RSS

All about Rennaisa

16 Dec

I had only heard her sweet voice on phone till then. She would talk to me in Hindi addressing me as Aunty! When we met in person, we gelled along very well. Her company was very soothing and fun-filled in an unknown place with strangers all around speaking in an alien language. She would be my interpreter whenever the need arose. In a couple of days, I was re-christened as ‘Pi’ coz Kakima or Chachi sounded Eeks!!! She became my Bangla teacher and I owe my first exposure to Bengali alphabets to her. She partially filled the void that Sindhu’s (my sis) absence had created in my life. We were the best of pals and would quarrel over trifle things too. She seldom forgot that I was her Aunt and treated me like her peer. She is not to be solely blamed for that, perhaps I give her that much of space and privilege. I too become a kid with her and seamlessly enjoy myself in her company. She would keep a close watch on all my activities and criticize or compliment me on everything, be it accessories, apparels or even my ways of doing things. She always found my way of munching food funny and imitated it. (Well, that’s how my Dad ate and I have inherited it from him, can’t help it) We share common interests like crafts, drawing, painting, baking etc.

She is our niece and we fondly call her Ummi. A strong bond tied our hearts when we lived together in the first 8 months post my marriage. Whenever Abbas and I went out, we would always take Ummi along with us. I recall a few incidents and would like to jot ’em for posterity.

Abbas and I were going for a dinner party with his friends. By default, Ummi was to be tagged along. Now my FIL is a bit conservative. So, I had a worn short top and parallels I guess. When we left the home, I draped myself with a big dupatta. And just when we came out of the gate, I secretly handed over the dupatta to Ma. It seems that FIL came to know and he freaked out on Ma saying “How could you let your DIL go without a dupatta?” So Ma instantly made up a story that “No, she had a dupatta in her bag which was better so she gave this back.” When we were at the party, Bhabi (co-sis) called up and told me all that had happened. So she  told me to give a missed call to her cell when we reach apt gate. She would throw a dupatta from the window. All that was religiously followed and I entered home with a dupatta draped around. By that time, things were cool anyway. Guess what Ummi did. She directly went to FIL and said “Daadu, Pi ka dupatta bag mein hi tha”.

Bhabi had gone along with Ummi to her friend’s house to invite for Ummi’s Birthday Party at home. As soon as the friend’s mom opens the door, Ummi says “Ma, have we come to invite them for my bday? No need Ma. Anyway they will not bring any gifts” Needless to say Bhabi was embarrassed to bits.

She addresses Abbas as ‘Pa’ (Derived from his nick name Tumpa) and me as ‘Pi’. Whenever Abbas would scold her if she did any mischief, she would come to me and say – “Ye kaise ladke se shaadi kiya hai tumne Pi?” (What kind of guy did you get maried to?) I would say “Kya karu? Main agar Pa se shaadi nahi karti, to main tumhari Pi kaise hoti?” (I wouldn’t have been your Pi had I not married Pa) She had solution for that also – “Didi ka aur ek beta hota, aur to tum usse shaadi kar leti…” (Wish Didi(her granny) had another son and you could marry him”)

I finally got a job and I was being sent to a different city for the Initial Training Program. Everybody would ask her  “If your Pi goes away, how will you stay??” She would shrug her shoulders and say “So what? It’s not a big deal” On the eve of my departure, I went out with her to buy some stuff and she told me “Pi, I want to tell you a secret. But you promise me that you won’t tell anyone” I agreed. She said “You know Pi, I have kept a photo of yours hidden in a secret place. When you will go away, I will bring that photo out and cry whenever I’ll miss you.” and tears flowed down her eyes and in-turn from mine too. I was stunned to see a softer side of a girl who is a brat otherwise and portrays herself as emotionally strong.

I dunno from where she picked up the lines but she would always say “Pi pi pi, aaj to tumhara batwaara hoga hi hoha”. And when I had twins, BIL said “See Seema, Ummi’s words came true”. During my pregnancy she would always say she’s gonna have two sisters. My in-laws were hoping for a grandson and her words would catch on their nerves. Her dad admonished her and asked her to say that she would have a bro and a sis. Poor her, repeated what her dad asked her to say. And then she slowly whispers her secret to her Pi and Pa that she knows its gonna be two sisters. And why she heartily wishes for two sisters is because they would play with her. She doesn’t want brothers because they would go out to play and pick up bad habits like smoking… How thoughtful of her…

She is away now but memories of our good times together always linger. She is a girl with a golden heart which mostly gets concealed and unnoticed due to her mischievous persona. In a week from now, I will be with her. She called me yesterday to ask on which date we were reaching their place. We were too excited to know that we will just make it to see her dance on her school’s annual day.
 
25 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

25 responses to “All about Rennaisa

  1. Sugar and Spice

    December 16, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    That was such a sweet post, Seema.

    ‘She said “You know Pi, I have kept a photo of yours hidden in a secret place. When you will go away, I will bring that photo out and cry whenever I’ll miss you.” and tears flowed down her eyes and in-turn from mine too.’ – When I read this, I had tears in my eyes too!

    Have a happy happy vacation with Rennaisa, okay!! (Would it be intrusive if I ask the place of the vacation? Calcutta??)

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 16, 2011 at 12:31 pm

      Thanks SnS 😀

      No dear. BIL and family lives in Gurgaon. We are going there. From the whole family together have plans of visiting Jaipur, Ajmer, Pushkar, Agra and Delhi.

      Like

       
      • R's Mom

        December 16, 2011 at 2:20 pm

        What!

        Glad R cant read this..otherwise she would be like Seema masi ko bolo mereko bhi Gurgaon jana hai (My college friend is there with his wife and two daughters)

        have fun…and the whole family is going..what super fun!!!

        Like

         
        • Seema

          December 16, 2011 at 2:34 pm

          Oh ya… That friend who came to Goa and you all went to Doodh Sagar together right?

          Like

           
      • Sugar and Spice

        December 16, 2011 at 4:13 pm

        Wow.. Have a wonderful trip! And I’ll miss you and little Man-Tam! Come back with loads of stories okay! 😀

        Like

         
        • Seema

          December 16, 2011 at 5:06 pm

          Thanks for the wishes. Yes, I’m sure I’ll have ample fodder for the blog once I come back. Hehe 😀

          Like

           
  2. R's Mom

    December 16, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    WOW! arent you the lucky one that someone from the hubby’s family adopted you so well 🙂

    so sweet yaar..wanting two sisters and all that..Awww!

    you are going to Calcutta *jealous jealous jealous*

    Gah! I will miss you when you are away 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 16, 2011 at 12:35 pm

      Well, Ummi has a sister Mimmi. She loves me no less. I’m double lucky.

      No re, not Calcutta. We are going to Gurgaon.

      Really? So nice to know that. You made my day.

      Like

       
  3. RS

    December 16, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    Ahh! I thought that this was a pre-holiday fever post 🙂 You are traveling next week na? And what does Rennaisa mean? Sounds lovely…

    Have loads of fun and Im sure the 3 sisters( rather 4 na-mimmi included) are going to have a blast!

    But but – can you please post from there also? Atleast once/twice a week? Plz? Going to miss you…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 16, 2011 at 2:33 pm

      Rennaisa is her name derived from Renaissance. (Her nickname is Ummi)

      Yes we are all so looking forward to unite as a family together.

      I will try to post re. Will miss you all for sure 😦

      Like

       
  4. Comfy

    December 16, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    This is such a sweet sweet post and you can almost see the love that flows between the two of you. Have an absolute amazing time with Ummi. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 16, 2011 at 2:35 pm

      Thanks Comfy 😀

      Can’t wait to meet her.

      Like

       
  5. summerscript

    December 16, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Awww this is such a sweeeeet post Seema 🙂 It is such a beautiful feeling to be loved by someone 🙂
    Enjoy your vacation! Have a super duper time with darling Ummi 🙂

    And Rennaisa is a very sweet name 🙂
    We will miss you here but to compensate that come back with loads of updates from mannu, tammu and ummi OK 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 19, 2011 at 10:33 am

      Thanks SS.

      I will certainly come back with loads of updates. 😀

      Like

       
  6. Bikram

    December 17, 2011 at 12:19 am

    Blesss.. beautiful lovely post … made me nostalgic thinking of someone who cares and loves me so much..

    why do we have go apart oh mannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 19, 2011 at 10:33 am

      Oh, is it Babbar?

      Like

       
      • Bikram

        December 19, 2011 at 3:03 pm

        🙂 yayyyyyyyyyyy and a couple of others who do exactly what babbar does 🙂

        Like

         
        • Seema

          December 19, 2011 at 4:28 pm

          Wow, that’s great. 🙂

          Like

           
  7. Tharani

    December 17, 2011 at 11:22 am

    Awww. Have a great time Seema. Loved this post and her name is lovely..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 19, 2011 at 10:33 am

      Thank you Tharani.

      Like

       
  8. garima

    December 19, 2011 at 11:15 am

    Such nice kid she is.Loved her name 🙂
    Good you did a post of your vacation plan I was so scared to ask you coz when you said it when we met I was day dreaming I guess 🙂

    A vey happy and a safe journey.Enjoy your vacations 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 19, 2011 at 11:48 am

      Yeah, even I loved her name ever since I heard it.

      Hehe, you scared of me???

      Wait wait, I am still here for another 3 days.

      Like

       
  9. NBose

    January 7, 2012 at 2:55 am

    getting hooked to ur blog…read it frst thru RM’s blog….

    my hubby’s nick name is also TUMPA ( i make too much fun of it)…:P

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 9, 2012 at 1:10 pm

      Great to know that N 😀

      Abbas would be glad to know that he is not the only male Tumpa 😛

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
