RSS

My love hate relationship with 14th January!

16 Jan

Friday evening saw me all smug, soaked in memories of the very day spent at my home every year in Kundapur. I would wake up early morning every 14th Jan, take a head bath, wear new dress and go to the temple with my grandpa. I would come back and attend a million phone calls. Sindhu would silently watch my antics and crib and complain that no one remembers her birthday but every tom, dick n harry never fails to wish me on mine. April 29th is not so catchy after all. I was born on a very special day unlike her, I would preen. My maternal grandparents would come down. They would either bring along a gift, or present money to me. What I most eagerly awaited was the cashewnuts that they would bring along. Amma would make Khichdi and some festive food. We always looked forward to 15th in order to hog some Non-vegetarian food that Annu (dad) would bring home from a restaurant.

This was gonna be my 6th birthday out of my home, detached from my parents and family. Abbas came home and could effortlessly read my face. A comforting embrace from him and a call from Bhaiyya and Bhabi at midnight cheered me up a bit. Waking up to a “Happy birthday to you Mamma” sung by the Dad and his darling daughters buoyed up my mood. Regained my emotional self-control and narrated to Abbas tales of how my birthday was celebrated back home for the 6th time in the past 6 years. Bless his forgetfulness; he listens with the same enthusiasm every damn year.

Bhaiyya and Bhabi had ordered a Black Forest Cake which arrived in the afternoon. I had made some Gulab Jamuns. After quick-lunch, we went to watch Gemini Circus. I jumped in glee, screamed ‘Woo hoo’, clapped hard after every act that was performed. Mantam enjoyed watching the Jokers in action the most. Also the one where an elephant falls sick and other elephant dressed as a doctor wearing a huge stethoscope administers injection to its patient. Abbas didn’t admire the Circus much as he said it was nothing compared to Russian Circus. Well, for me, I enjoyed every bit of it.

/* Drool Alert – Begins here */

We had dinner at a restaurant called 4 seasons. Every dish that we had there was lip smacking delicious. We had a half plate of Chicken platter which had 3 pieces each of Pista rolls, Nawabi kabab, Lasooni Kabab, Grilled Chicken and Barbeque Chicken. Main course was Hyderabadi Biryani for us and Fried Rice for Mantam. Quantity of food was profuse and we doggie bagged the leftover rice back home. Ended with Fresh Lime Soda Sweet and a cup of Sulaimani Tea which was again mind-blowing.

Came back home, cut the cake and ate it too before calling it a day.

/* Drool Alert – Ends here */

Sunday was just plain boring with humongous amount of cleaning. Washing curtains, door mats, cleaning window glasses, grills and what not. It was very tiring too. Ironing clothes agenda has been postponed to next weekend.

 
43 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

43 responses to “My love hate relationship with 14th January!

  1. R's Mom

    January 16, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Wah what a day to be born…happy belated birthday babes….glad you had a good time…Hugs to Abbas bhai for being there for you always…sometimes a patient ear is more important than anything else in the world, praying that things fall in place soon and life becomes normal again…on birthdays, one can always hope eh?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 16, 2012 at 3:08 pm

      Thanks for the wishes RM 😀

      Hugs will be passed to Abbas Bhai 😀

      Like

       
  2. garima

    January 16, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    First a very happy belated birthday to you.may all your dreams come true this year.
    Your sis bday’s is on 29th april..heheh i got married that day 🙂
    So nice of kid,Abbas and your babhi bhaiya to brighten your day…

    Now time to blast you..I called you on 14th and you dint inform me it was your birthday 😦
    Secondly you came to gemini cirus that place is just 3 km from my home..we could have met and celebrated your bday
    Double angry with you…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 16, 2012 at 3:40 pm

      Thank you for your wishes.

      Now I’ll remember your anniversary well 😀

      I knew, you would say this 😀

      First all of you get well back to normal. Just because we went to Gemini Circus, how could we knock your door all of a sudden? We planned it just during lunch. Will come to your home some other time re. I’m not running away from Blore soon. Don’t worry.

      Like

       
  3. Sugar and Spice

    January 16, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    Belated birthday wishes, Seema. From next year onward, we’ll remember your ‘special day’ too!! 🙂 Glad that Abbas Bhai lent you a patient ear. Hoping and praying that the 7th year is lucky enough for you to get you closer to your parents!

    4 Seasons is here in Hyd too. But am not too fond of it. May be, the taste doesn’t appeal to the vegetarian genes in us! 😛

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 16, 2012 at 3:43 pm

      Thanks Thanks Thanks for all the wishes, hopes and prayers 😀

      Yeah, they have 3 branched in Hyd it seems. I guess you are right. Vegetarians might not like it. But we loved the food. Before you think, there is something wrong with our taste buds, lemme tell you the place was over crowded with a long queue of people waiting to get in 😀

      Like

       
      • Sugar and Spice

        January 16, 2012 at 3:50 pm

        No.. no.. There is nothing wrong with your taste buds. 4 Seasons is pretty popular here too. But somehow, I am not very impressed with the food there and I attribute my vegetarian genes to the distaste! 🙂 🙂

        Like

         
        • Seema

          January 17, 2012 at 10:47 am

          Yeah, Choices for vegetarians is also less there na? Mostly because they focus on Arabic and Lebanese food I guess.

          Like

           
  4. summerscript

    January 16, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    Belated Birthday wishes darling!! God Bless you and May all your wishes come true!!

    Abbas Bhaiya is the best!! 🙂

    P.S. Drool alert should have begun before black forest no !! 😛

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 16, 2012 at 3:45 pm

      Thank you dear 😀

      Girl, your beautiful eyes are programmed to catch all food related words in the blog post first eh?

      Like

       
  5. Bikram

    January 16, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    Many happy returns of the day .. you shud have told us earlier … 🙂 now you have had all that cake and all , ab bataya thats cheating…

    and no drool alert shud not end .. mere ko bhi khana hai ab yeh sara kuch 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 17, 2012 at 10:50 am

      Hehe 😀 There was no way I you could virtually have a piece of that cake anyway na? 😀

      Come to Blore again 😀

      Like

       
  6. shaktii

    January 16, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    Belated bday wishes dear!!

    Glad that you enjoyed your day.. i just loved the menu including the black forest..

    Dont worry, hope things will be your way soon..

    Yup abt sunday.. weekends for working moms are always tiring.. sometimes i would want to be single lol

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 17, 2012 at 10:52 am

      Thank you Shaktii 😀

      Hopes are still alive dear 🙂

      Oh, tell me about it. Sigh!!!

      Like

       
  7. Tharani

    January 16, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    Hey belated birthday wishes dear. Amazing food that half of which i have not even tasted:). My sis was born on April 29 but then i was also not born on a fancy day. And Again here is my wishes for a awesome year ahead.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 17, 2012 at 10:54 am

      Come to Blore some time na? In Chennai also there is one restaurant in T Nagar called Kababish which I loved to visit. They serve amazing Biryani and Kababs.

      Oh, ur sis too? Cool. Thanks for your wishes 😀

      Like

       
  8. Asmitha

    January 17, 2012 at 12:31 am

    Belated B’day Wishes Seema….Don’t worry you have your daughters and husband to look up too ;-). So were you born and brought up in Kundapura? did u go to Bhandarkar’s?
    Both my parents and the entire family is from Kundapura. I was born there but bought up in Hyderabad and now studying in US. Your post has brought my memories fresh too, the summer holidays visits to kundapura…my entire clan is based there. I went to kundapura last dec during my visit to India. Ah….I cna just go on and on and on…….Thanks to you Seema 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 17, 2012 at 11:03 am

      Yes, yes, I am very much from Bhandarkars’. Did my PU and graduation from there.

      Your parents and family are in Kpur only? Wow. Glad to know that I have a reader from my home town. Yayay!

      So did you eat the famous Ghee Roast from Shetty Lunch Home or not during your trip? Oh, How I miss it!!! 😦

      Like

       
  9. Comfy

    January 17, 2012 at 4:07 am

    That sounds like a wonderful way to celebrate your birthday Seema. A very special happy belated birthday to you.

    Glad that Abbas and ManTan made you feel special. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 17, 2012 at 11:03 am

      Thank you Comfy 😀

      Like

       
  10. anisnest

    January 17, 2012 at 6:38 am

    Belated birthday wishes Seema… hugs.. hope things will fall in place soon.. take care

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 17, 2012 at 11:04 am

      Thanks and hope so too 😀

      Like

       
  11. VJ

    January 17, 2012 at 6:58 am

    Belated birthday wishes Seema !!
    Hope you have an awesome year and get all that you want and pray for !!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 17, 2012 at 11:04 am

      Thanks for your wishes VJ 😀

      Like

       
  12. Deepsi

    January 17, 2012 at 11:00 am

    Belated B’day wishes seems… So nice of the kids and Abbas for brightining up your day!! Time spent well with loved ones is the bestest gift on the special day.. Black forest cake, gemini circus and a yumm Lunch added to the treat!! Have a great life ahead!!

    Loved your travel tales too!!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 17, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      ‘Time spent well with loved ones is the bestest gift on the special day’ – True 🙂

      Thanks for your wishes dear.

      Glad you loved my travel tales.

      I will take up your tag soon as I have one more post pending in the travel tales series. Sorry for the delay.

      Like

       
  13. Asmitha

    January 17, 2012 at 11:18 am

    No Seema, As I told earlier….My parents moved to Hyderabad when they got married…So I was born in Kundapura…But brought up in Hyderabad. But I am totally a kannadiga by heart :P. As a kid,I only visit kundapura with my parents suring summer holidays for a month. But given anyday ….I woudl choose kundapura for any place in this world…guess its the people and the climate.
    I am glad you are from Bhandarkar’s…All My cousins study at Bhandarkars.
    I never tried Shetty ghee roast….but few of the places I tried are sharon , and Sridevi icecream parlour I guess (Where u get gadbad)—love love it. I know you are aware of Hattiangady and all though 😛

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 17, 2012 at 2:02 pm

      Ohh, now you made me all nostalgic mentioning Sharon and Gadbad 😦

      Yeah, Hattiangady, Anegudde, Gopadi, Kollur, you name it and I know it. I was born and brought up there babes 😀

      Like

       
  14. Deepa Jayaraman

    January 17, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Hi Seema,

    Belated birthday wishes to you.

    whenever i read about you missing your parents and family my eyes get wet. Hope things get fine.
    Take care
    Deepa

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 17, 2012 at 2:05 pm

      Oh My God, Deepa! You commented on my blog! I am pleased to no bounds 😀

      Thanks a lot for making your presence felt although I know that you read my blog 🙂

      Looks like I need to write more about my parents to have you comment here eh?

      On a serious note, thanks for your wishes. You n hubby please drop by some time. Mantam would love to have you around. (Me too :-D)

      Like

       
  15. Pepper

    January 17, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    Belated Birthday wishes to you. Glad you had so much fun!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 17, 2012 at 2:06 pm

      Hey thanks Pepper 😀

      Like

       
  16. Asmitha

    January 17, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    There you go….you know it all Seema….I never tries Ghee roast at Shetty before…I would definitely try it on my next visit :).

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 18, 2012 at 1:08 pm

      Yeah and don’t miss Puffs from Vasantha Bakery and Mundakki Upkari from Annayya Kini’s. Oh I can go on and on with this list 😀

      Like

       
  17. Laila

    January 17, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    Belated birthday wishes Seema… I am sure you had a great one.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 18, 2012 at 1:08 pm

      Thank you Laila 😀

      Like

       
  18. Ashwathy

    January 18, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    Just missed wishing you. Here’s wishing you a belated happy bday 😀 Happy to know u had a great time.

    Blogrolling you now 🙂

    Now let me quickly browse around ur blog and start checking out other posts!!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 19, 2012 at 11:46 am

      Thanks for your wishes and a warm welcome here 😀

      Like

       
  19. RS

    January 19, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    Hey! Belated Happy Returns of the Day! Sounds like a wonderful day was had. And where IS this four seasons? Tell me tell me – maybe veggie stuff is good too? 🙂

    Reading about your missing your parents brought tears as always 😦 I pray that things get sorted out before your next birthday!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 19, 2012 at 2:44 pm

      Yeah, why don’t you take Chutku to the Circus re? I’m sure he’ll enjoy it.

      4 Seasons is in 100 ft road Indiranagar. Do try the food, you might like it.

      Thanks for your prayers dear. Hope is all we have.

      Like

       
  20. Sam

    January 19, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    Belated Happy Birthday Seema:).. and even though I finished my lunch 10 mins back am thinking about the black forest caked:(.

    Have visited Kundapur once.. I studied in Manipal and I absolutely love those places.. aanaegudae..agumbe.. kollur.. such beautiful scenary and climate. The free lunch at aanaegudae and the appi payasam.. love them too!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 19, 2012 at 2:54 pm

      Sorry. I guess I need to put a disclaimer before all my posts or still better would be at the top of home page. ‘Caution: My posts might make you hungry’

      Oh you studied in Manipal? Wow, glad you liked the places that are so close to my heart. *I’m beaming now*

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
