RSS

Is having twins cute?

03 Feb

Whenever I’m out there in public with Mantam in tow, I always manage to grab eyeballs and gazes which easily interpret themselves on the lines of Β ‘Awww, wow, how cute, how nice to have twins’ and all that jazz.

But in practicality, it is not as cute as it appears to be to have twins.

During their first year of birth, before I could leave a sigh after quenching one of their hunger pangs, I would have another pair of hungry eyes looking expectantly at me. When I would massage one of ’em and then give her bath, bring back and smear lotion all over, comb hair, put on dress, feed her and put her in the cradle, I knew it was no time to relax, but to get the butt moving for another round of the series of events. When both of them would be hungry at the same time and I would have nobody close to aid, I was amazed by my own skills to position my hands in a ‘double decker’ arrangement with one lying in lap, other lying on my left hand, right hand gripping feeding bottle to the one at the top and fingers of left hand balancing the other bottle. I guess, I looked funnily cute then πŸ˜€

As they grew up, when they would A.L.W.A.Y.S want something that had a singular presence, I swear I did not find it cute! If one was sick, I had to administer medicine to both (I had to tactfully con the healthy one a capful of water) There was a packet of diapers that we bought with pictures of animals on it. I picked a rabbit and a dog before taking them to bed. Both were smitten by rabbit and dog lay smug unable to impress my lads. Mannu snatched the rabbit diaper from my hand and threw tantrums to let go of it. I tried convincing Tammu listing all good things about a dog! How faithful it is, how it eats chicken and rabbit only eats carrots. I was successful as she was smitten by the DOG at the end of 10 mins of coaxing from me. But hey, I’m a mom of twins, I am not destined to preen so easily. I could hear a sobbing Mannu – ‘Mamma, I want dog! I don’t want rabbit. I hate carrots’. I vowed not to buy that brand of diapers again!!!

I wish I could leave a message to all those sales promotion guys to drop two pamphlets at our door. For I have reached the saturation point in making justice over the ownership of single pamphlet. Sample this:

Tammu grabs hold of it. Mannu says – “Mamma, I want it”.
Coolly I say – “You ask Tammu politely to give it to you.”.
Mannu – “Ta, Dao” (Ta – Mannu calls Tammu as Ta. Dao in Bengali means Give)
Tammu plainly ignores.
Mannu – “Mamma, Ta amake diya nahi” (Ta didn’t give it to me)
Me – “You didn’t ask politely. Say please and pyaar se poocho”
Mannu – “Ta… Please Dao” and rubs her palm on Tammu’s cheeks
Again Tammu is indifferent and moves away
Mannu – “Mamma. Please bola. Phir bhi nahi diya”
Me warns Tammu: “Tammu, next time when you ask Mannu to give you something, expect the same from her”
Scared, Tammu gives it to Mannu.
Within nano seconds:
Tammu: “Mannu… Please Dao”
Mannu looks at me helplessly, I’m even more helpless.
Tammu: “Mamma. Please bola. Phir bhi nahi diya”
and the infinite iterations continue till a frustrated me tears the pamphlet into two and gives each one a half.

Next time when you meet me, if you notice the lack or absence of hair on my head, please don’t ask me the reason.

Although they are double the trouble, theyΒ undoubtedlyΒ are double the joy.

When I am down with a head ache, I have both of them sitting besides me like hawks and massaging my forehead. When I let out an ‘Ouch’ after some minor accident in the kitchen, I have not one but two souls running to check if I’m alright. Both pairs of eyes are welled up with tears, four arms opened wide to embrace me to make me feel better. Times when I am gloomy, lost in thoughts and not responding well to their never-ending questions, I can’t resist being rejuvenated when I simultaneously hear two sentences – ‘Mamma, please happy ho jao’ and ‘Ami Mamma ke koto big much love you korbo’.

These days, Tammu approaches Mannu when she is not finding her eraser or book. Mannu reassures her “Wait Ta… Ami Dhoond-bo” (I’ll search) and rummagesΒ nooks and corners of the house just to uplift her sister’s mood. Yes, that certainly is cute!

When a certain someone gives a chocolate to Tammu and she takes it in her right palm and presents her left palm and asks one more for Mannu… that isn’t her greed, but unconditional love for her sis.

When Tammu is pretending to be sick trying to trick me into carrying her, I have an age-old solid excuse to not give in to her demand. I confidently say – “I can’t carry you coz Mannu will be sad then.” This worked for almost 3 years only till that day when Mannu said “Mamma. You can lift Tammu. I will be happy. I promise”. I dreaded to let the realization of them having grown up sink in but yes, the cuteness was undeniable.

 
38 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

38 responses to “Is having twins cute?

  1. R's Mom

    February 3, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Awww!

    you know what…I think the worst is behind you (In terms of feeding, nappy changing, etc etc) Eepps does that sound rude..anyways…now you can just sit and enjoy the double attention..

    Hugs to Mantam…

    Dhoondh-bo – ghahahahhahah to that..reminds me of my dad trying to speak in Bong with mama’s driver in Calcutta πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 3, 2012 at 12:19 pm

      No, it doesn’t sound rude. But it certainly gives some more hints about your apprehensions of you-know-what :mrgreen:

      Many hindi verbs suffixed with a bo actually make sense in Bengali. Yay to your Dad for attempting re… πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  2. lifesong

    February 3, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    “Although they are double the trouble, they undoubtedly are double the joy.”
    How true πŸ™‚
    Even when I see someone with twins, I am like “How cute.. how sweet”
    But raising twins is a very difficult task I guess especially when they are young.
    All their talks! πŸ™‚
    They are really cute πŸ™‚ Hugs to ManTam πŸ˜€

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 3, 2012 at 3:09 pm

      Initial 2 years were strenuous re. Now it seems like a breeze πŸ˜€ as they are growing to be more independent by the day.

      Thanks LS πŸ˜€
      Will pass on the hugs to Mantam.

      Like

       
  3. Sugar and Spice

    February 3, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    I love this post. I mean, just L-O-V-E it. More so, ‘cos I can relate to it so well. So well! Thanks for letting me give a peep into my own children. It sure was emotional and fun, together! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Loads of love to Man-Tam. May their sibling-love grow by leaps and bounds! πŸ™‚

    And a big hug to you, Seema… from a fellow exhausted-yet-happy-twin-mommy!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 3, 2012 at 3:12 pm

      And I L-O-V-E this comment of yours πŸ˜€

      It was worth spending a few extra mins translating those dialogues πŸ˜€

      That virtual hug from a fellow exhausted-yet-happy-twin-mommy did make me feel warm. Thank you πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  4. garima

    February 3, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    Awww mannu is sweetheart to understand and feel ok if you lift tammu.So sweet of her.
    Tammu ask for sweets for her sis…thats so nice!!

    I was imagining you in that pose with two kids and 2 feeding bottle :-)how did you manage dear?so want to see that pose..you have a pic?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 3, 2012 at 3:14 pm

      Oye, If I had anyone around, I would certainly have asked that person to feed the other kid instead of clicking my pic πŸ˜€

      How I managed, I dunno. It just comes naturally to you once you are a Mommy πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  5. Sumana

    February 3, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    Lovely mom and lovely kiddos. At the end of the day you enjoy them and they are there for you. Wonderful and have fun hugs to Mantam

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 3, 2012 at 3:15 pm

      Thanks Sumana. Will pass on the hugs to them πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  6. Deepa Jayaraman

    February 3, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    Hey Seema i miss you all in the campus.
    It was fun to travel in the bus together.

    My love to Mantam and to mom

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 3, 2012 at 3:17 pm

      Mantam also miss you and your green chocolates πŸ™‚

      Thank you. Love from us to you. Take care of your health.

      Like

       
  7. Ashwathy

    February 3, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    Double the trouble yet double the happiness also! πŸ™‚ I agree….

    That para where you described the double happiness was too cute. Brought a huge smile to my face.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 3, 2012 at 3:18 pm

      Glad it made you smile. And by the way, no posts from you?? Busy, eh?

      Like

       
      • Ashwathy

        February 3, 2012 at 3:56 pm

        Will post one soon. πŸ™‚

        Like

         
        • Seema

          February 3, 2012 at 5:19 pm

          Waiting waiting πŸ˜€

          Like

           
  8. Deepsi

    February 3, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    Awww it was so nice to again read about the twins- Mantham.. Like you just said it- The trouble of raising the twins is there at its place, at the same time the joy u get is double.. Like u said- “I have not one but two souls running to check if I’m alright” thats very sweet…

    I would rather say that God has given u double joy!! Double Gift!

    My Hugs n love to Mantham πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 3, 2012 at 5:17 pm

      Yes, dear! That’s why kept the trouble part in the beginning and concluded with the best part.

      Thank you πŸ˜€ They’re gonna get lottts of hugs today πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  9. NBose

    February 3, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    Awwwww….this post itself is so cute….although i know wat u had faced while handling them alone that first year…..with a 7 month old kid i know how u have to change ur avatar from ‘octopus’ to ‘Maa-durga’ depending upon the situation to handle them… πŸ˜€ ….and in ur case itz multipled by two!!!

    But as u say….JOY & HAPPINESS is also multiplied by two… πŸ˜€

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 3, 2012 at 5:21 pm

      I was not always alone re. Ma was there, Abbas was there, a nanny was also there. But there were times when I had to handle all alone.

      Hehe, Lol on the avatar part πŸ™‚

      Yes, everything multiplied by two. Recently I found myself taking two bath towels while going for shower and laughed at myself πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  10. AA_Mom

    February 3, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    Hello Seema,
    Commenting here for the firs time, although I have been visiting you lately, from R’s moms blog

    It gets better and better as they grow up, so the trouble part is really behind you.

    You have twin girls – how cute!! πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2012 at 10:49 am

      Thanks AA Mom. Welcome here.

      It certainly is getting better and merrier by the day πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  11. My era

    February 3, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    Awww….Not only the twins but their mum too is sooooooooooooper sweet & cute πŸ˜€
    Absolutely loved this post πŸ™‚
    Loads of love to the two darlings πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2012 at 10:50 am

      Hehe… I’m blushing now 😳

      Thanks Era πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  12. Laila

    February 3, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    I went absolutely Awwww at :
    “Mannu – β€œTa… Please Dao” and rubs her palm on Tammu’s cheeks”
    No doubt it must be difficult to manage two small babies… but, as you said, I am sure it is DOUBLE the pleasure too πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2012 at 10:51 am

      Initial 2 years were quite difficult but it is getting easier by the day Laila πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  13. Bikram

    February 3, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    alnong with double the trouble they will be DOUBLE the happiness too.. double the laughter tooo and double the everything tooo.. os yeah twins is CUTE ..
    now nod ur head and say yes …

    waitingggggggggggggg….

    go on

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2012 at 10:52 am

      Yes, Yes, Yes, Twins are cute πŸ˜€ Do you want me to do sit-ups now?

      Well, all kids are cute for that matter, aren’t they?

      Like

       
  14. anisnest

    February 3, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    AAwwww… Mantam are cute.. You were gifted with twins may be -coz the super power thought you are capable of handling it.. πŸ™‚ come on strong lady.. I know its easier to type…
    wishing you guy many many many more happy moments and the twins great time together πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2012 at 10:56 am

      Hahaha – ‘the super power thought you are capable of handling it’ – That’s a good perspective πŸ™‚

      Thanks Ani πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  15. zephyr

    February 4, 2012 at 9:51 am

    This was such an awww post, Seema. Loved it. You will again go through the pangs when they become teenagers, but the compensations will be sweeter than now. πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2012 at 10:57 am

      Coming from you, I’m humbled.

      I don’t even want to think about their teenage now πŸ™„ but savour this moment πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  16. Sugar and Spice

    February 6, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    Hey.. You not at work today? All well?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2012 at 11:06 am

      Thanks for checking dear. Worked for only 6 hours yesterday as Mantam’s day care was closed. Was caught up with work to be wrapped.

      Like

       
  17. Smitha

    February 8, 2012 at 12:32 am

    Aww! That was precious! You know, I always wanted twin girls – always, always always πŸ™‚ I was a trifle disappointed when only one heartbeat was picked in the first scan. So much so if they asked me if I had a history of twins in my family(which there isn’t, but what stopped me from hoping, eh?) πŸ™‚
    It was only after Poohi was born that the actual work hit me πŸ™‚ All thoughts of twins fled from my mind then πŸ™‚

    But reading your post, makes me wish that I had the luck to have twin girls too πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 8, 2012 at 2:26 pm

      Actually, there was family history of twins in my paternal family. My Amma always said that either me or my sis had chances of having twins. She herself wanted twins, and used to have twin bananas when she was pregnant with me.

      But at least, you have a girl na? (And Poohi is a sweetheart) I really pity those who have only boys 😦

      Like

       
  18. scribblehappy

    February 16, 2012 at 10:21 am

    Hi, hopped over from RM’s blog –just loved this post. Hats off to you and to all mothers of twins–I’ve always marvelled at how they manage to raise two babies together, when raising just one is so difficult!! IAnd I went all aww at how they run to comfort you when you as much as let out an ouch–such sweethearts, God bless!!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 16, 2012 at 11:18 am

      Welcome here ScribbleHappy.

      Nature is kind enough to bestow us with powers unknown just like it does to a single kid mommies.

      Thanks dear πŸ˜€

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
