RSS

5th Birthday!!!

08 Jun

Dear Mantam,

5 years!!! No, the time did not fly away. We lived every day, every minute and every little moment of this topsy-turvy journey. We had our fair share of fights and disagreements with each other. We have managed to steal several stolen moments to be etched in our memories forever. Your arrival into our lives changed every aspect of our existence, for good of course. In an attempt to teach you good manners and values of life, we had no choice but to set an example ourselves. In these 5 years of parenthood, we as your parents have grown as much as you have as individuals.

Mannu,

(Tammu, don’t be mad at me as I picked Mannu’s name first!!!) What do I say about you? You are a miniature me. You have inherited all my strengths and weaknesses which most often than not causes the two of us to be at loggerheads. I mostly give in because I can empathize with you easily. I very well know how complicated it is to be us 😀 You are strong willed, highly independent, hyper active, orderliness freak and you talk nineteen to the dozen (Which many a times makes me cry out to god, “Why God, just why did you forget to send her along with a mute button attached?”) You are my shadow, you try to learn everything I do right from folding laundry, cooking, cleaning, to even the way I call your Baba to enquire about his whereabouts. Gosh! At this rate, you are gonna fire me off this covetous household position pretty soon. The way you act like an adult makes us feel that Tammu is the only kid in the house. The way you pack my lunch box before I step put for work, or the extra care you take to check how many of my friends join me for lunch so that you can increase the quantity of pickle, and later you enquire if everybody had the pickle you had lovingly packed brings tears to my eyes. You are the go-to person at home if anybody is looking for anything around the house. The enthusiasm with which you search as if your life’s important decision depends on it amuses me. Your strong memory can pretty much be a bane than a boon to us. If I promise you  something, I better fulfill it rather than praying that you would forget it.

Tammu,

You are all that Mannu is not. You are a miniature Baba and all that genetic chemistry (or lack of it) causes Baba and you to fight like kids (Although technically you still are one). I have to pitch in to play the referee and 99% of the time, I cheat by favouring you. You are still the small, tiny little infant that came out of my tummy 5 years ago. You like being a baby and the focus of everybody’s attention including Mannu’s. But there are a few traits of maturity that you display and surprise all of us. You too help me around the house BUT only when you feel like it, which is once in a bluemoon. But on the rare occasions that you do, you outperform Mannu’s ‘domestic-goddess‘ performance. You have a very creative mind and you come up with such out of the box ideas when you draw or sing or dance or even talk. (All that gibberish that you cook up, must require some creative juices flowing) I have observed that your senses are immune to taking instructions. You perform very well when you learn things on your own and not when things are thrust on you. When we go to the park, we see all the kids playing together and you will maintain a safe distance from them and you play on your own and never for a moment are you not occupied. I love observing you and get surprised the way you can entertain yourself. You are the self acclaimed joker in the house who loves to makes everyone laugh. The only problem with you is your memory. I think God himself got confused while filling in memory in the two of you that he filled your share into Mannu!

Mantam,

All in all, the two of you complement each other in every facet and it is a pleasure to watch the pair of you. You both have your skirmishes every now and then (which you obviously should) Many a times I try to act like the lioness who keeps her calm and never bothers to pitch in when the cubs are fighting with each other. But when one of you approaches me, I don my referee hat and get to the root of the brawl. The best part of being the referee is that I do not need to announce my decision. By the time I finish my questionnaire, you would have come to know who is at fault and patched up on your own. You both have been well behaved children right from the beginning and we have never had to face any embarrassment in public. On the other hand, you have made us proud when you are among a bunch of kids and other parents refer to the two of you and say ‘Look at Mannat and Tamanna. Learn from them’.

I can go on and on and on but we are having a little party at home this evening and lots of preparations are pending. Well to conclude the letter, all I have to say is “Be good. Do good”. No matter what happens, always know that your Mamma and Baba are always there for you. And no, we will never judge you no matter what.

Love,

Mamma and Baba

 
20 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

20 responses to “5th Birthday!!!

  1. Anonymously Disguised

    June 8, 2013 at 9:43 am

    Aww the munchkins are turning 5? Happy birthday to the dolls. I love this letter and I for one can totally understand when you say how they are two different individuals and still as twins complement each other. From this very young age, I can see that my boys have very different personalities 🙂

    What cake are you baking for the party? I demand pics okay? and give two extra kisses from me to the little girls ❤

    Like

     
    • Seema

      October 10, 2013 at 5:16 pm

      Oh are Onir and Tuhin different too? Wow, you should write about them Saks. I do keep reading your updates on FB though.

      Kisses passed. I think you have seen the party pics on FB, since I’m approving the comments this late *hangs head in shame*

      Like

       
  2. Smitha

    June 8, 2013 at 10:35 am

    Happy Birthday to Mantam! I’m sure you must have planned some super special stuff for today!

    I had been planning to email and find out where you’d been missing, but never got down to it.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      October 10, 2013 at 5:14 pm

      I posted about the birthday party. Did you see the post?

      Oh that’s so sweet of you, thanks. Have been following your blogs.

      Like

       
  3. greenboochi

    June 8, 2013 at 10:56 am

    Happy Birthday to the little darlings!! Loved this post 🙂 A smile was on right from the start and lasted till the end.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      October 10, 2013 at 5:13 pm

      Glad it made you smile 🙂

      Like

       
  4. onarollercoasterride

    June 8, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    Aww. Happy happy birthday to Manat and Tamana.. Such a cute letter. I am missing your posts seema. You should write often.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      October 10, 2013 at 5:12 pm

      Awww, I have to pull up my socks now *feeling determined*

      Like

       
  5. R's Mom

    June 10, 2013 at 9:27 am

    Happy Happy birthday darlings :):)

    Like

     
    • Seema

      October 10, 2013 at 5:12 pm

      Thanks R masi 🙂

      Like

       
  6. Deepika

    June 10, 2013 at 10:37 am

    Happy Birthday to ManTam…
    I so love their names 🙂
    Hugs and lots of love…

    Like

     
  7. Chaitra

    June 10, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    Happy birthday Mantam.. wish you loads of happy moments in the years to come

    Like

     
  8. Little Fingers

    June 10, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    Happy Birthday to ManTam 🙂 this is one sweet letter Seema, you shod write more often ..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      October 10, 2013 at 5:11 pm

      Yes, I should write more often. I think we must start another marathon for me buck up 😦

      Like

       
  9. anisnest

    June 11, 2013 at 6:56 am

    Happy happy birthday to the sweet little girls.. May they be blessed with the best of everything in this world.. God bless them..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      October 10, 2013 at 5:10 pm

      Oh that’s such a beautiful wish. Thanks Ani 🙂

      Like

       
  10. manasaprasad

    October 21, 2014 at 2:41 am

    When you are writing from the heart, it shows! Loved the letters:)

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
