RSS

Dance Class and Annual Day

07 Feb

After enrolling Mantam to the dance class, I took them to the first class on Friday evening after picking them up from the day care at 6 PM. I then went shopping all by myself. Got into a mini super market and actually noticed so many things on the shelf that I didn’t know they stored. I missed Mantam as they always accompany me to this shop and meander behind me armed with a basket waiting for me drop goodies into it. I got all emotional and bought some fancy chocolate that they had requested me to buy during our last visit but I had denied. From there, I went to another shop to buy skin colour stockings for them which their teacher had specified to be worn on Annual Day. Next visit was to the veggie shop where I noticed that it was already 6:45 PM. I hit the Pani Puri cart immediately and gobbled in 2 plates of Pani Puri all by myself, when the mushy couple on the other side stared at me in between feeding each other. I reached their dance school at around 6:55 where I was caught by surprise when a familiar face greeted me. Guess who? It was S2‘s mom and co-incidentally S2 had also joined there just that day. I just couldn’t stop giggling thinking of breaking the news to Abbas that Mannu had got back her long-lost crush friend.ย They seemed to have enjoyed the class and were jumping and dancing on the streetย demonstratingย what they learnt while we waited for an auto.

Saturday morning we were supposed to drop them to school at 10 PM. After dropping them, Abbas and I went to Big Bazaar for the monthly grocery shopping. We also bought 2 t-shirts each for ourselves. ๐Ÿ˜€ We were supposed to pick Mantam at 12:30 PM. It was already 12:25 when we were at the billing counter and the guy ahead of us was freaking out at the cashier as his credit card was not gettingย accepted. To my surprise, he yelled out loud – “I have 2 lakhs credit limit, how can my card be denied?” and all this for a bill of less than 200 bucks. After making a huge scene out of nothing and wasting a lot of time, he brought out his other card and paid. We called Mantam’s teacher to inform that we will be a bit late but we were told to come after 45 minutes.

We then went to a Nursery and bought 4 plants for our li’l balcony. We came to the school and waited for Mantam. The teacher gave us their costume which we were supposed to dress them in next day. We went to the nearby fancy store to buy matching accessories for their dress and came home. Simply rested that day and applied Mehndi on our hands before hitting the bed.

Next morning, we got them all dressed up and left for the hall where the event was to be held. We dropped Mantam backstage and luckily got seats with a good view of the stage. The event started almost half an hour late and Abbas and I sat there bird watching. We seemed like two college going guys ogling at all girls,ย commentingย on their attire, behaviour, appearance and chuckling like crazy at our own nasty observations ๐Ÿ˜€

Mantam’s performance was part of a medley, started with Tammu dancing to Kolaveri (RM, r u listening?) with two boys. She danced better than the boys, one was busy looking at her and other was lost in his own world. Next came Mannu with a guy, dancing to Ringa Ringa. She gave no ‘Bhaav’ to the guy and behaved as if he was almost non-existing entity. After many more pairs or trios danced to different songs, they all came together and did a final jig.

There were other performances in between, and they came back again on stage to dance. This time both were together and the song was ‘Chanda Chamke Cham Cham’ from Fanaa. Although we knew they were performing twice, we were surprised to see them in different costumes this time. We went backstage after their performance, changed them into casuals, returned the costumes, gave them snacks to eat. All in all, the event was good but a few points that I thought the faculty should have worked upon:

1. The choice of songs could have been far better. I mean when you are doing a medley to portray different languages or culture of India, you can’t choose ‘Kolaveri’ for Tamil, ‘Boardu irada bus anu’ for Kannada, ‘Ringa Ringa’ for Telugu and a Punjabi version of Kolaveri for Bhangra!!!

2. A teacher should have stood in front of the stage facing kids and performed the steps for them to fix their attention on her. Younger kids were moving helter skelter and didn’t know what to do on stage and were crying their guts out. My heart went out to them ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

3. You can’t choreograph dance for play group kids with entry and exit of kids in between. You have to make them stand in their respective positions in the beginning before the curtains raise and just have them move their hands and feet at the max.

4. Although you ask parents to send snacks for kids, you don’t feed them anything and expect them to perform on empty stomach although they might have had just a breakfast.

5. You can’t arrange a magic show in between for parents to watch when it’s the kids who should have been the intended audience but they were backstage waiting for their turn to get done with their performance.

In the evening, the school faculty called us up to announce that the school and day care would be closed the next day. Hence, I worked from 7AM to 1 PM and went back home to release Abbas. That was the reason for my absence in the blogosphere. Thanks to SnS and RM for checking ๐Ÿ˜€

Leaving you with a few pics:

Tammu’s hands
Mannu’s hands
And mine
Before leaving home, all decked up

After the second performance

 
40 Comments

Posted by on February 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

40 responses to “Dance Class and Annual Day

  1. lifesong

    February 7, 2012 at 11:28 am

    Wow! Did you put that mehendi? Lovely patterns!!
    ManTam look so nice in their costumes ๐Ÿ™‚ Thats one of the best part of having girls. Dressing them up ๐Ÿ™‚
    Looks like they enjoyed a lot…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2012 at 2:01 pm

      Thanks LS ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, I put the Mehndi.

      Yes, shopping for boys is very boring na with limited choices and variety?

      They had a ball.

      Like

       
  2. Sugar and Spice

    February 7, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    Wow.. That sounds like an awesome time! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ The two of them look like dolls. And did you voice your concerns to the school management? It should make them more responsible.

    And hey.. Will you help me learn the art of putting mehendi, please.. I LOVE the one in your hand!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2012 at 2:03 pm

      I don’t get to meet the centre head often. I plan to send her an e-mail.

      Oh yes, I will. Come to Blore na? How do I virtually teach you? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Like

       
  3. summerscript

    February 7, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    So So So cuteeeeeeeeeeeeee they look!!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    love love love!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    What was mannu’s reaction on meeting S2 ?? ๐Ÿ˜€

    Ringa Ringa and kolaveri!! Oh God!!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2012 at 2:04 pm

      Mannu was indifferent, I was the one blushing this time around. She seems to have forgotten him already ๐Ÿ™„

      Tell me about it! WTK???

      Like

       
  4. R's Mom

    February 7, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    OMG!!!! they are rockstars yaar….I wonder how many children are there in the school for them to take part in TWO performances…in R’s school there are 40 children in each class and ALL of them were on stage :):)

    hugs hugs hugs and you put mehendi for them *Falls at feet..totally falls at feet*

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2012 at 2:06 pm

      Arre, their school has a total of some 70-80 kids. Most are younger ones. So, they had the elders among the lot perform multiple times…

      Blessings granted sweetheart. You come to Bengaluru. I’ll put on your and R’s palms as well ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

       
  5. Ashwathy

    February 7, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    OMG they both look soooooooooooooooo adorable in the pics ๐Ÿ™‚

    he danced better than the boys, one was busy looking at her and other was lost in his own world.
    So cute!! I started laughing as I read this part ๐Ÿ˜†

    She gave no โ€˜Bhaavโ€™ to the guy and behaved as if he was almost non-existing entity.
    Hahaha she’s starting young, isn’t she??

    Younger kids were moving helter skelter and didnโ€™t know what to do on stage and were crying their guts out.
    Poor things ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Must have been stage fright. There should be a law against forcing kids to do something like this!

    You canโ€™t arrange a magic show in between for parents to watch when itโ€™s the kids who should have been the intended audience but they were backstage waiting for their turn to get done with their performance.
    Talk about height of dumbness! ๐Ÿ™„ ๐Ÿ˜

    Hey what is this….first RM, now you…do these kids study in the same school or something. Did I miss something? Or do all these annual days in all schools come around the same time?
    Come to think of it, mine used to come in Jan too! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2012 at 2:15 pm

      Thanks Ashwathy ๐Ÿ™‚

      Infact, if I consider all the performances of the day, girls outperformed boys.

      Ya… I agree ๐Ÿ™„

      I know. But what baffled me is when other parents sitting in the audience were laughing at the sobbing kids. How can they be so mean???

      Hehe. I guess they were certain that there would be no audience left for the magic show had it been at the end ๐Ÿ˜€

      Apparently, most schools have their annual days during this time of the year. Coz after this, they have to let kids get back to studies to prepare for annual exams ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

       
  6. Sumana

    February 7, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    Wow Seema you are too talented like i always say. Genious such wonderful mehndi and hugs to the kids for sitting tight and getting it done. Kudos to them both for dancing and enjoying their annual day.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 8, 2012 at 12:25 pm

      You are way too generous with your compliments Sumana ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you.

      I generally put the Mehndi before putting them to sleep and let it dry before they hit the bed, wash it off in the morning.

      Like

       
  7. Bikram

    February 7, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    you got the PM – AM confused I think and i was thinking why would you go in middle of night to a nursery to pick plants ๐Ÿ™‚

    point 2 is a MUST .. I remember I was helping out with a dance number for a school which my best friends son goes to , he had requested me to teach bhangra so that what i did .. sat in front and as the Dhol changed beat i signaled to the kids too and it was PERFECT..

    and offcourse BHAAV nahin diya .. GOOOD why shud she .. NO need .. Well done to the little one ๐Ÿ™‚

    beautiful pictures .. they both look lovely , touchwood and GOD bless them both …

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 8, 2012 at 12:29 pm

      Oh yes, Thanks Bikram. You read all posts so attentively na?

      And in the last post, you said you could’t dance, huh!

      Thanks Bikram ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

       
      • Bikram

        February 13, 2012 at 4:10 pm

        yeah i was helping others Not dancing myself ๐Ÿ™‚ and bhangra is easy peasy all you have to do is get drunk and put ur hands up in air and jump to some punjabi song .. waise once one is drunk they will even dance to a Gazal I bet ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

         
        • Seema

          February 14, 2012 at 11:15 am

          When one is drunk, they can dance even without any music *Guffaws*

          Like

           
  8. Smitha

    February 7, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    I had no idea that you had another blog ๐Ÿ™‚

    First things first – Mantam are gorgeous! So very cute!! And they must have been such wonderful performers as well!

    It is sad though that an annual day that is supposed to be fun for the kids,might not be as great, just because the teachers/school did not take care of all the details.. But am sure ManTam had a ball! They look so so so gorgeous in all their outfits! And they sat still for the mehendi? I wish my almost 6 year old had that much patience!
    That Mehendi design is so good!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 8, 2012 at 12:32 pm

      Hehehe ๐Ÿ™‚ Welcome here.

      For younger kids, it was a torture. But Mantam enjoyed a lot, especially the dressing up part ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like I told Sumana, I put on Mehndi beforr putting them to sleep. It works out best for all our sanity to be intact.

      Thanks Smitha. Nice to have you around here too ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

       
  9. Laila

    February 7, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    They look so cute in the pics… very nice costume too ๐Ÿ™‚
    I totally agree with your opinion on the choice of songs….

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 8, 2012 at 12:34 pm

      Thanks Laila. Costume was handed over to us by the school faculty.

      You agree na? I’m glad ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

       
  10. My era

    February 7, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    OMG I can’t stop myself from falling in love with those two gorgeous ladies…they look sooooooooper sweet…..tight hugs to the little darlings ๐Ÿ˜€
    You should surely raise your very valid concerns to the school management.
    I was literally ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜† on reading the way the two cutie pies danced with their partners.
    Your supermarket is at a superb location giving you a chance to gobble two plates of Pani Puri in the middle of shopping ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Love thos mehndi patterns…am totally useless as far handeling a mehndi cone goes…I often wonder what I’ll do when Pari grows up ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 8, 2012 at 2:17 pm

      Thanks Era.

      Yes, I will raise my concerns soon.

      There is no Pani Pari section within the supermarket. The cart is right opposite it next to the veggie shop. ๐Ÿ˜€ Not just Pani Puri, there is a rajasthani shop where you get hot-off-the-kadai kachoris, samosas, jalebis, even pop corn, steamed sweet corn! How I wish we lived in that area ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      You send Pari to me when she grows up. I’d love to decorate her hands with Mehndi ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

       
  11. anisnest

    February 7, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    wowww… Mantam look gorgeous in those pictures.. Its so much fun to deck up girl kids na..
    Mehndi in your hand is awesome Seema..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 8, 2012 at 2:23 pm

      Yes, it’s one of the best parts of having daughters ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks Ani.

      Like

       
  12. AlwaysHappyKya

    February 8, 2012 at 3:40 am

    Kala teeka and all that !

    Those photos of the two pretty girls, took my breath away! ๐Ÿ™‚

    PS: I was disturbed by the selection of songs too. What were they thinking?!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 8, 2012 at 2:29 pm

      Thanks AHK ๐Ÿ˜€

      I know! One wrong choice of song would have been forgivable. When they were portraying India that too, I was at my wits end when I saw the medley of songs.

      Like

       
  13. NBose

    February 8, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    wow…the mehendi was tooo gud…we know the mamma is talented but i would also say the patience of ur angels who did not smudged the mehendi!!!!!

    their costumes r so pretty…errr one question….was that song ringa ringa is from the movie slumdog…or something else in Telegu…..actually my sis termed me dumb head wen we were reading this blog together and I said how can that song be played in school function..she thinks it’s some different song…..sorry if i mis-understood…plz clarify.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 10, 2012 at 5:23 pm

      Arrre, I put it on their hands at night before they go to bed. They don’t need to have patience when they are asleep na? And if you notice, the thumb that they suck in sleep is free of any Mehndi for their own benefit, u c?

      Arrre, Ringa ringa is the Telugu version of Salman Khan’s Dhinka Chika, rather the otehr way round.

      Why are you sorry and all? ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

       
  14. Comfy

    February 9, 2012 at 7:02 am

    I have so much to write! Where do I start? OK I just have to start from the stars of the blog.

    How adorable do they look? Oh my God! They are just too cute Seema. I wish I could hold them give them loads of kisses.

    Next stop – I call cheating. You cheated our sweet little girls. You apply mehndi with shading and all and they get simple designs. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Cheating cheating cheating. And no we will not talk about how much creativity it takes to make kid friendly designs. ๐Ÿ˜›

    err..I don’t know what to think about the song choices here. I am a little lost. Sorry ๐Ÿ˜

    Oh and our darlings are the best. Just look at them. Muah ManTam ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 10, 2012 at 5:33 pm

      Thank you so much dearie ๐Ÿ˜€

      What cheating? I ask them what they want to be drawn and oblige to their demands. (Errr… but when Mannu asked for an elephant, I had to pataofy her to change her mind to a fish)

      Mmmmuah back from Mantam to Comfy aunty, from me to Buzz and Bugz, okay?

      Like

       
  15. Mayborngemini

    February 10, 2012 at 2:39 am

    Your girls are sooooo cute….Those outfits are absouletly gorgoeus tooo.
    btw you are so talented……

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 10, 2012 at 5:33 pm

      Thanks MBG ๐Ÿ˜€ Welcome here.

      Like

       
  16. Comfy

    February 10, 2012 at 10:30 am

    Where did my comment go? *sulk sulk*

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 10, 2012 at 5:34 pm

      Sorry re. Caught up with work these days. Approved now.

      I can’t believe people actually come back to read my replied to their comments ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

       
  17. Deepsi

    February 12, 2012 at 12:09 am

    I am sorry I cannot identify who is Man and who is Tam, but one of them resemble u the moooooost, kind of a carbon copy,,, very very cute pics…I just loved their nakras n poses… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 13, 2012 at 11:45 am

      The one who resembles me is Mannu. Glad you liked them. When are you gonna post your trip chronicles?

      Like

       
  18. Scribby

    February 29, 2012 at 1:37 am

    such lovely dolls you have..muwah to them ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 1, 2012 at 10:51 am

      Muwahs right back to you ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

       
  19. Little Fingers

    March 1, 2012 at 5:48 am

    They look so adorable together..and the mehendi I am so Jealous, how can you good at so many things at same time ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 1, 2012 at 3:03 pm

      Thanks dear. Well, I’m just the jack of all trades and master of none.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
