RSS

Panic attacks

25 Jan

After the previous cake, I went overboard and accepted an order for the princess cake. This was for colleague S’s daughter’s birthday. She gave me her daughter’s barbie before hand. The doll was quite tall, so I had to make a bigger cake to reach her hip level. Birthday was on 24th. So, I had to keep the doll ready by morning before going to work. I baked double the quantity that I made for my birthday on 23rd morning itself before going to work. Because, assembling or frosting of a cake can be done only once the baled cake cools down completely.

In the evening, i had my usual chores of cleaning up, fixing our dinner etc. Once Mantam went to sleep, I had my dinner and sat to publish the day’s post for my blog. By then Abbas came and I finished my cheat post by the time he had his dinner. After clearing the table and cleaning the kitchen counter top, I started off. It was 10:30 by then I guess.

First job was to prepare a base on which the cake would be assembled. Cut two pieces of cardboard in square shape, piled one on top of another to make the base thick, wrapped with a gift wrapping paper. Next job was to get the barbie ready. Undressed the barbie, combed her hair neatly into a plait, cleaned her well as there were some black coloured marks on her, wiped her dry, covered her legs with cling wrap. Already cut cakes were horizontally cut into 6 layers. Whipped cream to go inbetween layers. Assembled all the six layers and inserted the barbie in the center. I got my first panic attack. There was some gap from the top till her hips. A small one but I didn’t know how to cover it up. There was no way I could bakeΒ anotherΒ one at that hour.

Presence of mind worked, I used the small circular portion carved out of each layer form the center to do the trick, I was skeptical if those bits and pieces would stay put or fall off once I started falling. But luckily, they chose to do me a favour by not moving a bit. That settled, I began with the frosting. I had showed S my birthday cake and she wanted me to do the same combination dress for her too. So Pink coloured buttercream frosting was made and smeared all over. her dress. All the chocolate cake’s crumbles began showing on the dress as I moved the spatula. I had to chill the cake for sometime to let the cream set well and proceed. So, I piped patterns on the upper body to complete her dress. It was already 1 AM by then so I hit the bed.

I set the alarm to ring at 5. For those 4 hours, I had a completely disturbed sleep with dreams of the barbie. Once I saw all the cream melting and dripping all over in the fridge. Another was that I opened the fridge door in the morning to see the barbie having fallen inside. I just couldn’t catch a good sleep.

Woke up at 5, and I thought of puttiing another layer of cream over the dress to hide those crumbs. SO this time I used whipped cream and coloured it pink. Somehow, the colour didnt match the upper portion of dress. Howmuchever colour I added, it wouldn’t upgrade to a darker shade of pink. So I thought of giving a shaded effect on the dress. Plain pink wasn’t looking that great all by itself. So I added a bit of blue too. Covered it with cling film by 7 AM and then started off with my usual cooking.

It was too strenuous but I enjoyed it. I dunno, it gives me such an adrenaline high once the end result is achieved. Abbas has warned me not to accept any orders in future on weekdays. I agree with him more…

Here are the pictures:DSC03285 DSC03286 DSC03288 DSC03283

 

 
33 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

33 responses to “Panic attacks

  1. alwayshappykya

    January 26, 2013 at 1:56 am

    If the photos do any justice to the actual cake…I am simply floored!
    You sleep for 4 hours and are still so upbeat about the whole thing. How do you do it?!
    With each of these posts, my respect and awe about you keeps increasing.

    But hey, listen to Abbas and don’t do this this to yourself on weekdays.

    * Applause* for a job wonderfully done πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 10, 2013 at 5:13 pm

      Yeah, I did listen to Abbas and kept these reserved for weekends alone. Haven’t been baking much recently though.

      Thank you so much for all those kind words πŸ™‚ I’m humbled

      Like

       
  2. Anonymously Disguised

    January 26, 2013 at 5:59 am

    It’s so so pretty…I want you to bake me a Johnny Depp on my birthday okie? :mrgreen:

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 10, 2013 at 5:14 pm

      Hehehe! Wish I knew to bake that for ya… Shall I make do with a Winnie the Pooh ??? πŸ‘Ώ

      Like

       
  3. Little Fingers

    January 26, 2013 at 6:32 am

    Seema the cake look gorgeous, oh my the effort you put to make this hats off to you..Really you are amazing.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 10, 2013 at 5:14 pm

      Thanks a lot LF πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  4. ~S

    January 26, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    beautiful effort Seema.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 10, 2013 at 5:16 pm

      Thanks thanks thanks

      Like

       
  5. Rahmath

    January 26, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    It’s so beautiful , I wonder if the little girl would have the heart to cut it :).

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 10, 2013 at 5:16 pm

      The little girl was just 2 years old πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  6. lifeslittletwists

    January 26, 2013 at 10:42 pm

    OMG!hats off to you seema. It looks awesome but im sure it mustve been a lot of stresa and effort. Thouhj I would love to see and eat this I would agree with Abbas about not having to do this during the middle of a work week.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 10, 2013 at 5:20 pm

      Bet ya! It required a lot of time and effort. But on the stress part, I guess I got worked up as I was delivering it to a friend for her kiddo’s bday party. Won’t take any more orders during the work week.

      Like

       
  7. chattywren

    January 27, 2013 at 12:23 am

    Your cake looks lovely! I have been meaning to bake a princess cake for my daughter but I haven’t yet. Which frosting is better normally – butter-cream or whipped cream?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 10, 2013 at 5:21 pm

      Butter cream is easier to work with coz it doesnt melt easily. But if you are using whipped cream, depending on the weather, you might have to keep refrigerating it as you keep working with it. But taste-wise I prefer whipped cream icing.

      Like

       
      • chattywren

        April 11, 2013 at 1:19 pm

        Same here, i’ve never used butter cream because I don’t like the taste at all, despite whipped cream being a lot of work.

        Like

         
        • Seema

          April 26, 2013 at 12:00 am

          You know what? Whipping cream powder are easily available these in most super markets. I use the Blue bird variety. It’s instant and gets done in a jiffy.

          Like

           
          • chattywren

            April 26, 2013 at 10:24 am

            Thanks I will check this out when I come down. Here I buy full cream and have to work on it a lot!

            Like

             
  8. NBose

    January 27, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    Lady…where are your feet…..sastang pranam….this looks awesome and that too you managed without disrupting your daily routine!!! Gr8. πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 10, 2013 at 5:22 pm

      Thank Nibedita. Somehow managed it that day. I have sworn I’m not gonna do it again during a work week.

      Like

       
  9. Ashwathy

    January 28, 2013 at 11:30 am

    *Droooool*
    That’s a super gorgeous cake!!

    And yes the pink shades do look slightly different, but not hugely so. πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:05 pm

      Yeah! I tried my best but the colour difference was something which I couldn’t cover up. Luckily, the people I delivered it to didn’t seem to notice. Saved my day πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  10. Sreetama

    January 29, 2013 at 1:52 am

    You are awesomely brilliant Seema! Just look at it! It gorgeous! Such detailing that I can’t even make out that it’s not a doll made of plastic but a home made cake! Am actually feeling sad that it was cut and eaten up but thank God for cameras! I read the post with bated breath. It was no less than reading a suspense thriller!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:09 pm

      Hehe… Was it so thrilling? I must re-read it then πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for all the compliments πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  11. R's Mom

    January 29, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    oh my God Did I comment on this earlier? did I?? because I am bloody speechless here…is there anything you cant do Seema..this is amazing work!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:24 pm

      Thanks re. No you didn’t comment here earlier but you wrote a similar comment on a different post πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  12. Deepika

    January 29, 2013 at 5:22 pm

    The cake is lookin beautiful!! The tiny silver balls are looking so good πŸ™‚ Great work!!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:29 pm

      Thanks Deepika πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  13. K

    February 1, 2013 at 10:46 pm

    Wow… awesome you are… love you πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:53 pm

      Lol thanks K πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  14. Sam

    March 18, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    Nice cake Seema… Yummy.. have never seen a cake with Barbie till now:).. Yummy

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:59 pm

      Thanks Sam πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  15. manasaprasad

    October 21, 2014 at 9:36 pm

    Immensely talented u are seema!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 25, 2014 at 7:03 am

      Thank you sweetheart. My cheeks have turned beetroot red πŸ™‚

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
