RSS

Book Review- Error Code: Love

17 Dec

When I saw the promo of Error Code: Love posted by Suman, I was curious by the title. But when I discovered that it was written by him, I was so thrilled!! I have read so many books but had never known the author. This would be the first time I could say the  author and his wife were my ex-colleagues J (Why would I let go of the little claim to fame that I could derive from this announcement?) When the book was up for pre-order on Amazon, I ordered my copy and waited to bury my nose in it. I was so excited that I commented on Suman’s Timeline that I would post a review after reading the book.

After receiving the book, I ventured into reading it but I suddenly had cold feet. I wondered if I would be able to present a genuine feedback to Suman. Honestly, the initial couple of chapters  didn’t strike a chord with me. It was just about a guy moving from one city to another due to a job switch. Been there, done that! But as I gradually progressed to the subsequent chapters, the book caught pace and there I was grumbling when I was compelled to put the book down for some reason or the other. The way the story oscillated between the present and the past succeeded in keeping the reader in me glued to it.

The story is set in Bangalore and Kolkata, both the cities close to my heart. I could easily relate to the corporate culture portrayed, life in a new city, friendship, love, breakups and the usual aspects in the life of techies! To be very frank, I disliked the protagonist Dev in the beginning. As he thinks of himself as a loser, I didn’t know what to expect of him. But since the story has been narrated by Dev, I could get the glimpse of his thought process. Suman has successfully captured the feelings, thoughts, worries, ideas, notions, miseries and joy of Dev so well that I could effortlessly empathize with him even when he commited the “biggest mistake of his life”.

As a downside, I would have probably appreciated better and more detailed descriptions of the cities, the offices, people etc. I generally get transported to my own imaginary world while I read a book. Although there were brief descriptions, I thought they could do with some more depth. It could be just my opinion!

All in all, I enjoyed the read thoroughly. There were a few lines which tug at my heartstrings – “Frankly when you fall for someone hard, unless you are drugged or electrocuted, you won’t listen to anybody. And I mean nobody! Not family, not friends, not even your own rational mind.” I have experienced this to a T… and couldn’t agree more to it!

Here’s wishing Suman all the best for many more books to come. You have certainly earned a loyal reader in me. J

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Book Review- Error Code: Love

  1. ashreyamom

    December 18, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    hello madam.. where did u vanish all these days?? nice to see you back.. :).

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 8, 2014 at 3:33 pm

      Thanks for being around AM 🙂

      Like

       
  2. manasaprasad

    October 19, 2014 at 10:28 pm

    Loved reading your review seema! 🙂

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
