RSS

4 years already? Really??

09 Jun

Abbas,

I would like to wish the two of us a very happy birthday. Yes, we too had re-births four years ago. We became parents to two lives that are entrusted to us by fate. After the initial euphoria died down a bit and reality of nursing the babies after we came back home from the hospital struck, it wasn’t at all rosy. But we clung on to each other and sifted through the hurdles with ease. As individuals too, we underwent significant transformation, for the better of course!

Mantam,

How eagerly your Baba and Mamma were waiting to meet both of you, four years ago. When I first took you in my arms, I hardly had any thoughts in my mind. I was dumbfounded. After the operation’s pain began subsiding, when the time came to get back home, I had cold feet. I had no clue how we would be able to fare. Little did we know that we didn’t have to fret much. The two of you had such wonderful understanding with each other that if one cried, the other would keep quiet and innocently stare at the other one. I was able to join work as soon as I completed my maternity leave. You girls have always been very disciplined and I have never had to listen any complaint / issues with regard to you. You were like the ‘play –doh’s who bent and twisted yourself suitably to the way we molded you.  I keep getting flattered at the way I manage a full-time job and household with two of you in tow. But I know deep within my heart, that it’s not about me but about us that keeps us ticking.

There have been times when I have vented out my frustration over you for no fault of yours. My guilt gets two folded when both of you patiently wait for me to calm down and then come hand in hand to give me ‘Jaadu ki Jhappis’ which instantly cools me down. There have been instances when I have broken down in front of you unable to withstand my flowing emotions. All I needed to gain back my cheerful persona was your tiny little index fingers wiping those tears off my cheek. You leave me amazed when you detect that something is bothering me and say ‘Mamma, sad ho na! Happy ho jao plz’ I am bound to chuck the worries right out of my mind. You are my lifelines, my sweethearts! What would I have done without you two?

God must have given a lot of thought into making you two; for he has presented me with the two most important men in my life in the form of you two. Mannu, you are a miniature version of my Annu. The way you talk, walk, eat, sleep, everything!!! It’s astounding to see how you have taken after my father just the way I have. He would have been as proud of you as he was of me darling. I can see the same expression on your face when I give you mushy mango pieces and you bluntly refuse to eat them just the way your Grandpa would do. I am stunned to see the way you struggle to remove a piece of food article stuck between your teeth and my Annu’s image crosses my mind. You are my Annu in flesh and blood and I feel so proud to see how my Konkani Kamath legacy is flowing through you J

 Tammu, you balance the equation by taking after Ma. The way you pronounce ‘sit down’ as ‘s#it down’ or ‘Pyaar’ as ‘peeyaar’ is evidence enough that you have inherited the Bong accent via your genes. I am glad that you are like Ma and Abbas in various ways. The way you compromise effortlessly to cater to Mannu’s whims is exactly similar to Abbas or Ma in similar situations tolerating my idiosyncrasies. The similarities go to the extent of food habits too. I can always hit the jackpot in guessing if you would like a particular dish or not by having Abbas or Ma taste it. The most important of all is the way you seamlessly love me just like your Dad does. No matter what state you are in, a hug from me is all you need to return to peace. You make me feel so special Tammu J I had never imagined in my wildest dream that I would mean the world to someone before I met your Dad. And now, it’s you too!! Lucky me, huh!

You know my darlings, at times I fret if I would be able to provide you two with right things at the right time. But one thing I’m absolutely convinced about is the fact that you couldn’t have asked for a better Baba. You girls have changed him more than I could ever dream of. The way he showers you with his love, I would be lying if I don’t admit that I feel a tinge a jealousy in me during a few instances. He is crazily protective about his daughters and at times I get admonished for being strict with you too. I know I am the ‘Hitler Momma’ and torture with all my disciplinary policies. I don’t enjoy it myself. But then, it’s all for your own good, Beta. You will realize one day why Amma said or did what she did. I just want you to become good human beings…

I’m gonna abruptly end this letter as I am extremely sleepy. Gonna leave with a couple of pics from the celebration at home…

Triple Chocolate Mousse Cake with White Chocolate Ganache

Cake, Mango Pudding and Vermicelli Payasam

 
49 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

49 responses to “4 years already? Really??

  1. Sugar and Spice

    June 9, 2012 at 10:11 am

    Happy happy birthday, little darlings! 🙂 🙂 That was wonderfully put, Seema! Hope you guys had a great day! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:38 pm

      Yeah, we did. Thanks so much for the presents SnS. They love the dresses so much that they want to wear it all the time. Will send you the pics via e-mail.

      Like

       
  2. Bikramjit Singh Mann

    June 9, 2012 at 11:50 am

    Well I did not know about the birthday.. else o would have wished the little ones on the day itself.
    Here’s wishing both of you a very happy birthday and many many happy returns of the day.

    They both look lovely in their new dresses god bless and lot of love to the both of you littlens..

    I want that cakeeee yummmmyyyyyyyy

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:39 pm

      No probs Bikram.

      Thanks so much. And yeah, the cake appends itself to your list, thik hai?

      Like

       
  3. My Era

    June 9, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    A very Happy belated Birthday to Mantam 😀
    Tight hugs and lots of love to the little darlings and heartiest congratulations to Abbas and yourself 😀

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:41 pm

      Thank you so much Era.

      Have been out of touch with blogs lately. Hope you and Pari are doing good. I’m yet to clear my reader as it is almost about to choke. Will drop by to check your latest updates.

      Like

       
  4. anisnest

    June 9, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    wowww.. happy birthday to the whole family to the new parents and the girls.. mousse is mouth watering and the girls look adorable in the pictures.. May God bless them with all the happiness in their life..
    we mommies are the terrors always na 😦

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:42 pm

      Thanks Ani.

      Yeah, we are always the source of terror and we can’t help it right? 😀

      Like

       
  5. SR

    June 9, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    Belated Birthday wishes to Mantam.Both look adorable.Did you make the triple choc cake??Looks delicious.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:43 pm

      Thank you so much Smita.

      Yes yes I made it. 😀

      Like

       
  6. Mathangi Vijay

    June 9, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    Wish ManTam a very very Happy Birthday!! Hope the year is filled with all the happiness. They look Danny adorable in the pictures.. Err can u help me identify Mannu and Tammu individually in the snap? And the cake looks awesome and mouth watering. Hope you guys had a great celebration!!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:45 pm

      Hey Mathangi, thank you so much.

      Mannu is the one in green and purple, Tammu is the one in Blue. We had a great celebration, yes!

      Like

       
  7. greenboochi

    June 9, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    Lovely letter Seema.. 🙂 Happy B’day to the cutest darlings!! They look absolutely adorable *kaala tikka* the cake looks so yummyyyy! Hope Mantam enjoyed their day fully.. 🙂

    Wishing them both super fun, peace and happiness in all the years to come… 🙂

    LOL at your mention of ending the letter abruptly 😆

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:47 pm

      Mantam enjoyed a lot re.

      Thanks GB. Hahaha… yeah, I was dog tired that day. And my eyes refused to stay open at any cost.

      Like

       
  8. Ashwathy

    June 10, 2012 at 12:16 am

    Wow…time flies!!! Happy budday to Mantam….! 😀
    Looking forward to more Mantam-isms! 😉

    for he has presented me with the two most important men in my life in the form of you two
    two important MEN?? Annu, ok. But Ma???
    I’m confused 😦

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:50 pm

      I was so sleepy when I wrote the post re. Didn’t review properly. Sorry for the confusion.

      The equation is like this.

      Tammu resembles Abbas who resembles Ma (his mom)

      Mannu resembles Me who resembles Annu (my dad)

      So, for Abbas they represent two most important women in his life, Mannu-Me, Tammu-Ma

      For me, it’s vice versa, Tammu-Abbas, Mannu-Annu

      Did I confuse you furthermore?

      Like

       
  9. VJ

    June 10, 2012 at 6:52 am

    Happy bday cutie pies !!!
    May god bless you both with good health and happiness !
    Beautiful post Seema and they both adorable !

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:51 pm

      Thank a lot for your wishes VJ.

      Like

       
  10. NBose

    June 10, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    Belated happy B’day to sweet & smart Mannu & Tammu….wish you both with loads of happiness, good health & fun in your life ….Seema, please pass on my hugs & muahhh to them…Their B’day dress is very nice 😀

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:52 pm

      Thank you so much NB.

      Will certainly pass on your hugs and kisses to Mantam.

      Like

       
  11. summerscript

    June 11, 2012 at 8:22 am

    Many many more happy returns of the day to my little darlings!! 😀
    They look so so pretty in the pics! God Bless! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:52 pm

      Thank you thank you SS.

      Like

       
  12. R's Mom

    June 11, 2012 at 9:05 am

    Happy wala birthday babies..this aunty is the last in wishing you..but then…the love always is around 🙂

    R has made a special card for you guyss…will post it soon 🙂 may be over the weekend…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:54 pm

      No re, that’s fine.

      OMG, R is a sweetheart. Thank her on our behalf re.

      Like

       
  13. R's Mom

    June 11, 2012 at 9:06 am

    and that cake..is so damn droolworthy that ManTam, when you become teenagers and sulk at your momma, this masi is going to show you this picture and make you feel guilty as ever 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:54 pm

      Yeah yeah, I made it (preening)

      Hahaha, that was a good one 🙂

      Like

       
  14. Visha

    June 11, 2012 at 10:34 am

    A very happy birthday to Mantam and their parents 😉

    Loved both the letters..you write heart warming letters Seema 🙂

    Like

     
  15. lifesong

    June 11, 2012 at 10:55 am

    Belated B’day wishes to ManTam 🙂 God bless.

    Like

     
  16. ashreyamom

    June 11, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    happy b’day ManTam..
    both of them look so adorable.. i thought the skirt would be of full length like gagra.. 🙂
    lovely cake, i think that was cheese sandwich next to the cake.. really mouth watering.. 🙂
    did u put mehandi for the kids?? really nice design yar..
    once again b’day wishes to both the little beautiful angles..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:57 pm

      No no, it’s not full length. That’s what I liked about the costume. This is pretty much light and comfortable for kids. They get cranky and irritated when they wear heavy designer dresses.

      That was Mango pudding re. I cut it in a square shape.

      Yes, I put the mehendi. Thanks.

      Thanks AM

      Like

       
  17. Roopa

    June 11, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    Aww, such a lovely letter…Happy birthday Dear Mannu ,Tammu , you and Abbas too 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:57 pm

      Thanks a lot Roopa.

      Like

       
  18. chaitra

    June 11, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    Happyyy birthday ManTam..

    Like

     
  19. Nilufar Parveen

    June 12, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww u the bestest momma mantam cud ever have!! no doubt about it sweety! Happy birthday again mantam.. luv u all loads.. muuuuaaahhhsss

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:58 pm

      Awww. I wish! I am the hitler Momma re 😀

      Mmmuahs and love right back to you from Mantam.

      Like

       
  20. AA_Mom

    June 13, 2012 at 11:08 am

    A very happy birthday to the little angels!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:59 pm

      Thanks a lot AA MOm

      Like

       
  21. Sudeshna Chakraborti

    June 14, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    Loved the heart-warming account of your life. God bless this happy family.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 20, 2012 at 11:59 pm

      Glad you liked it Sudeshna. Welcome here.

      Hope to see you around.

      Like

       
  22. alwayshappykya

    June 15, 2012 at 3:58 am

    Heartiest of wishes to the two little dolls! They look absolutely pretty in their B’day dress and jewellery! You baked that droolicious cake, didn’t you? * appluads*

    It feels like a miracle to see our own parents in our children, isn’t it? And uncanny similarities like the ones you mentioned..take the breath away. I will whole heatedly wish your Annu gets to see his version and vice versa..very soon 🙂

    Lovely post.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 21, 2012 at 12:00 am

      Thanks AHK.

      Yeah, I baked that cake. Thanks for the applause *blushes and takes a bow*

      Amen to that. Thanks again.

      Like

       
  23. Scribby

    June 15, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    4 yearsssssss? where does time go,eh?

    and those lovely dresses…I’m so so glad these girls have same dresses… 🙂

    Happy 4th B’day to Man-Tam 🙂 and you too mummy papa 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 21, 2012 at 12:01 am

      Yeah 4 years!!! Phew…

      Yeah, I bought them all together. Did Chirpy wear hers? Send me a pic na plz?

      Thanks Scribs 😀

      Like

       
  24. manasaprasad

    October 29, 2014 at 2:25 pm

    Loved it! 🙂 I’m sure your daughters will cherish these letters! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
