RSS

A tag to see off 2012…

05 Jan

Thank you RM for passing on this tag coz I am absolutely in no state to conjure up a post (I’m so not used to blogging while I’m not at work :wink:)

Here’s a tag which has questions related to 2012. I haven’t yet done a dedicated post to say good bye to the year that just passed by. So this is a great way to do it, me thinks…

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?

I did fishing in Goa. Although I hail from coastal region, I had never done this before. I loved the experience coz I actually did succeed in catching 2 fishes.

2. Did you keep your new years resolutions, and will you make more for next?

I do not make any resolutions during the new year. The thought of abiding by them for 365 days scares the sh*t out of me 😦

3. What date from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

2nd May 2012 was our wedding anniversary when I went out of the way to surprise Abbas which turned out to be a shocker. He has given me an ultimatum to never try to throw him a surprise ever again. I rest my case. You may read about it here

4. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

I read lots of books in 2012, a hobby that was long forgotten was revived and I relished every bit of it.

5. What was your biggest failure?

Hmmm… Has been on the fitness front. I have added on pounds to my already bulky frame. Any attempt towards resisting the temptation to gorge on goodies gets chucked out of the window and the calories simply find an easy way to deposit on my waist line 😦

6. Did you suffer illness?

Touchwood! Apart from infrequent cold, cough and headaches, this year has been a blessing to me and the family.

7. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

All those politicians, law-breakersmakers etc who make demeaning statements towards women and try to defend heinous crimes committed by men. It is so depressing to see the patriarchal values imbibed so strongly in their roots.

8. Where did most of your money go? 

Most of my our money went into getting Mantam admitted to their school.

9. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

I get excited about every trifle thing I do. But I was very excited about our Goa trip this year. Coz the last time I was in Goa, I had dreamt of going there with Abbas and imagined parasailing with him. It was a dream come true although there was an added bonus of twins thrown in to make it even more enjoyable.

10. What song will always remind you of 2012? 

Mmmm… that’s a difficult one to answer as I have loads of songs on my mind. But I would pick ‘Gangnam style’ as Mantam have played this one on loop atleast 2012 times and danced to it 😦

11. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?

This time last year we came back from a trip to Delhi with the whole family. This time, Bhaiyya and family were in Kolkata but we couldn’t join them. So we were sad about it.

12. What do you wish you’d done more of?

 I wish I had blogged more often and not neglected this virtual space of mine. I hope to be more regular in 2013

13. What do you wish you’d done less of?

I wish I had used less of the snooze button when my morning alarm went off which resulted in lot of chain reactions. The worst consequence has been Mantam reaching school late and me going on guilt trip each time 😦 (Those of you who are in awe of me and and my time management skills, I am not a supermom, I’m just another human being who has my own set of frailties)

14. Did you fall in love in 2012?

Oh yes! With Abbas, Mantam, Potla Potli, our plants and all you readers and blog friends of mine who are still reading me and have rejoiced on my comeback even though I was virtually absent for a larger duration of this year…

15. What/Who was your greatest musical discovery? 

Okay, I am bragging yet again about one more achievement of mine in 2012. But then this deserves a mention in this blog. In my previous company, they had this in-house band which performs every Monday for an hour during the lunch hour. I have always wanted to join them and perform at least once but I just couldn’t muster the courage to set foot on stage and face so many eyes staring at me… After an year and a quarter of procrastinating I finally quit the organization burying the desire deep inside me. In my current company, they hosted a Karaoke event and I actually sang a song. Tragedy was that I had practised this song “Darrling” from the movie Saat Khoon Maaf and taken the Karaoke track in a pen drive but they did not have a provision for using pen drives. They had a Karaoke box and I could choose from the set of tracks they had. I almost gave it up as I didn’t want to make a fool of myself singing something on a whim. And then all of a sudden, I dunno what happened to me. I told myself that I had been shying away for a long time and that it was a ‘now or never’ situation for me. I chose the song “Raat Shabnami” by Asha Bhonsle and got done with it. I could sense that my voice was shivering initially but after the Mukhda, it went quite smoothly. I finally broke that stage fear. Yipppeee

16. What did you want and get?

I wanted a lampshade for our bedroom, by whose side I would keep my book just before sleeping. I got one which is completely made of sea shells and I love it…

17. What did you want and not get?

I wanted to buy this Khamba which converts household wet waste into compost. Abbas is delaying it and has promised to buy me one after we change our home before Mantam’s next academic year begins. 

18. What was your favourite film of this year?

I watched lots of movies this year and have a list of movies that are my favourites – Life of Pi, Kahaani, OMG, Barfi, English Vinglish, Talaash, Vicky Donor….

19. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

We went for a circus to celebrate my dinner, along with a cake sent by Bhaiyya Bhabi and a yummilious dinner! Wrote about it here

20. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? – Same as 12.

21. What kept you sane?

Reading and cooking. That one hour of time I get to spend all alone before Mantam and Abbas wake up , if I get to sip my tea peacefully amidst the cooking rush on weekdays, it sure makes my day.

22. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012.

  • Respect your children’s choices, moods and preferences. You will see them reciprocating it.

23. Which new places did you visit in 2012? – No I didn’t visit any new place in 2012.

24. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year

‘Hum jo chalne lage hain, chalne lage hain yeh raaste…. Ahaahaa… Manzil se behetar lagne lage hain ye raaste’

25. Tag some bloggers you would love to read these answers from –

I would leave it open to any one of you who would like to take it up…

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

6 responses to “A tag to see off 2012…

  1. lifeslittletwists

    January 6, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    I just posted my 2012.maybe i will take up the tag again…and i hope this marathon will prompt you to blog regularly…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 21, 2013 at 8:04 am

      I thought so too. But after the marathon, haven’t posted even once 😦 You too have been off blogs na? Missing Chutku updates 😦

      Like

       
  2. R's Mom

    January 7, 2013 at 9:54 am

    oh I loved reading this..and still repenting not meeting you in Goa..thanks for that link about the compost..amma was looking at that I think!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 21, 2013 at 8:11 am

      Did you share the link with Amma. Read your post about her being second in district and State re… Kudos to her. Pass on my congos to her.

      Like

       
  3. Sreetama

    January 8, 2013 at 1:23 pm

    Good review. Amen to all your wishes! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 21, 2013 at 8:19 am

      Thank you Sreetama.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
