RSS

My first ever Bake Sale

04 Jan

Mantam’s school diary had a message for parents that the school would be hosting a Diwali Mela. Interested parents could put up stalls. I proposed to sell my baked goodies. Abbas suggested that I better go for something else that would not strain me coz we I would be working that day. To add to it, we were to start our travel for Goa the very next morning at 3 AM. Abbas came up with the idea of having a Mehndi stall so that I didn’t have to stress myself preparing for it. I could simply walk in with a few Mehndi cones and be done with it. Me being me, known to stretch myself till the limit, decided to have a bake-cum-mehndi stall. I could put baked goodies for sale and simultaneously go about Mehndi art too! I agree it was too strenuous for me, but then I enjoyed it. Although the expected crowd didn’t turn up, the sale went quite well. I treasure those 610 bucks I made that day more than my salary. That money came out of something I really enjoyed doing. I envy those who have their hobbies to earn their bread and butter. Sooner or later, I hope to get there too…..

Posting few pics of the sale:

Rainbow cake

Rainbow cake

Vanilla Cupcakes

Vanilla Cupcakes

 

My stall

My stall

Phew! Just in time to post today’s post!!! (I thought I would miss out on posting today)

 
18 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

18 responses to “My first ever Bake Sale

  1. ~S

    January 4, 2013 at 11:16 pm

    I never cease to be amazed at your multi tasking & time management skills!! You should do a post on that too, just so people like me can benefit from it πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2013 at 11:12 pm

      Thanks S. I don’t think I’m a pro in that. Just that I’m recording achievements that are worth bragging about. I too have my set of slips and misses re. I guess I must start writing about them too πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  2. anisnest

    January 4, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    cool.. WTG Seema.. I have a friend who follows his passion (art) for his living and I had never seized to admire him.. Its an amazing feel to follow the passion so religiously.. wishing you all the very best..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2013 at 11:30 pm

      Yeah, true… Thanks Ani πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  3. Sugar and Spice

    January 5, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    Looks delicious. Just want to come and gorge on them! πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2013 at 11:34 pm

      Yeah, I’m yet to hear on your Blore visiting plan πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  4. lostinmylilworld

    January 5, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    Wow dat was a fantastic idea…in fact so much talented person like u should go ahead with this in future… Without much or any talent I m so tempted by doing a living by art n stuff so why not u super mom… And seriously if u hv any such solid plans in the future pls pls count on me,, I will defenetely be of some help
    I am waiting t do something like this n come out of this IT world…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2013 at 11:36 pm

      I have dreams not plans… So not sure how I’ll reach them. Trying to lay a foundation and begin slowly towards achieving it. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for all the compliments re…

      Like

       
  5. lifeslittletwists

    January 5, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    Seema! Yaar where are your feet rey?!!! Where do you get the josh and energy from? OMG! Im so in awe of you…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2013 at 11:38 pm

      Kya karein… Pagal Pankti bhi zaroori hai yaar πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  6. R's Mom

    January 6, 2013 at 11:21 am

    Thats great Seema..may be you should think about it..starting your own bakery sale or something…may be sometime later in life..but then following your passion would be super aint it?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 21, 2013 at 8:03 am

      Yeah… I have started to take orders from friends / acquaintances for now. Let us see where I land up in the years to come πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  7. summerscript

    January 7, 2013 at 8:51 am

    Superwoman Seema!! I don’t think I will ever have so much enthu ! You are great πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 21, 2013 at 8:10 am

      Too much enthu is hazardous too at times πŸ™‚ I realize only after I get too strained, but I don’t seem to learn from the experience. I enjoy the moment and forget about the consequences :-)… Abbas stays you are still young, so you will not understand now. You stretch yourself beyond limit and one fine morning, you will wake up as a Buddhi Amma (Old woman) πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  8. Sreetama

    January 8, 2013 at 1:59 pm

    Oh your energy & passion are absolutely commendable! Loved the rainbow cake & muffins! How do u bring the colours in the cake?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 21, 2013 at 8:24 am

      Different edible food colours are available. I divided the normal vanilla batter into 4 parts and mixed one colour in portion. I had only 4 colours on hand.

      Like

       
  9. manasaprasad

    October 24, 2014 at 2:57 pm

    U are super-talented seema! So much to learn from u!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 25, 2014 at 6:53 am

      Thanks Manu πŸ™‚ The feeling is mutual

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
