RSS

Bringing the curtains down

31 Jan

…. The blog marathon ends here and I seem to have got relieved of a humongous burden off my shoulders.

Few pointers to conclude:

  • I don’t think I’m ever gonna do this month long marathon, atleast any time sooner in the future. It is really taxing. Although we might spend less than an hour a day on a post, the pressure builds up as the day progresses, dusk arrives and I have even published posts in the nick of time before the clock struck tweleve…
  • Abbas would be the happiest person in the whole world. I wrote most of my posts at night. So, I would be on the laptop and not even strike a meaningful conversation with him while he would have his dinner. We missed out on the moonlight clothes hanging date most of the times and he had to do it alone. He would blackmail me that he would flood all my fellow marathoners’ blogs with comments requesting to stop it.
  • I didn’t read any book the whole of this month coz I would then get addicted to it and might have backed out from the marathon. Have asked Abbas to take me to Blossoms this weekend to quench my reading thirst which seems to be at peak.
  • This marathon helped me in dusting off this blog and reviving my readership too. I apologize to all my readers for my inability to approve the comments. I will start it off tomorrow. Also, thank you for bearing with the daily posts. I dunno if it would have been pain for all you to read me daily, especially to those who are subscribed to emails…
  • My fellow marathoners were all sporting and I think their spirit kept me going. Thank you so much and a huge round of applause for all us, blogging marathon is no mean feat!!! I tell ya.
  • Inspired by this, I would like to do such an activity with my on-the-verge-of-dying food blog too to bring it back to life. But I would rather go with week long marathons or month long ones excluding the weekends. Anyone game? RM, what’s your update on the Julie/Julia project?
  • The title implies that the marathon is over. I will still blog regularly though not as frequently as in this month. If I eat up my words RS, please shake me up from my slumber with another blog marathon offer, will ya?
 
29 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

29 responses to “Bringing the curtains down

  1. anisnest

    January 31, 2013 at 4:07 am

    kudos Seema for completing the marathon…you rock lady..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:36 pm

      Thank you Ani. Kudos to us all.

      Like

       
  2. Anonymously Disguised

    January 31, 2013 at 5:16 am

    gee I need something like a dozen whack or so from bloggers, to breathe life into my blog 😥

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:39 pm

      Arey, I haven’t posted after the marathon yet. Took me 3 months to reply and approve the comments!!!

      Like

       
  3. Ashwathy

    January 31, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    Yeah one of the reasons I never sign up for this blog-a-thon is the kind of pressure it brings. On one hand, you start posting more frequently. But on the other hand it builds such a huge pressure and stress on you to make sure you are regular that it kills the whole point.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:42 pm

      Very true. My mind was trying to make a post out of anything that caught my eye. It does tend to beat the purpose.

      Like

       
  4. lostinmylilworld

    January 31, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    Congrats to all of us.. Hope we all will be more regular from now on…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:46 pm

      Ahem! I am replying to this comment after 3 months. I have nothing to say

      Like

       
  5. ashreyamom

    January 31, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    oh ya.. we are waiting for read the food blog do.. glad that all of u made it.. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:47 pm

      Thanks Ashreyamom 🙂

      Like

       
  6. chattywren

    January 31, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    I agree Seema, the marathon was fun but hectic, always a to-do to be crossed out. For you guys managing work and home front and posting daily posts a big big applause. Same here, I too put off all my reading for after the Marathon and have to get back to it asap:) All the best for your food blog, looking forward to it.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:49 pm

      Hmmm, did you start reading post the marathon? I just read one book and that’s it. I am thinking aloud now! What did I do for the past three months? I dunno 😦

      Like

       
  7. alwayshappykya

    February 1, 2013 at 1:01 am

    I did not even know this was a blog marathon you were running all these days. I just enjoyed every bit of the daily posts…happy to find a new one each morning! 😀

    Kudos..and very well done!

    I suggest keep the marathons off and do your regular blogging since you are pretty regular anyway ( unlike..err..some like me). Leaving out the best things in life ( moonlight dates, dinner convos and reading books!) is not worth the marathon me thinks 😦

    Keep writing. Daily or weekly, we love it anyways 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:51 pm

      Thanks AHK. Feels so good to know that there are people who enjoy your writing. Even though you just jot down the tid bits of day to day life and nothing great.

      Like

       
  8. R's Mom

    February 1, 2013 at 1:04 pm

    Congrats..we did it eh?

    Jeez you still remember that Julie/Julia project..you must be kidding eh?

    No marathons on cooking for me…I will go crazy honestly!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:51 pm

      Yes yes we did it!!!! Of yes, I remember re.

      Like

       
  9. R's Mom

    February 1, 2013 at 1:04 pm

    Did you get my comment???

    Like

     
  10. Sreetama

    February 4, 2013 at 10:56 am

    Congratulations on the successful completion! 🙂 Read each n every post, though had not been able to comment on all but loved them all nevertheless! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 25, 2013 at 11:53 pm

      Thanks for bearing with the surge in blogposts 🙂

      Like

       
  11. Little Fingers

    February 5, 2013 at 7:13 am

    Yay we all did it 🙂 It was fun reading you..And I am madly in love with your princess cake 🙂

    Like

     
  12. lampnitslight

    April 26, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    yeah Seema has approved all comments,that means she is back to blogging,that means we will get a new post from her and updates on mantam 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 30, 2013 at 10:32 am

      Hahahaha… You got it right 🙂 I had a lot to say but had determined to post only after approving all the comments. How did you know?

      Like

       
  13. garima

    April 30, 2013 at 11:36 am

    I felt you would be super busy and had no time to approve comments.Now that comments are approved you would get sometime to update your blog 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      October 10, 2013 at 5:19 pm

      I am back to square again 😦

      Like

       
  14. manasaprasad

    October 21, 2014 at 2:53 am

    Challenges like this are nice to shake things up, once in a while. But it must have been so difficult to come up with a post each day. I can max. post a couple each week I have observed.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 25, 2014 at 7:01 pm

      Now you will see for yourself *Insert evil laugh heehoohhaaaheehhhaaaahooohhaaaa*

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
