RSS

Life without newspapers

20 Feb

These days, many of us are reading e-papers online but we haven’t grown to let go of our good old newspapers yet. Yesterday, I sat to paint varnish on my recently bought cane laundry basket. By habit, took a few old newspapers from the stack and laid them down in the balcony before proceeding with the task. As my mind wandered about what my next post for the bog should be, I came up with this. How would our life have been without the physical prints of news?

1. How would most of us begin our mornings with a cup of tea or coffee without reading our favourite newspapers?

2. What would a few people take to the loo to begin their morning rituals? (Don’t look at me like that. I am not among them) Carrying a laptop along would a bit too much, wouldn’t it?

3. What would we use to cover the racks of our wardrobes, almirahs, cabinets?

4. How would we eat our roasted peanuts from the roadside vendor?

5. What would the paan waala wrap the paans in when I take away for Ma?

6. How would the bangle storekeeper pack the set of bangles I buy from him?

7. On what do we spread the discs rolled out of balls of dough when I am cooking in the kitchen?

8. What would my Amma and Annamma have used to land their deep fried goodies on, to absorb the excess of oil?

9. How would I get my mirrors to look sparkling clean without the rubbing of newspaper bits against them?

10. How would I have picked up chunks of potty in the initial years of Mantam’s lives when no corner of our home was untouched by their droppings?

11. How would we have packed all the glassware while moving houses?

12. How would we help Mantam complete their scrap book project when the teacher asks to get pictures of junk food and healthy food?

13. How would I store my green chillies, half a kilo of which I buy at one shot, in the refrigerator?

14. How would I jump in joy and treasure the money that I earn on selling the old stack of neatly piled newspapers more than my monthly salary?

Tell me folks! What other use do you put the humble newspapers to?

 
30 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

30 responses to “Life without newspapers

  1. R's Mom

    February 20, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    No Newspapers = no bhelpuri, no sevpuri, no masala puri 😦 as well 🙂

    In the R household, it also means no eating pizzas, because all the pizzas we order in means that first lay the newspapers, then we all sit on it, and then open the pizza boxes and eat straight out of that 😉

    I cant think of any other use immediately….I used them for ALL the purposes stated above 🙂

    PS – Errrr….you take out newspapers and think of posting a blog post *Falls at feet*

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 21, 2012 at 1:10 pm

      How would you eat Masala puri in newspapers R ki Amma?

      Arrrey, I don’t get that free flow to write blogsposts re. I have to think 😦

      Like

       
  2. garima

    February 20, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    So true na the humble newspaper comes so handy and is readily used in everyone’s household…
    I remember as kids how we made boats and fans with the newspaper 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 21, 2012 at 1:11 pm

      Oh yaa… Boats I completely forgot. I need to make a few for Mantam and perhaps sail a few during rainy season.

      Like

       
  3. My era

    February 20, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    Great list Seema 😀
    No comments on #2 & #10 (though I am myself getting to the phase of #10 soon 😉 )
    I store mushrooms too in paper bags at all times.
    As far other uses of newspaper,err…I even use them as partitions among woolen clothes when we store them in boxes with odonil, it keeps bugs off the woolens 😀 😀

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 21, 2012 at 1:13 pm

      Welcome to Phase 10.

      Woolen clothes I wasn’t aware coz for the first 20 years in my life, I had never worn a sweater myself.

      Storing mushrooms also in paper bags is also new to me.

      Like

       
      • My era

        February 21, 2012 at 3:17 pm

        Never worn a sweater sounds so unusual to me 😆 but yeah the mushrooms stay crisp and fresh for longer. As soon as you buy them, make sure they are dry, transfer them to a paper bag and store in vegetable basket or door of the fridge, they’ll last for atleast 5 days w/o any wilting 😀 😀

        Like

         
        • Seema

          February 21, 2012 at 4:32 pm

          In my hometown, the minimum temperature during winter was hardly 20 degrees. So you can imagine why sweaters were alien to us.

          That’s a useful tip Era. Will have to try it.

          Like

           
  4. Tharani

    February 20, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    Hmmm you have summed it up all. The first thing i do with the news paper is to smell it. I love the fresh smell of the paper:)

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 21, 2012 at 1:13 pm

      Smell it, is it? I like smell of new books better 😀

      Like

       
  5. lostinmylilworld

    February 21, 2012 at 9:53 am

    All this things u just pointed out is so true abt the usage of the news papers..

    I hv few more additions-
    1. I use it to clean/wipe the car wind shields n the glass panes of my window along with the mirrors
    2. While we used to travel in train (Blore to Mysore in childhood) or any other train trips,News papers were must to clean the seats..
    4. We use it to spread it on the floor when we try our hand on some art work n paintings..
    5. when the churmuriwala wraps it in the newspaper I cant stop myself to read some news out of it after enjoying the yummy churmuris..
    I do not get time to read newspaper every day but my Weekend is not complete without a Newspaper in hand along with steaming hot Chai…

    Nice post Seema

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 21, 2012 at 1:15 pm

      All the uses you mentioned, I completely forgot while writing this post. And on 5, has it happened to you that you will find some interesting news but is half cut and you want to read more but can’t. Happened to me many many times.

      Like

       
      • lostinmylilworld

        February 21, 2012 at 7:38 pm

        oh yes very much.. so much so that I fail to either ind out the name of the newspaper/magazine or the date of publish.. Recently in a small hotel where me n Appi had our morning breakfast and were offered newspaper to wipe our hands instead of a tissue paper.. and I started reading some juicy news out of it…Thats when Appi told me that the news was v old and the date of the publish too… Purrrrrr..

        Like

         
        • Seema

          February 22, 2012 at 11:37 am

          Hahaha… Happened with me many times too 😀

          Like

           
  6. Greenboochi (GB)

    February 21, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Hey Seema.. I am new here.. came from ME’s blog.. just went through some of your posts… and I should say you have the cutest twins.. 🙂

    So many things are taken for granted and newspaper is one among them… its useful in numerous forms and you have listed all of them… *physical newspaper’s value understood* 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 21, 2012 at 1:55 pm

      Hey GB, welcome here.

      I guess I have missed many uses. I remembered many of them while reading the comments. One more is binding books. Nowadays the trend of brown paper has caught up. But otherwise, it used to be the humble newspapers again that came to rescue.

      Like

       
      • Greenboochi (GB)

        February 21, 2012 at 4:35 pm

        yes yes… my dad used to bind my text books with the newspapers.. and sometimes with some fancy papers to amuse me 🙂

        Like

         
        • Seema

          February 22, 2012 at 11:31 am

          Your Dad used to bind your books is it? And with newspaper bind, it was easy to identify the books by just looking at he cover no?

          Like

           
  7. Sugar and Spice

    February 21, 2012 at 11:03 am

    ‘How would I have picked up chunks of potty in the initial years of Mantam’s lives when no corner of our home was untouched by their droppings?’ – Heh. That cracked me up, Seema! 🙂 🙂

    I’ll add just one – Every time I change the old newspapers lining the cupboards, I read the old news and go on a nostalgic trip!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 21, 2012 at 1:56 pm

      So, the ones I listed are relevant to you too?

      Like

       
  8. Ashwathy

    February 21, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    1. I m sure Gen Z would not even be aware of such a habit.

    2. Yuck! 😛 Good thing the next generation won’t be carrying forward this one!

    3,4,5 and 7. Good points!

    6. He can give that in a cover also

    8. I use tissues

    9. A good cleaning liquid and cloth would do fine! 😛

    10. I don’t want to be rude or anything…but did you reallyyyy want to describe that? 🙄 😛

    13. I store my green chillies in the fridge. And never buy more than 5-6 at a time.

    14. U earn more than ur salary be selling old newspapers?? 😯

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 21, 2012 at 4:28 pm

      On 6. Those set waale bangles that they wrap in a parchment to keep the order in tact. Yeah, they can wrap in a polythene cover as well.
      8. I too use tissues. But back home my Amma and Annamma (granny) used to use newspapers.
      9. But somehow when it comes to mirrors, even if I use cleaning liquid and cloth, final rub with a newspaper scrap gives me satisfaction.
      10. Hahaha. Atleast I did not use adjectives like ‘beautiful’ or ‘stunning’ that I fake daily to my twins when they accomplish this task.
      13. Only 5-6 at a time?
      14. Arey, tell me one person who is content with his/her own salary? Budget for salary is made at least 2 weeks before it comes and it goes away before you blink. This is an adhoc income without any expectation or a fixed budget attached to it na? It gives me pleasure just the way you feel when you accidentally find a currency note in one of your old diaries or some corner of your wardrobe.

      Like

       
      • Ashwathy

        February 21, 2012 at 6:34 pm

        10. You say that when they do droppings all over the house??!!! :shock 😛

        13. Yup. The store is nearby so we go and buy them every 3-4 days.

        14. Haha in that sense! 🙂 ok!

        Like

         
        • Seema

          February 22, 2012 at 11:37 am

          10. Arey no. It’s been more than a year now since there are no droppings around the house. During those days, I used to threaten them that I would make them pick their droppings if they repeated it 😀 (And actually had Tammu do it twice using a newspaper scrap :evil:)

          Like

           
  9. anisnest

    February 22, 2012 at 2:38 am

    1. how do I dry those wet rice for murukku or red chllies/dhaniya for chilli/dhaniya powder on terrace?
    2. how do I make that paper mache project?

    lovely list Seema.. I have used paper for all the points you have mentioned in the post 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 22, 2012 at 11:41 am

      1. I made Murukky only once and it came out hard. Do you have any easy foolproof recipe? Nowadays I just microwave the ingredients I need to powder for 1 min on high and then grind in mixie. Saves all the time and effort.
      2. How did you do it? Tell me tell me.

      Like

       
      • anisnest

        February 23, 2012 at 1:32 am

        oops I meant amma 🙂 I have never done this Seema.. sorryyyy

        Like

         
        • Seema

          February 23, 2012 at 11:49 am

          Haha… Okay. Np 🙂

          Like

           
  10. Scribby

    February 29, 2012 at 1:29 am

    right now the biggest use of news paper is to dispose of the diapers 😛 more so reading of course I can’t do without the actual news paper..the epaper version just doesn’t appeal me!

    and my recent resurfaced love for crafts has me making news paper bags to carry stuff around 🙂

    and true about the joy of receiving that money after selling the old news papers to the raddiwalah !

    ditto on 3,9 and 11 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 1, 2012 at 10:50 am

      Hehe… Me too 🙂

      Yay, you could relate to many points 🙂

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
