RSS

Exam-school-nostalgic memories

31 Jan

Abbas has been looking for a friend(S) of his from school who he sat adjacent to for many years together. He has been furiously googling, searching all social networking sites to find trace of this guy who has been haunting his memory. S apparently was academically good and scored well in exams. Abbas was an average student and merely photocopied what S jotted down sitting next to him. Abbas claims that he always scored a mark or two less than S (I marveled at Abbas’s copying skills more than S’s studiousness) and once he even managed to score more than S in certain paper. Gosh! A copier with a mind of his own, eh? (Nakal mein bhi akal)

Abbas also picked fights with his peers to stick to this coveted seat which contributed to his exam scores. It seems, that day was the gloomiest of all when one of his classmates acquired the place and did not let Abbas sit there then on. One fine day, S shared a secret of his with Abbas. Instead of living up to S’s trust, Abbas spread the secret which created some havoc, I believe. Although I don’t know the exact details, Abbas has been regretting for a grave mistake that he did and wanted to badly apologize to S.

Finally, after years of rummaging around the world-wide web, he cracked S’s mobile number through a friend’ friend’s friend. He spoke his heart out to S on Sunday which was after a gap of 14 years. Were we elated or what? It was as though God had finally appeared live after years of exile J

This episode reminded me of many tales from my memory lane.

In my case, I was the ‘S’. I always tried helping out my classmates who sat next to me in the exams. There was one girl whose name also started with S and her roll number was one less than mine. There have been instances when she sat in front of me and I whispered answers to her almost till midway of the exam duration. Then she herself would tell me – “Seema, I think I have answered enough to clear the paper. You start writing; I don’t want your marks to suffer because of me”. I used to also help many of my friends during lunch breaks, after school hours by staying a bit late at school or calling them home and teach them. Just before the exams, I used to get huddled by many of my friends just to listen from me probable questions, or a quick verbal recap of all that I taught them. It gave me enormous satisfaction when their scores improved and they came back to me after exam and thank me. Even now when I talk to a few of them, they express their gratitude and it fills my heart with a strange fulfillment.

Although I helped others in cheating in exams, I was myself an honest student. I still remember during my Class 10 board exams, many expected me to score well in Mathematics as I had scored a centum in my Class 7 boards (Yeah, in Karnataka Class 7 was a board exam then) I still remember the night on the eve of Maths paper, one of my elder cousins(C) came home. I was studying in the drawing room then and rest of the family was in the dining room entertaining some guests who had come over for dinner. He came and handed me a few sheets of paper. And this is how the conversation went:

C: Tomorrow’s paper has leaked out and I managed to grab a copy for you.
Me: Whattt??? Thanks but I don’t need it. You please take it back.
C: But you dream of scoring a centum this time around too right? There’s no harm in going through the questions.
Me: Yes, but whatever I score, I’ll always have a guilt that the marks might have been different had I not seen the paper.
C: Oh please, this might not even be the actual paper. I’m not taking it back. Do whatever you want with it.

He left leaving me trembling with nervousness. But I was damn sure I wasn’t going to take a glimpse even. I was worried that my siblings might just read out questions to irk me. I told my parents, they asked to me take a call. I hid it somewhere securely.

I came back from the exam next day and straight away brought the paper out and was astounded to see that most questions matched with the actual paper.

And guess what? I scored 100 in Mathematics in the final board exams. My name was published in the local newspapers. I was on Cloud 9 more so because I did not see the fake paper. Had I seen it even once, I wouldn’t have been a morsel proud of my score as much as I preen today. 😀

Tell me, do have such memories from school that are you cherish dearly?

 
18 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

18 responses to “Exam-school-nostalgic memories

  1. R's Mom

    January 31, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    100 in maths…awesome babes 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2012 at 3:21 pm

      Yeah, awesome and all that! But now, to calculate how much change to give back, I find myself furiously turning on calc in cellphone 😀

      Like

       
  2. summerscript

    January 31, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    clap clap clap for your honesty 🙂 🙂

    100 in maths!!! wowwww genius ! 🙂

    About copying in exams- I never copied but if someone asks me for answers in exam, I get all scared .The person who wants to copy will be all brave and confident but my face becomes pale in fear 😛

    clap! Clap! Clap! to Abbas bhaiya too for finding out that friend after 14 years 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2012 at 3:30 pm

      Thanks thanks thanks 😀

      Hahaha, you would get scared is it? Lol, you are too cute and even more honest than me 😀

      Like

       
  3. Bikram

    January 31, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    ah ha I know that, being average although i think i was below average myself 🙂 and 14 years WOW.. I would love to get hold of a few of my friends from school …

    and i got helped a lot during exams… and i can tell you some interesting stories toooo 🙂 rather if u read the last post in that we actually stole a answer sheet booklet ooops ..

    100 marks wowo … tusin great hon , where are ur feeet .. oh my I got 36 and i was happy 🙂 36 is pass yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2012 at 5:16 pm

      Yes, I read your last post! Everything that you mentioned in that post is absolutely crrrrazy. But it made me smile 🙂

      Please do a post on exam stories na?

      Hehehe, there is nothing great in that Bikram. Just that each individual is special in his own way. I don’t think marks can ever be a yardstick to judge any human being’s greatness.

      Like

       
  4. Laila

    January 31, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    I was like you… always topped within school, either topped or secured merit rank in board exams, and topped in graduation too… helped friends (and even Juniors later) with my notes and all.
    Helped my friends cheat from me and all that.

    The only instance when I actually cheated was during a regular class test in college… I did it mainly for the fun of it (since everybody seemed to do it very easily), but was extremely nervous as I peeped into my notebook… So, when we got the evaluated papers back, that was the only answer which was incorrect… I realized cheating was not my cup of tea… and, that was the first and the last instance… never again did I cheat… 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 1, 2012 at 12:15 pm

      Haha, you are too cute 😀

      Glad to know more about you Laila.

      Like

       
  5. anisnest

    January 31, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    awesome Seema.. 100 and all.. 🙂 yeah yeah I have many such incidents.. the one exam at college where I cried buckets to my friend that I will flunk that paper, my friend consoled me for nearly one hour and then when results were out I cleared and my friend flunked.. I didn’t have the courage to face my friend for almost 2 days :).. we still laugh at that incident whenever we speak 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 1, 2012 at 12:16 pm

      You cried buckets? Now tell me how much did you score in it? I’m curious :mrgreen:

      Like

       
      • anisnest

        February 1, 2012 at 9:27 pm

        you should know when I cried buckets no? okay I will admit shamelessly it was just pass mark 😦

        Like

         
        • Seema

          February 2, 2012 at 1:23 pm

          Ohhh 😦 Hugs Ani.

          I have seen some rank holders in my class who cried tanks when they got 99 for the 1 mark that hey lost.

          Like

           
  6. My era

    January 31, 2012 at 11:03 pm

    Wow! a double century…first in 7th and then again in 10th…too good 😀
    I was very good at studies both in school and even Uni…and count me in as far teaching and explaining topics to friends went 😀 😀

    I totally agree with you on the fulfilling satisfaction one draws when people do well cause of your help…maybe this was why I often thought in terms of becoming a teacher in my field 🙂

    Loved the honesty in the post and the confident, honest little girl you were even at that tender age 😀 😀

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 1, 2012 at 12:18 pm

      Even I wanted to be a teacher during that phase (Before that was always conductor, I was amazed at his Math skills in giving back exact change)

      Thanks Era. We share one more similarity apart from our love for food. Hi-five 😀

      Like

       
  7. Tharani

    February 1, 2012 at 12:05 am

    WHAT a hundred in math?? Wow, genius.
    When in college during an internal exam, my friend was asking my paper. Since she was sitting a little far away, i just crushed the paper like a ball and threw it at her. She just missed to catch it and it fell midway. Obviously we were caught and this cool prof of our went to my frnd and told, “you are just like our cricket team. Dropping catches huh”. Came back to me and gave my paper:)

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 1, 2012 at 12:22 pm

      Hahaha! The prof did that? I can’t believe it.

      But good that he was cool about it. 🙂

      Like

       
  8. Ashwathy

    February 1, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    100 in Maths?? 😯 Charan sparsh, guruji!!! 😀 😀 I managed to get a 63 for my finals with great difficulty!!

    That must have been awesome, reconnecting with ur friend after so long!! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 2, 2012 at 1:16 pm

      Blessings, my girl 😀

      Marks hardly matter or have any roles to play in shaping one’s life na? But at that time, it was a matter of pride for my family and in turn me too 😀

      Oh yes! After 14 years… 🙂

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
