RSS

A Vacation in Town – Part I

26 Jun

It seems eons ago that I wrote my last blog post… I missed the blogosphere like hell. Thanks to all you people who drop by, leave comments, send e-mails inquiring about my whereabouts when I’m absent for long, you all make this virtual world of mine seem more real than the original world J

To begin with, things have been crazy at work. For once, I got moved to a new seat which is more like a highway Dhaba. Any person who enters our floor gets the best view of my screen. To top it up, network policies have been revised to be more stringent. All blogs are blocked. Although I get to read blogs in my reader, I cannot comment. The cherry on the cake, however, is the work load which has been at it’s peak. I hardly find time to do anything other than work at work 😛

My vacation was over before I could blink. Ummi came down on 21st May, Monday. Mantam didn’t go to day-care that day. The next day when Abbas went to drop them, they began crying and asked to be dropped home (which happens on rare occasions) Ever since, they stayed back home as it was their school vacation anyway. They sang, danced, played and had fun all day at home.

On June 2nd, Bhabi’s parents (Kaku and Kakima) arrived. They came with a truck load of goodies staring from mangoes, amaranthus leaves, Malabar spinach, pointed gourd, poppy seeds, flavoured tea, home made pickle of home grown mangoes, cumin seeds, rasagullas. As soon as they unpacked all these stuff, Abbas said “Let’s go to HAL market to do some shopping”. All of us hopped into Bulu and came back with varieties of fish, meat and veggies. Abbas’s friends from Kolkata were supposed to come for lunch. So after coming back home, I started cooking the lunch. After lunch, we all began playing Uno. Imagine 8 people playing together. Mantam disliked to be left out. So I gave an old pack of cards to them to play but they wanted to play with us. I again cooked dinner for these many people as most of the food was over in the afternoon 😛 Post dinner Abbas dropped his friends home.

Next morning, we had breakfast and I made payasam for Kaku’s birthday. Then we set out to have lunch outside. Abbas had invited his friends too to join us. We had an amazing lunch in an even more amusing company. From there we went to do some more shopping and headed back home. Abbas and I were to report back to work from next day morning.

The next 4 days seemed hard to pass away. Mantam’s birthday arrived on 8th. We had taken off starting that day. I woke up before everyone else and proceeded to make the birthday cake directly. The cake had to be made in stages. Preparation, baking, cooling, preparing the mousse, refrigerating it to set, assembling the layers and finally preparing the ganache, decorating and it letting it set took a great deal of time and efforts. Apart from this, I also made Mutton Biryani, Egg Curry, Boondi Raita, Vermicelli Payasam and Mango Pudding.

After cutting the cake and gorging on the lunch, we were all drop dead tired. We slept like logs only to wake up at around 6 in the evening. We all just had the leftovers  that night. That was it about the birthday celebrations.

Next morning, the troop set out to watch Madagascar 3 in 3D. It was the first time for Kaku and Kakima to watch 3D movies and we all enjoyed a lot. From there we went to a Chinese restaurant to hog some uber yummy delicacies. We are a Chinese Food crazy family. After a heavy lunch, we drove off to Lalbagh. Mango and Jackfruit Mela was put up there. After spending some time in Lalbagh, we came back home with 5 kilos of Mangoes. I made Rice, Dal, Alu Bharta and Fish Fry for dinner.

Next day we simply took rest at home. In the evening we beagn dress rehearsal as we were going to Wonderla* on Monday. Ma and Kakima were trying on my Salwar Kameezes. We were laughing our guts out when Ma put on my Jeans and then asked me to click a picture while demanding to wear sunglasses during the photoshoot. Kakima also wore my dress and gave superb poses for clicks.

On Monday we started from home at around 9 AM but reached Wonderla only at 12 noon….

*Wonderla – Amusement par in Bangalore

 
30 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

30 responses to “A Vacation in Town – Part I

  1. R's Mom

    June 26, 2012 at 9:10 am

    That food..that food..you Seema, are a super woman…ManTam are like the luckiest kids on earth!!!

    What fun na..waiting for part 2 now 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 29, 2012 at 12:20 am

      I’m very much human re RM.

      Yeha, just not finding time to draft the second part 😦

      Like

       
  2. Mathangi Vijay

    June 26, 2012 at 9:14 am

    Ooh Seema.. You seemed to have had a lot of fun in the absence from Blogosphere.. But missed Mantam a lot here.. That looked like some really awesome family get together.. Playing Uno.. visit to Wonderla.. Family photo shoot.. All sounded wonderful..
    And I near fainted at the amount of cooking you have done.. And on reading the cake preparation I just fell down from my chair.. For the uninitiated like me in baking, it seemed like climbing Mt.Everest.
    Anyway I’m glad that you are back here!! Some pictures of the trips please..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 29, 2012 at 12:22 am

      What?? You missed Mantam only? What about me huh?

      For beginners the cake preparation might seem complicated, but trust me once you get the hang of it, it’s a breeze.

      Yes, will put up the pics with Part 2 post

      Like

       
  3. Sumana

    June 26, 2012 at 9:21 am

    That sound like fun. Seema you are a robot in human form. Man, baking cooking for so many people, hats off to you. Belated birthday wishes to Mantam.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 29, 2012 at 12:23 am

      Arey, I was not cooking the same quantity daily na? We even gorged on yummy food cooked by Kakima. We even had Kaku making his famous Piyaaji for all of us… Well, I’m disclosing too much… Wait for the next part to be published.

      Like

       
  4. greenboochi

    June 26, 2012 at 9:49 am

    Welcome back Seema… feels so good to read a post from you after a long time… 🙂 Now, I assume there is a next part to this.. awaiting it eagerly 😀

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 29, 2012 at 12:24 am

      Hey thanks GB. Yes yes, there is next part… but I’m yet to draft it. Will do over the weekend.

      Like

       
  5. Visha

    June 26, 2012 at 10:26 am

    Now I know whom to call out for advices when I have guests coming home 😉

    Superb menu items Seema!

    oh..you guys went to Wonderla..yaaay…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 29, 2012 at 12:24 am

      Oh sure. I would be happy to help.

      Yeah, we had a blast in Wonderla.

      Like

       
  6. My Era

    June 26, 2012 at 11:45 am

    Wow! great to have you back and to learn you’ve been busy but having a good time 😀
    So much food and so much fun…Mantam must be absolutely loving it all 🙂
    Waiting for the next part 😀

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 29, 2012 at 12:26 am

      Thanks Era. Oh yeah, they had a gala time with all the pampering, no restrictions from parents in front of so many grand parents….

      Will write over the weekend.

      Like

       
  7. Ashwathy

    June 26, 2012 at 2:34 pm

    You made the birthday cake from scratch??? *gasp* 😯 And then u also made Mutton Biryani, Egg Curry, Boondi Raita, Vermicelli Payasam and Mango Pudding???
    * Faints*. *Recovers, falls at feet*
    You are toh God wonly! 😐

    How was Madagascar 3D? We have been planning to see it…never got around to see it. Heard it’s good 🙂

    Same pinch… we are a Chinese crazy family too! 😀 Well, me particularly, and husband also doesn’t mind.

    Rice, Dal, Alu Bharta and Fish Fry for dinner.
    Again??? Aiyoo! *Faints again*

    We were laughing our guts out when Ma put on my Jeans and then asked me to click a picture while demanding to wear sunglasses during the photoshoot. Kakima also wore my dress and gave superb poses for clicks.
    LOL! 😀 That should have been a riot!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 29, 2012 at 12:30 am

      Yes yes, I made all of that and we had lunch at 3:30 PM 😳

      Madagascar 3 is good re. We all liked it a lot. Go watch it.

      Yeah, I remember reading about your love for Chinese food somewhere.

      Arey, why faint? Rice, Dal, Alu Bharta and Fish Fry for dinner is the easiest to fix na?

      It sure was a riot. Will try to post some pics in the next post.

      Like

       
      • Ashwathy

        June 29, 2012 at 10:01 am

        Yep watched Madagascar 3 last night …caught it before it went out of the theatres by today. It was a total riot! 😀 😀

        Haha you must have read about the Chinese bit about R’smom blog where we were fighting and debating about healthy food and eating outside! :mrgreen: Damn, I wish there was a way to tag people here like on FB to draw their attention to this! 😛

        Like

         
        • Seema

          July 29, 2012 at 11:05 pm

          Yup yup, I had read it in RM’s blog… Hehe yes, tagging would have made life lot easier for bloggers na?

          Like

           
  8. Sreetama

    June 27, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    Hey Seema it’s been long since I visited your blog. Wishing Man Tam a very happy belated birthday! Good to know u had such awesome time! Waiting for the next parts!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 29, 2012 at 12:31 am

      Hi Sreetama, great to see you back here re.

      Yeah, will post pretty soon.

      Like

       
  9. ashreyamom

    June 27, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    wow… i got struck with the word wonder-la.. now i dont remember what i read in ur post but just in the water land already in the wave pool.. hope kids too enjoyed in water..
    u made the cake all by urself.. u are great yar.. some day so share the briyani recipe too.. yes, when u have to spend time with ur dear once, time just flies always

    Like

     
  10. Scribby

    June 28, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    wow this sounds so much fun Seema…

    and damn the seat change and Internet usage policies 😦 😦 😦 ask your HR to talk to me… I’ll give some gyaan to him/her 😛

    Like

     
    • Seema

      June 29, 2012 at 12:36 am

      Sure, will give the HR your contact details re… 😀

      Like

       
  11. summerscript

    June 29, 2012 at 9:54 am

    Wowwww… so much food!!!! I agree with RM! You are super woman!! 😀 NO doubt!! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      July 29, 2012 at 11:03 pm

      Arey nahi nahi! I love to eat re… That’s why the craziness for food. I love to cook, serve and see the satisfaction on people’s face too 🙂

      Like

       
  12. ashreyamom

    June 29, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    so here is a surprise..
    please accept my this award to u..
    http://ashreyamom.wordpress.com/2012/06/29/first-award-2/#comment-504

    Like

     
    • Seema

      July 29, 2012 at 11:07 pm

      Hey AM, thank you so much for the award! I’m honoured 🙂

      Like

       
  13. Bikramjit Singh Mann

    June 29, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    I want to be as lucky as the girlsssssssssssss, I want all that fooood toooooooooooo ..
    so does that mean i missed the birthday and you did not invite me . now I am sad

    Like

     
    • Seema

      July 29, 2012 at 11:08 pm

      That means that you list gets increased yet again and you will have to visit Blore soon to have me serve you all that food 🙂

      Like

       
  14. Pepper

    July 1, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    I can’t get over the food. I just can’t.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
