RSS

Something about each of us

14 Dec

Had so many things to jot down but no link to put together, remembered SnS’s post and hence this:

Abbas:

Lately, he has been so forgetful, I am already preparing myself for the day when he’ll ask “Who are you?” to me…

1. Today morning I told him to check with Mantam’s teacher if we are supposed to send something tomorrow as  the school diary came with a note that they will have a picnic. And guess what he asked me – “Which class are they studying in by the way?” I said “Nursery” while looking daggers at him, he added “OMG, they are already in Nursery? Really?”

2. I have given Chapathi and Rajma to Mantam and he is telling them “Mantam, you must eat Soya beans. It’s very good for health”. I yell from the kitchen “It’s Rajma!!!”

Tammu:

She is totally smitten by me. She loves me the most.

1. Whenever I wear a Saree and go to pick them up, she tells everyone in the day care “Look, My mamma – saree – nice no?”

2. Now and then, I get to hear “I love you koto koto big much Mamma.” or “Mamma is a good girl”

3. Last Tuesday, their school was off due to Muharram but I had to work. Abbas chose to work from home. He came to pick me up from office along with Mantam. We met their caretaker(CT) and exchanged greetings. Next day, when the CT asked her where they had gone the previous day, she said “We had gone to buy Pampers for Mamma”. That too when we didn’t go to any shop or buy anything at all. I dunno from where she made it up.

4. At night I generally put them to sleep on our bed. Once Abbas comes, we have our dinner and he then transfers them from our bed to their respective cribs. Whenever he lifts her, she shrugs, moves her hands and feet aggressively, makes faces and gets annoyed. But if I lift her, she has a peaceful look on her face and no movements at all. I feel so so good.

Mannu:

1. She has picked up a habit of adding rhyming words to random words. It’s entertaining.

Eg: Haso mat, phaso mat
Tiger Figer
Ambulance Bhambulance
 

2. Some funny sentences or words formed due to their Khichdi language.

In Bulu – Baba, Gaana Jalao na? (Jalao used in place of Chalao)
Before sleeping – Mamma, Fan Jhulao na? (Again Jhulao in place of Chalao)
When she wanted to sing a song – Main Gaana Singbo (Sing in English, Bo – Bengali)
Tammu chale jaaya (Jaaya in place of Gaya)
 

3. I like to hum ‘DK Bose’ song. (People, don’t give me wierd looks now. I am still 25, very much young and love songs that swear to tear apart the singer’s voice boxes) Abbas said, don’t sing it in front of Mantam. So, I have modified the song and Mannu and I sing it together like this: “Bhaag bhaag mickey mouse, mickey mouse, bhaag bhaag mickey mouse mickey bhaaaag”.

Finally me:

1. All of a sudden, I have entered a phase of my life where I seem to put on weight even if I drink water.

2. Yesterday, I had a severe tiff with an autowala(AW). After rejecting 10-12 autos, I finally got one where I said 50 and he said 60. I said that I won’t give a penny more. He agreed on 50. We got in. We had not even covered quarter the distance and got stuck in a jam.

Immediately AW says “Madam, there is so much traffic. You have to give 60”
Me: But you agreed for 50.
AW: But due to traffic, you should give 60.
Me: You can’t change what we agreed upon. How would you feel if I say I’ll give you 40?
AW: For just 10 rupees, why are you creating a big fuss?
Me: What is 10 Rupees to you is 10 Rupees to me too. I slog and earn, and not lie to people and earn.
AW: You get down here and go in some other auto.
Me: Why should I get down? Had you not agreed on 50, I would’ve looked for another auto. Why did you agree in the first place?
He kept on arguing and demeaning me saying how I am unjust in not paying 10 Rs. extra and not empathizing him with great sorrow that the traffic has bestowed upon him.
Finally he said “Okay, I will drop you back to where I picked you from” and took a U-turn.
I told him to stop in between so that I could take another auto from there but he was adamant and dropped me exactly where he picked me up from
AW: If you can’t compromise on 10 Rs. I will not drop you in between.
Tammu: Mamma, is this a Bad Uncle?
Me: Yes, this is a very Bad Uncle. Grrrr
 

I dunno if I made a scene out there, but I didn’t like the way he demanded that 10 Rs. There are times when we are stuck in a jam and when Autowalas sport sad faces, I have given them extra 10 bucks. Anyway, in all this drama, I had to suffer coz my maid had left after waiting for me for almost 45 mins. But still I felt good by not giving in to that AW’s demands.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

24 responses to “Something about each of us

  1. R's Mom

    December 14, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Abbas bhai is adorably cute..no seriously 🙂

    R has a bit of both Tammu and Mannu in her 🙂 Now a days she is telling me I am looking good even in the crappy parallels and t shirts I wear at home…and she has got this habit of singbing like Mannu 🙂

    and oh now a days…I have ALWAYS put on weight with water Gah!

    and that AW..idiot he was..with two little children with you he took you back!!!!…monkey..I hope his tire gets punctured! Gah!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 14, 2011 at 3:44 pm

      Whatever I post about him , you always call him cute. ❓

      You didn’t post Rism for a long time now. 😦

      Always? Haan haan, keep on phekofying. We all saw your pic after hair cut.

      ROFL on ‘monkey..I hope his tire gets punctured! ‘

      Like

       
  2. garima

    December 14, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    OMG, they are already in Nursery? Really?”- Aww I know its very difficult for dads to accept that their darling daughters have grown so much !!!
    LOL at ‘Pampers for Mamma’ and yes mamma is ‘very good girl’
    ‘Bhaag bhaag mickey mouse’ very cute,I so want to hear mantam singing this song with twisted lyrics.
    Good you dint pay that extra 10 rs/- to the autowala.They are really useless people.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 14, 2011 at 3:47 pm

      Will call you someday when they are in good mood and make them sing it.

      There are good ones too, Garima. But this one was heartless, he didn’t even think that I had to get down with two kids and 2 bags.

      Like

       
  3. Bikram

    December 14, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    firsttttttttttttttttt 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 14, 2011 at 3:48 pm

      No R’s Mom beat you at it. Sorry 😀

      Like

       
      • Bikram

        December 14, 2011 at 3:51 pm

        chetingggggggggggggggg I am going ot throw a Tantrum now ..

        Like

         
        • Seema

          December 14, 2011 at 3:56 pm

          Better luck next time 😛

          Like

           
    • Bikram

      December 14, 2011 at 3:51 pm

      Now now calm down.. I know the autowala.. I was there they said one price but when I reached asked for more saying I heard wrong .. But you know dont know about others .. BUT you did the right thing .. let him take u back to where you started , its he who has wasted so much petrol and got nothing ..

      I can understand the hassel and poor Tammu too YES VERY BAD MAN.. why call him Uncle he does not deserve to be one 🙂

      Abbas :- hmmmmmm Chawanprash Khilaiyeeeeeeee 🙂 he he he he

      Tammu :- bless .. she is adorable and yeah she loves you a lottttttttttttttttt 🙂

      Like

       
      • Seema

        December 14, 2011 at 3:58 pm

        Yeah, I felt good by not giving him that 10 bucks even though it was a hassle.

        Chawanprash, is it? I don’t think it will work 😀

        Thanks Bikram

        Like

         
        • Bikram

          December 14, 2011 at 4:47 pm

          oops How could i miss Mannu’s Bhaag bhaag mickey mouse bhaag ..

          Like

           
          • Seema

            December 15, 2011 at 9:51 am

            Hehe, Mannu thanks you for remembering and coming back to acknowledge 😀

            Like

             
  4. summerscript

    December 14, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    loved this post 🙂
    Abbas :- Lol. I am also forgetful these days. I was writing down some plan to develop some component and after 15 mins I realized that I have already finished that work!
    Tammu :- Pampers for mamma..hahahaha
    Mannu :- aww she speaks so cute.. ambulance bhambulance 😀
    You:- I think its good that you din’t give him 10 extra. I have seen many such AW who think we earn very easily and its OK for us to pay 10/20 extra. We also slog so much.. Arey I debug code in my dreams !! 😦

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 14, 2011 at 3:50 pm

      Lol on your forgetfulness.

      On AWs, as soon as they see a lanyard around our neck, they think we mint money just by relaxing in AC offices.

      Like

       
  5. Scribby

    December 14, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    oh are these husbands molded to start forgetting once they become dads? I’m wondering!

    aww @ koto koto big much 😀 awww!

    haha @ rhyming words,how creative 🙂 and SINGBO? I’m laughing hard 🙂 and it’s stuck with me now I’m going to use it hehehehe

    oh mickey mouse is a good replacement of DK Bose…I’ll remember it 🙂 and by the way I hum that song too 😀

    :wicked: that AW !!! hmmmpf

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 15, 2011 at 9:53 am

      Oh, is it a ‘Ghar ghar ki kahani’?

      Are you a Bengali by any means?

      You sing it too? Thank you so much for letting me know.

      Like

       
      • Scribby

        December 15, 2011 at 12:15 pm

        hahah no I’m not a bong but there is a story behind it 🙂 we had bengali neighbors for around 10-12 years and they adopted me as a daughter-and elder sister for their little son-I also did his mukhe bhaat 🙂

        p.s. told you some time earlier I’m a maharashtrian,I guess I did,though I too don’t remember exactly now 😉

        Like

         
        • Seema

          December 15, 2011 at 2:04 pm

          I kinda had it in my mind that you are a Maharasthrian. But when you went Aww on Koto koto and Singbo, I had my doubts.

          Now I remember you had commented on similarities between Maharashrian and Konkani culture, right?

          You must be knowing a lot about Bengali culture, cuisine and language then no?

          Like

           
          • Scribby

            December 15, 2011 at 5:34 pm

            yeah exactly..had commented on similarities between maha-koka culture 🙂 🙂

            I do remember somethings but not everything now …but I can understand a lot of Bengali and oh I love the way you guys cook fish!!! In fact I started eating fish because of our neighbor aunt who used to send some for me and told my paretnst that it’s good for eyes 🙂 I also remember going to fish market with uncle sometimes 🙂 🙂

            wow lot of childhood memories refreshed 🙂

            Like

             
            • Seema

              December 16, 2011 at 10:44 am

              Oh wow. Seems like you had a very good bonding with the Bong neighbors eh? Come down to Blore. Will make fish curry for ya.

              Like

               
  6. RS

    December 15, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Hhehe, I love Mannu’s songs 🙂 You must have told us na? I would’ve made her sing it that day…

    Tammu- I bet you are loving all the attention. Even Hubby sometimes feel sad that Chutku is a ‘mamma’s boy’ 😀

    That Autowaala- Itell you these guys take us for granted. Grrrrr…. One huge big pain in the a**

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 15, 2011 at 11:45 am

      Next time for sure.

      Oh yes, I am loving it. In our case, we have Mannu to balance the equation coz she is ‘Daddy’s Daughter’. Chutku is a ‘mamma’s boy’ eh? You never know when he might switch his loyalties. 😛

      Yeah, tell me about it.

      Like

       
  7. Sugar and Spice

    December 15, 2011 at 11:06 am

    Forgetfulness is a husband trait I guess. Or is it a father’s trait?! 😀

    ‘We had gone to buy Pampers for Mama!’ – How cute is that! 😛

    Even I hum a lot of these crappy songs, okay. The ‘kolaveri’ one being the recent popular and Kau goes non-stop with ‘mama – notes eduthuko!’ 😦

    Some of these auto guys think they are the only people in the world who actually work and earn money. There are times when I’ve argued that we too have to suffer the same petrol and other price rise that they mention. After all, for us too, money doesn’t grow on trees! **Sigh**

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 15, 2011 at 11:48 am

      Both I guess.

      Lol on Kau singing ‘mama – notes eduthuko’

      So true – the last para. But they prefer to not understand our woes 😦

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
