RSS

Book Review – Urban Shots: The Love Collection

29 Mar

I recently came to know about the Book Review program at Blog Adda. I was amazed to know that they would send books for free and all we had to do was review the books in our blogs. Having resumed the hobby of reading lately, I grabbed the opportunity with both hands. Urban Shots: The Love Collection is the first book I received as part of this program. This is co-incidentally also my first book review on the blog.

I was having cold feet before reading the book because, I have had occasions where I picked a book but got bored midway and never finished it. But this book is one of those that I utterly enjoyed reading. I wished it would go on. Coz last week saw my mood in good spirit most of the time. Adrenaline that was almost on the verge of getting rusted had resurfaced. Abbas even had a nightmare that I was having an affair 🙂

The simplicity of the book effortlessly strikes a chord. Each story is short, crisp and easy to relate to. I felt the protagonists in most of the stories very familiar as if I had known them very closely. More so because the stories won’t seem fictional at all. They are very much real. Every story is unique in its own way and a few had unexpected twists at the climax. Not every story had a happy ending as is in real life. I specially liked the story ‘The Girl Friend’ which is innocently cute. I liked the honesty and practicality of a relationship between two people of different gender who might be committed in life. No two stories pry on the same plot or emotion. Most stories had atypical launch and unpredictable culmination. I could easily strike a connection with ‘Reality Bytes’ that involved online chatting and blogging as my love story too was highly virtual. J 32B was quite mysterious and fictitious. ‘In Love with a Stranger’ has a sort of ending that I have seen in real life among a few close friends. ‘Pause, Rewind, Play’ was uniquely different, right from its title to the way it was categorically written. ‘A Good Day’ carries a good moral to people who take a relationship for granted with time. I can go on and on… This book reminded me of a an old TV serial that used to be aired about a decade ago called ‘Rishtey’ where every week they came up with stories that were to linger and stay with one for a long time.

I would certainly pester Abbas to read this book as he chickens out at the thought of reading too many pages. This would be just apt for those who don’t like heavy reading. They can go through stories one at a time at their own leisurely pace. For those who love reading, do grab a copy as this book is sure going to tug you at the heart. 🙂

Thank you BlogAdda for giving me this opportunity to be a part of the program.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

18 responses to “Book Review – Urban Shots: The Love Collection

  1. R's Mom

    March 29, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    Wow! this sounds an interesting read…I should check it up 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 30, 2012 at 2:43 pm

      Ya ya, go ahead! Mera love story padhke hi you said that you’ll call RD to say you loved him. Keep at it babes. Y2G is not too far 😉

      Like

       
  2. Bikramjit Singh Mann

    March 29, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    Good one

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 30, 2012 at 2:44 pm

      Thanks Bikram 🙂

      Like

       
  3. anisnest

    March 29, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    cool… I will add this book to my already lonngg list of books 🙂

    Like

     
  4. lifeslittletwists

    March 30, 2012 at 10:56 am

    Hey! I read the review at MofRS also. Sounds like an interesting book. Will go buy it next time…I’ve been trying to nominate myself for this but so far havent got even a single book for review. Maybe im too late in nominating myself? 😦 What’s the trick?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 30, 2012 at 2:55 pm

      You have to first register yourself in BlogAdda and also put their badge on your blog. And then, request for whichever book they offer for review. You have to be quick I guess. They distribute on FCFS basis I believe. Why don’t you add their URL in your reader so that you get to know whenever a new book is up?

      Like

       
      • lifeslittletwists

        March 30, 2012 at 4:33 pm

        Bah! I have done all that already. And adding them on my reader? How? I dont even have a reader… I do all this from office na – so…

        Like

         
        • Seema

          March 30, 2012 at 5:54 pm

          Just login to reader.google.com using your gmail id. You can click on ‘Subscribe’ and add any website that you follow. Whenever that website is updated, you will be able to see, it’s just like mail inbox where you can see new/unread mails, once you read the post, it will automatically mark the post as read. You can also bookmark any post for future reference.

          And yes, it is accessible from work place too. Try it. I have all blogs that I follow subscribed in Reader. It saves a lot of time as you don’t have to hit a blog’s urls to check if the author has posted or not.

          Like

           
  5. Tharani

    April 2, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    Ok I know completely irrelevant to this post, but can I get the password for your love stories post if you don’t mind..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 4, 2012 at 11:53 pm

      I sent it to you Tharani.

      Like

       
  6. lifeslittletwists

    April 4, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    where have you vanished? No posts at all? Very busy?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 5, 2012 at 12:03 am

      Arey, Ma was hospitalized on Saturday re. Nothing serious. She is better now and will be discharged tomorrow. Wasn’t in the right frame of mind to post anything 😦

      Like

       
  7. ashreyamom

    April 9, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    hey seems its nice review.. even i got selected for this book review program. waiting to receive the book. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 9, 2012 at 2:21 pm

      Great! Did you too opt for this book?

      Like

       
      • ashreyamom

        April 9, 2012 at 3:11 pm

        no re.. i opted for chicken soup. :).. please send me the password for the love story post na..

        Like

         
        • Seema

          April 9, 2012 at 5:18 pm

          Oh ok… Will send via e-mail 🙂

          Like

           

Leave a Reply

 
