RSS

Weekend Updates

12 Dec

Saturday morning saw me waking up at the usual weekday time and rustling up breakfast and lunch ASAP. I don’t mind getting a million chores done when kids are not around but with them in tow, even finishing simple tasks get prolonged coz there are a zillion interruptions in between. All this hurry on a weekend was because we had an unfinished task at the bank which was getting procrastinated. Post breakfast, we drove to the bank with Mantam. We then went to Big Bazaar to buy some groceries. Mannu said “Sheee peyechi” (she wanted to pee) I said “Please wait na?” She said “Should I wait for 1 minute?” (This girl wants technically correct speech. She keeps on correcting every silly mistakes that we commit. Eg: When Abbas told Tammu in the morning “Remove your diapers and throw it”, she corrected him “Throw it in the dustbin”. When Abbas told Mannu “Don’t play with pen. It might hurt your eyes”, she said “This is not a pen, this is a pencil”)

From there, we stopped by a Fish Shop on the way back home. I did not feel like getting down from Bulu. Mantam accompanied Baba. Every now and then, they were coming out of the shop and checking on me. So, I opened the window glass. Mannu came out and said “Mamma, sunlight is falling on you. Close the window and relax.” Then Tammu noticed that another car came and was parking next to Bulu. She said “Arre Mamma. See Bulu’s bhai is coming. You be careful okay?” (As if I was driving!) When dad-daughters trio came back, they say “Hum log fish kharidke laaya okay?” (We bought fish okay)

Post lunch we all had a wonderful nap. In the evening, Abbas and I sat together to make the bookings for our trip. Mantam were getting so bored, I wanted to sit with them and make a star for Christmas. But Abbas was insisting that I sat next to him (RM, he makes use of the in-house talent) coz I generally do all online transactions and he would have to spend lot of time figuring things out. Then Mantam and I sat together to make this star. Although I did all the cutting and stapling, they enjoyed observing. (I learnt from here)

I told them stories that Santa Claus will come and bring gifts for them. I had given them a bowl each of cut-pear to eat. Tammu refused to eat after 2 pieces went in. Before I could pester her into eating, Mannu said “If Tammu doesn’t finish the bowl, Santa Claus will not bring gifts for Tammu no?” And Tammu said “It’s okay. When Santa Claus comes, I will ask him to open mamma’s almirah and give me the Playdough that Mamma has hidden there”. I burst out laughing. (They already have a playdough and a relative recently brought a bigger one as gift for them. So I hid it inside the almirah to give it to them once the existing one is spoilt and she still remembers it)

While Mantam and I had a dinner of Pizza, Abbas had leftover afternoon lunch. Oh, he also grated all the red carrots that I bought for making Halwa (Again courtesy RM, who tempted me since last two weekend posts of hers)

Sunday morning again I got up early due to inspiration from previous day. Carrot halwa and Orange Yoghurt Cake was made along with breakfast. Post breakfast, Abbas played some songs and four of us just danced like crazy… It was oh-so fun. We had a heavy Bengali lunch of Fish Curry with Brinjal and Potatoes and Shorshe Dharosh (Ladies finger in Mustard Sauce). On a whim, we decided not to take a nap post lunch and drove off to do some thermal wear – stockings – shoes shopping for our trip. Abbas bought two Kurtis for me. (I chose ofcourse) and when I was in the Trial room, Mantam were both loudly singing – “Chaddda akh, ittthe lakkh” and went on in an infinite loop grabbing eyeballs and smiles from other shoppers. On the way back we stopped by a new ‘Goli Vada Pav’ outlet and had Vada Pav and Kulifis. I was too tired when we reached home and Abbas made tea for us and Pasta for Kids (Yayaya, Ma will faint and fall if she ever reads this.) Mantam were hyper excited as their Mamma Baba bought so many things for them. I also bought 2 new story books for them.

We had afternoon’s leftover for dinner and went to sleep. One of our beds which is idle as of now appears like a Dhobi-Ghaat as my ironing task is still pending and all the washed clothes have formed a mountain on top of it. Sigh!

 
23 Comments

Posted by on December 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

23 responses to “Weekend Updates

  1. R's Mom

    December 12, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Wah! What a super weekend..see Abbas bhai is so cute 🙂

    Waise…you had super duper stuff to eat yaar..and how the hell do you get so much enthu to cook on a SUNDAY! *Falls at feet*

    Mantam ko ek bada squeezy hug from my end okie?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 12, 2011 at 2:10 pm

      I love to cook re, that’s the only explanation.

      Will pass your squeezy hug to them 😀

      Like

       
  2. garima

    December 12, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    First thing you going on vacation somewhere is it?You got two kurtis,wow 🙂
    mannu to na she is so cute ‘no fruit no gifts’ her yet another theorum and tammu one samrt kid remembers the hidden thing in the almirah heheeh.

    So sweet of Abbas to get kurti and prepare tea and pasta 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 12, 2011 at 2:11 pm

      Yes, I was telling about our vacation when we met last Sunday na? Hmmm, you madam were dreaming about hubby eh???

      Like

       
  3. garima

    December 12, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    And btw beautiful star you made.How is your eye exercise going on?
    Plz ignore the comment prior to this one 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 12, 2011 at 3:03 pm

      Thanks Garima. Eye exercise… Thanks for reminding me. Last whole week, I had no head ache for a change and had almost forgotten about my eyes. *Please don’t spank me. I’ll try to be a good girl*

      Like

       
  4. RT

    December 12, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    Hi Seema,

    I have been reading your blog for quite sometime. Love the way you write.. Tell me one thing, how do u manage home, work with two little twins and on top of it u bake, do craft work.. amazing yaaar. Love the craft work.. will try it out 🙂 u shd start a blog on baking too 🙂 love to Mannu n Tammu

    RT

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 12, 2011 at 3:09 pm

      Awww, thanks for commenting. *Blushing and trying to keep the reluctant feet grounded*

      I somehow manage re… ‘When are pushed into the water, either learn to swim or drown’. Cooking and craft are my hobbies, they keep the enthu in me alive while I go about the mundane routines…

      I already have a food blog which has all the recipes I’ve successfully tried. Please check if you find time. Link is http://amchi-bong-konnexion.blogspot.com

      Welcome here and thanks again 😀

      Like

       
  5. summerscript

    December 12, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Should I wait for 1 minute? — sooo cute 🙂
    And you guys found Bulu’s bhai 🙂
    soo cute these girls are !! 🙂

    Did you type all the food items in BOLD ? Coz as soon as I opened this page all I could see was potatoes, brinjals, vada pavs kulfis, pasta, tea etc etc 😛 😛

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 12, 2011 at 3:14 pm

      Oh my Gawwd! SS, looking at you, I can’t imagine you are so crazy about food. LOL

      Like

       
      • Bikram

        December 12, 2011 at 4:01 pm

        not jsut SS.. you make sure you feed me all that toooo 🙂 I am keeping a list each time you type anything FOOD 🙂

        Like

         
        • Seema

          December 13, 2011 at 10:55 am

          Sure sure, next time, before you board the flight, send across the list to me okay? I’ll keep all the items ready 😀

          Like

           
      • summerscript

        December 13, 2011 at 1:45 pm

        I am actually picky Seema , but whatever I like, I eat them reallyyyyy well 😛

        Like

         
  6. Bikram

    December 12, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    ok they bought the fish.. but what did you do with it 🙂

    and awww they are so concerned about you.. sunlight tooo 🙂

    lovely star and picture 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 13, 2011 at 10:54 am

      I made Fish curry with that 🙂

      Hehe, they like to pretend like grown-ups. 😀

      Thanks Bikram

      Like

       
  7. RS

    December 12, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    Wow! Looks like a super fun weekend was had 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 13, 2011 at 10:55 am

      Yeah, pretty much 😀

      Like

       
  8. Little Fingers

    December 13, 2011 at 2:28 am

    You are a super lady I am very sure abt it..How do you get enthu to cook so many dishes on weekends..I try always to keep me away from it..I wish I had the enthu like you..I love the craft you made..Again I am very poor in that..Mannu is dam cute..I think I showing my preference already 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 13, 2011 at 10:57 am

      I’m very much human re… Just that I find solace in cooking 😀

      Beware of Tammu – the Rowdi Rangamma.

      Like

       
  9. Scribby

    December 13, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    recipe for ladies finger and mustard sauce please? 🙂

    I absolutely had fun reading about your random dancing 🙂 🙂 carry on!

    What a lovely family 🙂 awww touch wood!

    ManTam: muwah girlies 🙂

    the star looks good..I’ll check the website ,thank you

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 14, 2011 at 10:59 am

      Will post the recipe soon.

      Thanks Scribby.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
