RSS

Go Goa – Part 4

11 Jan

We had booked a day’s Snorkeling trip here. I woke up at 5:30 and gave a call to S. She didn’t pick the call. Then we called A’s number. No answer from there as well. After calling them many times, finally S picked up and said that they didn’t want to go. She told us to go ahead, they would like to rest. We didn’t know what to do. Abbas was in a dilemma as to whether to leave them and go or not. I didn’t want to miss it and asked him to get ready. While we pulled up our socks and started packing our change of clothes, S called me and said that they have decided to come along. We heaved a sigh of relief. S was the one who proposed this snorkeling trip coz she is the only one among us who knows to swim. We had spoken to the organizers and confirmed that snorkeling could be done by those who can’t swim. They would have trainers who will be with us all the while. Trusting his words, we had decided to take the plunge.

So we left as early as 6 AM and reached Coco beach by 7:30 AM. We were so hungry but couldn’t find any decent eat-outs open on the way. Abbas finally spotted a sweet shop and brought some jalebis and laddoos. Now who on earth would eat those on empty stomach? Abbas and A! S picked up few slices of bread that we had in Bulu and sandwiched in Lays chips. In that state, even potato chips sandwich seemed yummilicious. The organizer had asked us to wait near a church and some Mr.Blacky was supposed to come to take us to the Jetty.

Mr. Blacky arrived and took us to the jetty. In all the excitement, we forgot to take with us the change of clothes that we had carried along.The jetty also had a group of 4 young Indian guys and 2 foreigners. The jetty began sailing in the sea. They served samosa, water, beer / coke. Abbas took a bottle of beer and Mannu, as usual wanted to taste it. Abbas gave it to her without any inhibitions. She took a sip and the look on her face was priceless. She promptly returned it to him and the curiosity was immediately broken.

We passed through a spot where there were many dolphins. They were diving into the water in a flash and we couldn’t capture a single good pic of them. Next we sailed to another spot where we could do snorkeling. When we reached there, the person in charge (PIC) clearly announces that only those who know to swim can get down. We told them that the organizer had told us otherwise. But he was not ready to listen. He said that we could get into the water at our own risk. Another fellow PIC even went a step ahead and rudely said “Why do people who can’t swim come for snorkeling to make our lives miserable?” We called the organizer and he immediately spoke to the PIC to let us snorkel. He agreed but wasn’t confident about a non-swimmer getting into the sea. We too weren’t keen on taking any risks and stayed put in the jetty. S alone did snorkeling and I resolved to come back again after learning to swim. A,Abbas and I were tremendously upset 😦

Next they took us a little further where we could do fishing. The foreigners in our jetty were catching fish after fish in a jiffy. A caught a fish first and our sad faces immediately lit up. We let the fish back into the water. It was my turn next. I caught two, but both were dangerous ones. It wasn’t Abbas’ lucky day, he couldn’t catch even one. After fishing, we were taken to Monkey Island. It is a beautiful island with rocks all around and they had arranged for a barbecue lunch. After lunch, Abbas, Mantam and I got into the water. Abbas began splashing water on us, a huge wave it us and I fell into the water. The salty water caused irritation in my eyes. I was unable to open my eyes and when the next wave hit hard, I wasn’t holding anybody’s hands and I yelled as I didn’t know if Mantam were fine. When I opened my eyes, Mantam were standing by my side, each one had stretched their hand to reassure me that all was fine.

They thought that I was scared of water and told me – “Don’t worry Mamma. We are here, don’t be scared.”Β They were trying to kick the waves to convince me that they had the sea under their control and I had no reason to be worried. I enjoyed them playing my mother more than the sea. πŸ˜€

It was time to wrap up. We went back into our jetty and the journey back lasted for almost 2 hours. We got into Bulu and I suggested going to Fort Aguada (where Dil Chahta Hai was shot) which was very close to that place but no one was in a mood to go up the fort. We went to Calangute beach again so that we could complete the unfinished shopping. I bought stuff for my colleagues, my maid, Mantam’s daycare caretakers, Ummi, Mimmi, Bhabi, Bhaiyya, someΒ souvenirsΒ for our home. I bargained to the best of my abilities. You won’t believe if I tell you that I would start my bid from Rs.50 if the shopkeeper quoted Rs.300. I won’t deny that they gave me contemptuous looks but they did directly step down to Rs. 150 πŸ˜€ (I will do a separate picture post of all that I bought)

And then we came back to our resort…. More to follow in the next post…

248 250 252 256

Some diamond merchant's private bungalow on the island!!!

Some diamond merchant’s private bungalow on the island!!!

263

Only one picture which in some way proves that we did see dolphins

Only one picture which in some way proves that we did see dolphins

278

The first fish I caught. Look at it’s teeth. PIC told us that it is poisonous.

270 276 - Copy

Since, we forgot to carry the change of clothes, had to let them into water in this costume :-(

Since we forgot to carry the change of clothes, had to let them into water in this costume 😦

310a 311a 312 358 - Copy

DSC02732

Tammy wiping off her feet with a tissue to get rid of sand πŸ˜€

DSC02629 DSC02630 - Copy DSC02631 - Copy DSC02632 DSC02633 DSC02635 DSC02680 DSC02681 - Copy DSC02683 DSC02706 DSC02717 DSC02743 - Copy

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “Go Goa – Part 4

  1. alwayshappykya

    January 12, 2013 at 3:55 am

    I think I finally saw your face only on these pics..you have such sweet looking face πŸ™‚
    Also, those little girls of yours are such fashionistas..or at least pose like that LOL!

    They didn’t let you snorkel because you didn’t know swimming. What the heck? I have snorkeled at least in 3 different parts of US and nobody cared if I knew swimming. We had very safe floating jackets to wear anyway. But yeah, I did hold on to husband’s hand while in water most times πŸ™‚

    Your travelogue is so much fun to read Seema..not just the god stuff, you are so honest with each little detail, which makes it so much real. Keep going!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 4, 2013 at 10:10 pm

      But hey, I had put up a few of my pics in the Delhi trip posts. May be you weren’t reading me then πŸ™‚

      Oh really!!! These people had floating jackets too but they seemed low on confidence to let non-swimmers into the water, or perhaps were too lazy to do their jobs!

      I feel so so good to read your last sentence! Thank you so much. I always wonder if I bore the readers with minute details that I get into while writing travelogues πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  2. lampnitslight

    January 12, 2013 at 9:37 am

    Amazing pics…the two girls look like models πŸ™‚

    Like

     
  3. Little Fingers

    January 12, 2013 at 9:58 am

    Beautiful pictures,actually you can do snorkeling with minimal swimming knowledge, like floating. You just have to be relaxed in the water that all. Anyways there should be always something left for next visit πŸ™‚ Mantam looks super cute πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 4, 2013 at 10:11 pm

      I like your positive attitude LF ‘Anyways there should be always something left for next visit’… And this incident has sure made me determine to learn swimming. Hoping to join some classes this summer.

      Like

       
  4. Tharani

    January 12, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    Love love the pictures. So cute they are πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 4, 2013 at 10:12 pm

      Thanks Tharani πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  5. lifeslittletwists

    January 12, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    Love the beach girls.muuuahh. never heard of monkey island before.. anf shopping at half price quoted? Plz come with me nexttime i go shopping!!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 4, 2013 at 10:14 pm

      We too heard of this Monkey Island for the first time. And strangely we couldn’t spot a single monkey there πŸ™‚ Oh yes, the pleasure would be mine. But please promise not to run away when I’m bargaining πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  6. summerscript

    January 12, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    Appappa , loot at these two..Orey the ishtyle wonly ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 4, 2013 at 10:15 pm

      Hehe, yeah orey ishtyle wonly πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  7. R's Mom

    January 14, 2013 at 9:52 am

    gosh these girls are the cutest ever!! I loved those pictures

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 4, 2013 at 10:16 pm

      Oye, did you read anything, or just saw the pics?

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
