RSS

Weekend of Parenting, Preparing, Packing and Pampering

19 Dec

Saturday morning we had to go to Mantam’s school for Parent-Teacher meeting. While we were waiting for our turn, we saw a boy who screamed in joy “Mannat Tamanna”. Mannu’s cheeks reddened and Tammu said “This is E” and off Mannu went to E, held his hand and they started playing. Tammu was sitting in my lap. After a while E started pushing Mannu and Tammu snarled “Aii E. Don’t push Mannu” by pointing her index finger towards him. It was so funny to watch their activities.

When we went in, the teachers said that both were good at saying rhymes, sounds of alphabets, colouring but they needed improvement in writing, specially Tammu. I asked if they are socializing with other children or just staying close to each other. The teachers said, they talk to all the kids. Tammu doesn’t stop talking even during the class. Mannu will listen if asked to keep quiet. But Tammu doesn’t concentrate. Abbas said “Tammu is like me and Mannu like her mom. So, I know she will always get distracted” All in all, we got a pretty good feedback. But we could neither appreciate Mannu nor advise Tammu. Talk about parenting woes.

From there we went to the bank and then to Big Bazaar. Came home, had lunch and slept for a looong time. Only productive work I did that evening was ironing the heap of clothes accumulated since last week. And I couldn’t finish them all. So Sunday morning I woke up an hour before others and got all the ironing done with. Phew! I was able to hear Mannu’s voice, she was talking to Abbas non-stop. She was looking at our money plant in the balcony and telling him “Dekho Baba. Didi ka plant kitna big ho gaya na? Mannu Tammu ismein water diya isiliye. Didi humein kissie dega.” (Didi is Ma and she used to take care of plants when she was here)

Post breakfast we decided to start packing stuff. Abbas orders “Whatever you want to take, ensure that all comes in only one bag.” What do I tell him? He doesn’t understand that he is travelling with 3 female species. That too in peak winter season to North. How can I put everything in one damn bag??? I tried to convince him but he is adamant. I gave up hands down. So, he did some amount of packing. Whatever I wanna pack, he says Β ‘No need’. I didn’t wanna get into an argument, so simply let him do whatever he feels right. I went into the kitchen and Mannu came to help me. He then cleaned and polished shoes, Tammu helped him. We just played some songs and went about doing the chores while listening to them. I am so glad to know that Mantam enjoy listening to songs as much as Abbas n I do. They seem to remember the tunes and some lyrics also. They are also able to recognize a few songs by just listening to the prelude music and say “Ye to amar frave-rett song hai”

After lunch I went to the beauty parlour near my home to pamper myself when Mantam were fast asleep. But the parlour was crowded and the lady asked me to come back at 5:30. I came back home and simply couldn’t sit idle. I made Pistachio Choco Fudge which is so easy to put together. Within 10 mins, the final product was assembled and put into refrigerator to set. (Abbas had de-shelled the pistachios in the morning for me) After that I chopped dry fruits for my Fruit cake and soaked them. The whole mixture was smelling heavenly. I have to bake the final cake before leaving. Ma loves fruit cakes. I’m gonna carry it along.

The fudge came out quite well. I cut them in Barfi shaped pieces. Packed more than half of the quantity to takeaway for Ummi and Mimmi. 6 pieces packed for Manta’s day care, 2 for my domestic help and a few more left for us to munch on.

I got an awesome facial done at the parlour. Now don’t ask me how much I spent on it. This parlour is a bit on the costlier side. But the services areΒ mind-blowing. In other parlours, they do the facial while you are seated but here I was made to lay down and relax. Facial included a back massage also and that was the best part of it. My face is now glowing so much that Abbas is wondering if they peeled a layer of skin off my face.

Tammu had more 3-4 potty sessions all day. During the third time when she finished her potty, Abbas said “Kya inti baar potty kar rahi hai?”. Tammu replied “Mereko pet mein dard ho raha tha na? Isiliye” After dinner and Β drinking milk, again she went for potty. Abbas said “Kya re Tammu?” and pat comes the reply “Ye Mamma ne zyada doodh pila diya na? Isiliye”

That was our weekend folks. How was yours? Mantam asked atleast a thousand times “Hum log dilli kab jayenge?”

 
20 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

20 responses to “Weekend of Parenting, Preparing, Packing and Pampering

  1. RS

    December 19, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    What did you eat over the weekend that Mantam hd those potty sessions? πŸ™‚

    And God! How CAN you pack for 4 people in 1 bag huh?! *rolls eyes at Abbas* Im sure you need atleast 3 bags… and Im sure you would be packing the night before your travel πŸ™‚ in a frenzy…

    Hmmm… Are you flying? Can you take cake with you on the travel?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 19, 2011 at 12:58 pm

      Nothing unusual re. But yes we fed some spicy food to them. May be thats y. πŸ˜€

      Yeah, even I’m sure that’s gonna happen. πŸ˜€

      No we are travelling by Rajdhani re. And this fruit cake that I’m gonna prepare, the recipe says that it will keep for 2 weeks. I need to pack it in aluminium foil.

      Like

       
  2. R's Mom

    December 19, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    What What What!! how the hell do you get so much enthu to cook fudge and fruit cake..I am telling you Seema, forget Mantam with Abbasbhai..just adopt me…I will even cut the veggies for you (Same line I told SnS’s mom ;)) I am good at doing that isliye

    Facial and all eh? superb..I toh dont have the guts to do facial ever..I didnt even get it done for my marriage…my face breaks into pimples at the same rate, all news channels break into breaking news!!!

    now I have one right between my eyebrows and Zephyr asked me if it was a permanent bindi I got done gah!

    Hugs to the moneyplant growers and potty doers πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 19, 2011 at 1:03 pm

      Arey, Fudge is so easy to prepare RM. No cooking required. Just melt chocolate, butter and condensed milk together, mix with pista or cashew. Spread over a tray, cover and keep in frdige. That’s all.

      I will adopt you, coz that would mean I would get such sweet people for my grand daughter and Son-IL.

      You are one funny woman. This comment had me in splits, seriously. Breaking news, plant growers and potty doers. ROFL πŸ˜†

      Like

       
  3. Sugar and Spice

    December 19, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    Parenting woes.. Tell me about it!

    All the best with packing your belongings in one bag!! πŸ˜€

    Seema… You are my primary-motivator to bake. But you know what.. the moment I thought I’ll start with it, some thing (someone!!!) or the other keeps stopping me! Now its sickness – a bad bad cold! 😦 And also, a beginner’s inhibitions! Is there any thing that can stop it??

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 19, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      Arrre, Im sure I’ll convince him to carry more than 1 bag.

      Who is that someone?? Tell me. I’ll take him/her to task. I gave you an easy recipe dear. You can give it a shot. If you are stuck anywhere in between, I’m just a call away. Will e-mail you my number.

      Like

       
      • Sugar and Spice

        December 20, 2011 at 10:14 am

        πŸ˜€ Thanks a lot, Seema. Will see if I can try this week-end! πŸ˜€

        Like

         
        • Seema

          December 20, 2011 at 11:52 am

          Great, I can’t wait to know how it turns out….

          Like

           
  4. summerscript

    December 19, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    Pistachio Choco Fudge – πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ tell me if there is any house for rent in your building hee hee πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Just one bag to carry clothes for 4 people? I am trying to imagine the size of the bag and how many people would be needed to carry it !! πŸ˜›

    Ye Mamma ne zyada doodh pila diya na? Isiliye – lol

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 19, 2011 at 4:24 pm

      There are so many flats empty in our building. Come come.

      Hehe.

      Like

       
  5. garima

    December 19, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    So many P’s and all those were cute..so sweet of you to pack for mil and kids their favourite goodies.One look at ‘E’ and mannu’s heart goes ‘zzzzooooooom’ πŸ™‚
    Facial and all wow you anyways look so good seema even without facial (did it sound like one road side romeo passing that comment but honestly you have good skin)

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 19, 2011 at 4:27 pm

      Yeah, Mannu was so pleased to spot E there and immediately jumped out of Baba’s lap.

      I have good skin, true. But I take it for granted. This facial was just to get some good massage and relax.

      Road side romeo comment is incomplete without a whistle πŸ˜›

      Like

       
  6. mylifemylines

    December 19, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    My first comment here..

    I like all your posts on ManTam Seema…and I like your daughters names very much..am sure you are one who selected right?

    So the P week was great haan..

    Woww..you made fudge…mouthwatering…will try them..i love cooking..btw I tried Chicken Kadai from your blog last weekend..it was YUMMY…thanks for the receipe..

    All in ONE BAG?? am sure Abbas meant one bag for each… πŸ™‚

    happy vacation…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 20, 2011 at 11:52 am

      Hi Mylifemylines…

      Thanks for commenting and glad that you like my posts.

      Yes, I selected their names.

      It feels great to know people try recipes from my blog and double great if it turns out good. I am flying high…..

      I’m planning to pack him in that bag and send it across in goods train. πŸ˜›

      Thanks…

      Like

       
  7. Bikram

    December 20, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    he he he yeah all Mumma’s FAULT πŸ™‚ itna doodh pila diya bachi ko … πŸ™‚

    I hope she is fine now and koi dawai wagerah di kya ..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 20, 2011 at 4:15 pm

      Arey aisa kuch nahi hua tha. Infact, the more the potty, the better she feels.

      Like

       
  8. Scribby

    December 20, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    your post title sounds like the 4 Ps of marketing πŸ˜€

    how cute @ frave-rette !!!

    how I wish I could see the glowing face πŸ™‚

    lol @ putting blame on your for potty πŸ˜‰

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 20, 2011 at 4:17 pm

      Hehe, you would need glares to see my glowing face πŸ˜›

      Like

       
      • Scribby

        December 20, 2011 at 6:42 pm

        how smartly dodged showing the face off πŸ˜›

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
