RSS

And the marathon begins…

01 Jan

WordPress sent me the statistics for 2012 and all I wanted to do was crawl under a rock and never come back. I hang my head in shame to admit that my beloved readers would have visited my space more often than I did! When I look back to think what kept me away, I donโ€™t have a strong alibi to justify my absence. I have been busy with umpteen things at hand but then I was this busy even earlier when I regularly blogged. The only change was that I would blog from work which Iโ€™m unable to these days. When RS proposed a blogging marathon, I grabbed it with both hands. This had to be my come back vehicle. (Hopes to live up to complete the month long marathon without any glitches)

To fill in the gap, let me list out all that I plan to write about in the coming posts:

  1. Of course Mantamisms, I have mentally made notes of several of them already. They are the USP of this blog after all ๐Ÿ˜€
  2. Our Goa trip during Diwali, it might serve as fodder for 2-3 days at least.
  3. Mantamโ€™s school hunt in Bangalore! That was an experience worth jotting down for posterity
  4. Few tips on parenting that I took away from a parenting workshop I attended some time back
  5. Picture only posts (which will be my breathers on days Iโ€™m unable to type or think) of our birds, plants, food and lots of craft that I made in the last couple of months.

Apart from these, random posts will also fill in impromptu. You must be thinking why Iโ€™m bragging ahead about what Iโ€™m going to post! This is more a reminder to myself to not do the disappearing act midway!!!

Before I conclude this post, let me leave you with a few pics of Black Forest Gateau I prepared to celebrate Abbasโ€™s birthday. This is the first time my four layered cake hasnโ€™t toppled. My heart missed a beat when Abbas cut into it and the layers were perfect. I have been preening all day and kept on opening the fridge to glance at the leftover cake and itโ€™s layersโ€ฆย  Also on the menu today was Biryani, Tikka Kebabs, Raita, Raw Mango Chutney and Payasam. And the birthday boy has started subtracting a year from his age from the past couple of years. Even Ma had called today and she pretends to have forgotten her basic Maths while counting her sonโ€™s age, Gah!!!

Signing off for today wishing all of us a safer and just country to live in. With all the recent turn of events, I donโ€™t have the heart to wish anyone a happy new year.

DSC03104

DSC03075

 

 

 

DSC03076

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSC03091

 
24 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

24 responses to “And the marathon begins…

  1. Zephyr

    January 1, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    Hey, that is a terrific cake you have baked! And coming from someone who doesn’t like black forest, that is something ๐Ÿ™‚ So now I will be getting daily updates from you too? Wow! Actually the readers who keep up with you marathoners should get some award too, right?

    You are wrong. With all the terrible things happening in the country, we should wish everyone a happy new year — hope springs eternal in the human breast, doesn’t it? So here’s wishing you all the very best in the new year. Hugs.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 2, 2013 at 11:00 am

      Awww, knowing that you don’t like black forest, your comment did make my day. Thank you so much.

      Yeah, the readers have to bear the brunt ๐Ÿ˜€

      Yup you’re right. Thank you and sending you loads of good wishes for a happy new year. And it is great to have you around here Zephyr.

      Like

       
  2. Tharani

    January 1, 2013 at 8:58 pm

    wow wow Seema i want that cake:-( It just looks so yummy. A very happy birthday to Abbas

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 2, 2013 at 11:01 am

      Thanks Tharani. Come home na? Will save you a slice ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

       
  3. Sreetama

    January 1, 2013 at 10:21 pm

    Happy new year 2013 all of you! Loved the pics! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 2, 2013 at 11:01 am

      Happy new year Sreetama. Thank you

      Like

       
  4. anisnest

    January 1, 2013 at 10:35 pm

    wishing you an your a peaceful an wonderful year ahead..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 2, 2013 at 11:02 am

      Thanks Ani. Loads of good wishes for a great year ahead to you and your family as well. Love to Adi.

      Like

       
  5. Pepper

    January 1, 2013 at 10:51 pm

    I want that cake. Now. What do I do? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Belated birthday wishes to Abbas. I’ll be glad to see more of you here.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 2, 2013 at 11:03 am

      Come to Bangalore, quick! I still have it in my fridge.

      Yay yay yay, feels so good to see I still have readers ๐Ÿ˜› (Does a happy jig)

      Like

       
  6. R's Mom

    January 2, 2013 at 9:23 am

    oh my God! what a come back post Seema ๐Ÿ™‚

    loved loved loved the pictures..your topics ot blog about and of course Happy wala Birthday to my favorite Abbas bhai ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 2, 2013 at 11:04 am

      Thank you madam.

      Yeah Abbas bhai and RM have signed a mutual admiration contract or what???

      Like

       
  7. summerscript

    January 2, 2013 at 10:52 am

    Waiting to read all your posts ๐Ÿ™‚
    and the cake – ssslurp ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

     
    • summerscript

      January 2, 2013 at 10:53 am

      Belated Birthday wishes to Abbas ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

       
      • Seema

        January 2, 2013 at 11:06 am

        Will pass on your wishes to him SS. Thank you

        Like

         
    • Seema

      January 2, 2013 at 11:05 am

      Me too waiting to read you. Loved your today’s post. I said it already at your space, didn’t I?

      Like

       
  8. lampnitslight

    January 2, 2013 at 11:17 am

    awesome cake…its so good looks like outsourced from some 5 star hotel bakery.
    Best wishes to Abbas on his birthday…waiting to read about mantam ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 3, 2013 at 10:07 am

      Arey Garima! You are too generous with your compliments dear ๐Ÿ˜€

      Wished him on your behalf, thank you

      Like

       
  9. lostinmylilworld

    January 2, 2013 at 11:52 am

    Belated B’day wishes to Abbas Bhai and same pinch on the blog-a-Thon.. Hammm i too hv to come up with 30 more posts.. he he ๐Ÿ™‚ looking frwd for more of Manthamism.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 3, 2013 at 10:08 am

      Yeah! But I’m loving it now. Been thinking of posts all the time for the past two days ๐Ÿ™„

      Like

       
  10. Bikramjit Singh Mann

    January 2, 2013 at 4:06 pm

    Many happy returns of the day to Abbas Sir, sorry it is belated .. that is an awesome cake..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 18, 2013 at 4:59 pm

      Thanks Bikram. Passed on your wishes to him and he says ‘Thank you’

      Like

       
  11. chattywren

    January 3, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    The cake looks super good. I’ve tried it once but with two layers only. Best wishes for the blog-a-thon and a Happy New Year.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 18, 2013 at 5:12 pm

      Hey thanks chattywren. Happy new year to you too.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
