RSS

A Crafty Weekend

30 Jan

After recollecting my long ignored hobbies in my last post, I wanted to do some craft with Mantam this weekend. I brought out my collection of Pista shells, popsicle sticks and some paint bottles and brushes. Other than this, we just stayed home, did lots of cleaning, washing, ironing, repairing, dancing, home-working, sleeping, blogging, eating and cooking. Saturday evening, took Mantam out to a park, that’s all. Oh, I have also started reading a book ‘The Palace of Illusions’ also called the Panchaali’s Mahabharat (which featured in the TBR list of many bloggers I read). I had never read or watched the epic all my life and was absolutely ignorant of the whole plot. I’m kinda enjoying the book and knowing all the characters from a woman’s perspective.

Leaving you with pictures:

All set to work

Pista Shell Lotus

Abbas painting it

After first round of painting

Final product

Made two of them

Popsicle stick vase - half completed. Ran out of popsicle sticks. Need to collect more.

Warli art stamp - carved from a potato

Painting the Warli stamp

Stamped!

Stamped in a row

The final touch

The final touch - Not so bad for first attempt, eh?

Credits for inspiration:

Warli art – Mindful Meanderings
Pista Shell Lotus – Siri’s Kitchen
 
Edited to Add:
Linking this post to the ‘The Weekly Story’ event by Colors Dekor
 
 
46 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

46 responses to “A Crafty Weekend

  1. R's Mom

    January 30, 2012 at 10:38 am

    WOW! you and you girls and errr…Abbas bhai are so so talented…loved that lotus..and the Warli art was superb :):) Shruti is an inspiration eh 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 30, 2012 at 11:08 am

      Yeah, Shruti is certainly an inspiration, but the Potato stamp link I had got from your blog only and got routed to hers 🙂

      Like

       
  2. Tharani

    January 30, 2012 at 11:13 am

    Wow seema, the lotus is very pretty. One Super talented family you guys make

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 30, 2012 at 11:44 am

      Thanks Tharani. No super talented and all re. Just check the credits, tried to replicate what they did. Copy paste art 🙂

      Like

       
  3. VJ

    January 30, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    Wow… Lotus is beautiful and warli art is awesome !
    Super talented family !

    Like

     
  4. garima

    January 30, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    AMAZING the lotus and worli art is too good..Great talent and Seema copy pasting alone doesnt help .You gotto have a talent which you guys have.I am sure I’ll spoil everything even while copying 😦

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 30, 2012 at 4:12 pm

      Copy pasting also requires talent kya? Nakal mein bhi akal? Hehehe.

      Do anything with sincere interest, and it will come out well re. Take my words for it.

      Like

       
  5. Bikram

    January 30, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    wow now that is soooper awesome .. the little ones are learning fast ..
    I loved the lotus toooo it looks beautiful …

    Like

     
  6. Sumana

    January 30, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    Lovely work Seema. Best is the whole family looks so engrossed and seems to be enjoying. Loved the lotus and the Warli stamp. Mantam sure have your genes. Cool painting and hugs to the kiddos. How did you manage all this inspite of all your weekend routine tasks????

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 30, 2012 at 4:57 pm

      Yeah, it was fun because we were all involved in it together 🙂

      My genes? I’m not sure. But atleast, my enthu is infectious enough to attract them to it 😀

      Actually, since Republic Day was a holiday, I didn’t have the same load of clothes as any other weekend and a few other boring chores got done with on Thursday itself. Also, since we didn’t go out, we had abundant time re.

      Like

       
  7. Scribby

    January 30, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    this is awesome Seema 🙂 whenever I read and watch such crafty pics I’m taken into the future where in me and Chirpy will do such stuff 🙂

    I love crafts and I really hope m girl loves it too to create such lovely moments together 🙂

    Oh BTW Any idea when are you getting those gifts ? I so wish ManTam and Chotu get them real soon 😦

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2012 at 10:33 am

      I’m sure you both will make a great duo dear. Mark my words 😀

      RS was away last weekend. She said she would collect it and let me know. I have a friend who works in RS’s office and stays close by my home. So, will get it passed via her once RS collects it. (And we all stay in the same city! Sigh!!!)

      Like

       
      • Scribby

        January 31, 2012 at 1:48 pm

        see the irony !!! One thing that really surprised me about the city is distances 😦 how ironical that we traveled so many miles to just play the passing the parcel of gifts 😦

        any way waiting to see [read] 😀 how do these kids like it 🙂

        Like

         
        • Seema

          January 31, 2012 at 3:20 pm

          Yeah I know. But kya karein re? Monday se hi humaara weekend planning start ho jaata hai 😀 Million things are planned to be done in 48 hours.

          Me too me too 🙂

          Like

           
  8. My era

    January 30, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    Very, very nice….tight hugs to the artistic family 😀 😀

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2012 at 10:34 am

      Thanks Era. Hugs right back to you from the artistic family. 😀

      Like

       
  9. Laila

    January 30, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    That Lotus is absolutely AMAAAAZING!!!!
    I loved it… Talented you ARE….

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2012 at 10:35 am

      Thanks Laila. Glad you liked it. 🙂

      Like

       
  10. anisnest

    January 30, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    wowwww.. lotus and warli stamps are amazing.. I am sure going to let Adi try the lotus by herself.. thanks for the link Seema.. I was about to ask you how did you paste the pista shells to the board 🙂 see I already started visualizing the making of it 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2012 at 10:36 am

      Oh yeah sure. Do share pics okay. Waiting to see them 🙂

      Like

       
  11. lifesong

    January 31, 2012 at 11:01 am

    I have been reading you for a while now. Love your twins 🙂
    That lotus looks beautiful and simple. I am going to try making it with my 4 year old too.
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2012 at 3:14 pm

      Thanks for de-lurking LS

      Do let me know how she enjoys it. 🙂

      Like

       
  12. Shruti

    January 31, 2012 at 11:22 am

    🙂 Lovely! Thanks for sharing it ..
    and that pista lotus is amazing..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2012 at 3:16 pm

      The pleasure is mine Shruti.

      Yes, pista lotus was very easy to make even with the step by step pictorial from Siri’s blog. Glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

       
  13. celestialrays

    January 31, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    You guys are genius! Amazing!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2012 at 3:17 pm

      Hey CR, welcome here 🙂

      Thank you dear 😀

      Like

       
  14. summerscript

    January 31, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    wow wow wowwwww… The lotus is amazing 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2012 at 5:10 pm

      Thank you dear 🙂

      Like

       
  15. Ashwathy

    January 31, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    You made me all nostalgic for my 7th grade art and craft classes 😦 How we lose touch with all of that once we grow older…!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 1, 2012 at 12:14 pm

      Hmmm, but you can always get back of you want to, dear! I’m so glad to get back dust off cob-webs from my long ignored crafts skills 🙂

      Like

       
  16. Kala

    February 1, 2012 at 12:25 am

    oh my goddd thats so creativeeeeeeeeeeee just loved ittttttttttttt

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 1, 2012 at 12:23 pm

      Thanks Kala. Glad you liked it. Welcome here.

      Like

       
  17. NBose

    February 1, 2012 at 12:53 am

    Kya baat..kya baat…kya baat…. 🙂

    You know I saved the pista shells ( emptied the whole box of diwali gift..), but was not sure how to use it in a ‘crafty’ way…wd surely try now..lets see wat it turns out to be…!!!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 1, 2012 at 12:23 pm

      Oh cool! Lemme know how it turns out. 🙂

      Like

       
  18. anandhirajan

    February 1, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    wow gorgeous lotus thaks for sharing
    anandhirajan
    http://scrapellery.blogspot.com

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 2, 2012 at 1:20 pm

      Thanks Anandhirajan. Glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

       
  19. Patricia Torres

    February 4, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    That pista shell lotus is simply impressive.. Gosh!! super impressed.. loved it… I like the warli stamp too.. . very cute!!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2012 at 11:00 am

      Thanks Patricia. Glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

       
  20. sirisha

    February 5, 2012 at 6:58 am

    Hey Seema….Am happy that my pista shell flowers inspired u…:) Seems like u all had a gud time working together.

    Ur twin girls r sooo cute…:)

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2012 at 11:05 am

      Oh yes, Many others are gonna try to it soon 🙂 Thanks to your step by step pictorial, it was a breeze to make :-d

      Like

       
  21. Varsha

    August 21, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    hey seema!!! Pista shell lotus looks too good. I have collected a few shells and am gonna try it soon. BTW what paint did u use to paint them? Did u also use nail polish for the same. If not then pls let me know the paint u have used. TC

    Like

     
    • Seema

      August 28, 2012 at 12:56 am

      Hey Varsha, Thank you. I’m excited to know you are gonna try the lotus soon. I used Fevicryl Fabric colours. One of my colleagues also made it after me and she used nail polish. Even that came out good. So, take your call on what you would like to go with. Also please don’t forget to send me the pics. Would love to see…

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
