RSS

Mannu’s affinity towards the male species

07 Dec

She must have been 2.5 years old then. I dropped them at the daycare, the caretaker began feeding them breakfast. I was chatting with the supervisor and other parents there. Once their breakfast was done, they sat on seats on the other end. I noticed that Mannu cozily sat next to a boy (S1) and her cheeks turned red when I looked at her. I was surprised to see that even though there were so many empty seats, she chose to chipkofy with A. A’s mom also used to travel by office bus but by a different route. In the evenings, when we would walk to our bus, A’s bus would be parked in the front and ours would be the last one. When we reached the Bus parking area, I could spot A in the front seat craning his neck to catch a glimpse of Mannu(!) Tammu(?). As soon as we passed A’s bus, he would scream ‘Bye’ and both Mannu Tammu would reply ‘Bye’ and this went on in loop till we hopped into our bus. All the passengers in the intermediate buses that we left behind used to glare at us as if some ‘Protest March’ is going on. However, they could hear ‘Bye Bye’ instead of ‘Hai Hai’.

After a few days, another guy joined the daycare S2. He was a little older, went to school and got dropped to the day care during lunch time. Mannu hung around S2 and was so fascinated by his school bag, books and colouring aids. One evening when I went to pick them up, the caretaker complained to me that Mannu cried in the afternoon and threw tantrums. When I inquired about the reason she said that Mannu was adamant that she would sleep by S2’s side. I thought I better not tell this to Abbas or he will have a heart attack.

Now that the daycare has changed, they have new friends here. On a weekend when we were shopping in a mall, we bumped into S2 and his mom. Tammu coolly said ‘Hello’ to him and Mannu was acting like a 70’s heroine who used to twist her Pallu’s end out of timidity on seeing the hero. She blushed intensely and I was really taken aback at the way she behaved. She lifted her head only after they went away.

In the new day care, this incident happened some time back.

Recently when I was talking to them about their friends in the daycare, Tammu said “Maine E ko maara” (I beat E). I asked why she beat the guy. She said “E Mannu ko lips mein kiss kiya, isiliye” (Because E gave Mannu a kiss on her lips). I was baffled and gave a questioning look at Mannu. As usual shyness dawns on her face and she modestly says “Next time, I will ask him to kiss on cheeks.” This happened in Bulu and Abbas snarled – “No kisses to/from anyone other than Mamma and Baba, Mind you!”

 
20 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

20 responses to “Mannu’s affinity towards the male species

  1. R's Mom

    December 7, 2011 at 11:53 am

    Oh! I dont know what to say honestly…I was laughing through the post..but I guess..its all so innocent na…these kids are so cute 🙂

    and Tammu is such a protector eh?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 7, 2011 at 11:57 am

      Yeah, they are just innocent. I too take it casually. Wanted to write a post on this for Mannu to have a good laugh over it in future.

      Tammu is rowdi rangamma. 😆

      Like

       
  2. Sumana

    December 7, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Beautiful post Seema. Lol at Mannu’s shyness on seeing S2. I understand how you feel. But I would say try and ignore it. SHe must be doing it just for attention sometimes. Tammu is like a big brother my god cannot believe that. Cute and very cute.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 7, 2011 at 4:04 pm

      As of now, I’m taking it coolly. She is just 3.5 years old after all.

      Tammu is a Rowdi re 😀

      Like

       
  3. summerscript

    December 7, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    I can imagine Mannu being shy n all 🙂

    And Tammu sweety protecting her sister –so cute!!! 🙂 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 7, 2011 at 4:06 pm

      No wonder you can imagine. She was being shy in front of you girls also na?

      Like

       
  4. Bikram

    December 7, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    HA HA HA you know I could visualise that 70’s heroine style ..
    and good one Tammu , protecting the sis and and and Ohhhhhhh I shoud not say but I liked Mannu’s reply too , Clever girl 🙂 but yes too early for all that

    God bless both lots of love to them

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 7, 2011 at 4:20 pm

      Thanks Bikram.

      Yeah, it’s just that she thinks kissing on cheeks is acceptable coz we do it all the time 😀

      Like

       
  5. Tharani

    December 7, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    I want to meet Mantam now 😦 😦
    They are cute..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 8, 2011 at 11:41 am

      Come down to Bangalore… And hey why no posts after wedding. We are all keenly waiting 😛

      Like

       
  6. Scribby

    December 7, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    oh m god,really? hahahaha don’t know how would I react to such incidents if happened with me 🙂 how did you? teach me some to be prepared for my future 😉

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 8, 2011 at 11:43 am

      I just laugh over it. At this age they are too innocent re. Don’t be worried already. Parenting comes naturally to everyone 😀

      Like

       
  7. Little Fingers

    December 8, 2011 at 3:51 am

    Oh even Chucky is so fascinated kissing us and her friends in the daycare..These days I firmly say no missing on the lips..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 8, 2011 at 11:57 am

      Oh Chucky dear is also fond of kissing. Please ask her to send some of those for Seema aunty na???

      Like

       
  8. RS

    December 8, 2011 at 10:51 am

    Aww ! Such a cute thing Mannu is 🙂 Muuahh! And with Tammu around-tel Abbas there is nothing to worry about …

    And yoyr 70s ka herine ko aur 10 saal baad dekhna hai – 90’s ka heroine ban gayi hogi! 😀

    Lovely lovely post 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 8, 2011 at 12:00 pm

      Yeah, with Tammu around, no one dare mess p with Mannu 😀

      Exactly Dus Saal Baad, they would have stepped into their teens. Why are scaring me??? 😥

      Like

       
  9. garima

    December 8, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    hehehe Mannu shying like a 70’s heroine very much expected from her 🙂
    And my god Tammu is such a protective sister.And I so loved the last line 🙂

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
