RSS

Bankster – Book Review

14 Dec

Before beginning this post, I would like to express my sincere apologies to BlogAdda for the delay in posting this review. I was out of station and the courier was lying in my office mailroom for quite long. I did not receive any mail from Blogadda. Some days back when I enquired the mailroom as I was expecting some other package, I got hold of this as well.

Coming to the book, it is one of the first banking domain related literary pieces that I have laid my hands upon. The story is set in Angola, Kerala and Mumbai. The main action though happens in Mumbai  where reputation of a Global Bank is at stake when its employees die mysterious deaths one after another. Parallel to this, the author narrates the happenings at Angola where a covert CIA agent is about to exchange weapons for blood diamonds. Also the story of Krishna Menon unfolds in Devikulam, Kerala where he is doing whatever it takes to fulfil a promise made to his dying son.

Honestly, initial third of the book did not have me hooked to it. Because, the three plots seemed to be rather disconnected and did not give me the thrill of even guessing what could be the reason the author chose to put them together in a book. Mid way into the book also had me clueless as to how these disjoint stories are going to intersect. Only when I entered the last third, did the pieces of a jigsaw puzzle gradually began falling into perspective. The book got unputdownable for me ever since Karan Panjabi made an entry.

When Karan realizes that he has stumbled upon a global conspiracy at his ex-organization, he determines to solve the secrecy behind the recent deaths. His resolve for decrypt the clandestine facts grew stronger when the CEO of the bank stands by his side. He has only thirty six hours to unravel the tangles. How will he discover who is behind these killings and what is their motive?

Ravi Subramaniam is known as the John Grisham of Banking. I was elated to receive an autographed copy of the book from BlogAdda. Although I am not too familiar with the internal banking procedures or the way it functions, I could easily comprehend the facets in banking. Ravi’s simple and clear cut style of writing makes even a layman grasp the banking aspects effortlessly. I liked the way it all ended. The author has automatically answered the questions that could’ve spurted in a reader’s mind through the course of the book.

The only let down for me in this book was the beginning. It was as though the author spent too much time setting the stage for the three plots. I lost my interest at a certain point when I couldn’t figure anything out. But curiosity took over and I had to drag myself till Karan Panjabi took over. It was a breeze since then and I didn’t realize the book had come to an end before I knew it.

This review is a part of the <a href=”http://blog.blogadda.com/2011/05/04/indian-bloggers-book-reviews” target=”_blank” > Book Reviews Program </a> at <ahref=”http://www.blogadda.com“>BlogAdda.com </a>. Participate now to get free books!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
