up on a recipe to bake, I get to the butter part, faint and don’t go further. In my head if I don’t know how much fat and sugur goes in to something means I can eat it guilt free πŸ˜›

    But I would love to be able to bake one day, so teach me.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 5, 2011 at 12:27 pm

      Baking is very easy dear. Come down, I’ll teach you πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  9. Scribby

    December 7, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    lol @ 2nd πŸ™‚

    oh baking I tell you..haven’t done that.ever.!! But I think now I need to start doing it cause this little girl at my home loves cakes already πŸ™‚

    awwwwww at the last one πŸ™‚ lol @ rasta chaap πŸ˜‰

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 8, 2011 at 11:47 am

      Oh wow, then you should try baking. It’s actually easy when you the hang of it. For any queries, get in touch with me. I’d be more than happy to help.

      Mannu to dances pakka ‘Rasta Chaap’ dance 😳

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
