RSS

The move in May

06 Jan

I’m talking about May 2013! Now pick those dropped jaws… I have been meaning to document this big move in the blog but due to my slumber or whatever that kept me from writing here, it went unrecorded. I had earlier written about the school hunt for Mantam. We had finally found THE school which was closer to Abbas’s workplace and had decided to move closer to the school, our main objective was to let Mantam travel the least possible distance to school. Hence, the house hunt began! Abbas was very clear that we would not have Mantam dropped at daycare after school. He wanted to have a nanny at home so that they could return home after school and I would also have help at hand. Me being the kind who likes to do everything on my own was wary about this idea although I knew deep within my heart that it would reduce my stress. But the thought of leaving Mantam in a stranger’s hands drove me nuts. Finally my manager who stays in the same area referred a nanny who has been working in her apartment as a child caretaker and was looking for a change. We spoke to her and she agreed to join starting May,

Since Mantam would return home after school and would stay with a nanny, we were looking for a gated community which would have good amenities and security. We finally found one that more than suited our taste but drilled holes into our pockets 🙂 It was like a dream come true as Abbas and I always intended to stay in such a place but procrastinated as all four of us anyway used to spend five days of the week out of home. But now that the kids would stay back home, it made perfect sense to give them a conducive environment for outdoor play and social life. We finally rented out a flat in this apartment and made a move in May.

Till April, I would always travel with Mantam in Bulu in the mornings and in Auto in the evenings. I missed our conversations so badly. It was the only time the three of us would recount the day’s happenings without any interventions over some snacks or lollipops. The new home was 13 kms away from my office so I had to commute by office bus. Ofcourse, I got that extra one hour in the day to read a book or listen to some music but then I would rather prefer their jibber jabber and the very presence of Mantam. I also missed bathing them, combing their hair and going about the domestic chores with the help of their tiny little hands. But from May onwards with the nanny’s entry, by the time I would reach home, the house would be spic and span, Mantam would be fresh with neatly braided hair waiting for me to sit with them while they do their homework. It was a strange feeling to return home and not have anything to do! Gosh, it was scary. I was worried that I would be spoiled rotten. I was not used to this kind of a life after being away from Amma. I had to strike a balance somehow. I decided to take Mantam to park everyday after I returned home, it soon became a ritual. I also retained the cooking department as it was far too dear to let go. The nanny took Sundays off, and we would let her go home on Saturdays after finishing the domestic chores and do the Mantam-grooming ourselves.

Will write more about the changes in our lives and that of Mantam’s after coming to this apartment in the next post. Maya, I have got a lot of baggage to unpack, hence not going by the themes you had set. Sorry about that. Thanks for letting me join in.

And all you dear readers who have still not given up on me, I dunno what to say! Thank you so much for being there. You are the reason I keep coming back here 🙂

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “The move in May

  1. anisnest

    January 6, 2014 at 11:21 pm

    that sounds cool. I can so relate to that dropping/picking up part. I leave home at 6:20am these days and miss watching Adi geting ready to school. At least I get to pick her up in the evening otherwise I will go nuts!! As you said, that’s the time we talk about the day and eveything else.. Once at home, we are either into our own cocoons or after daily chores..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 8, 2014 at 3:41 pm

      So true, once at home although we are under the same roof, the heart to heart conversation rarely takes place na?

      Like

       
  2. alwayshappykya

    January 7, 2014 at 4:30 am

    Marathon Blogging by Seema, Yay!!

    Missed your updates and Mantam stories here. So very happy to see you in action here 🙂

    Happy 2014 !

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 8, 2014 at 3:42 pm

      Aiyo, I’m so humbled to see you still hanging around here after me having disappeared from the blogosphere for a long time. Thank you AHK, a very happy new year to you and your family.

      Like

       
  3. Little Fingers

    January 7, 2014 at 8:19 am

    It’s so good to hear abt you and ManTam. Now I am wondering what kept you away from blogging. You have live in nanny. How awesome is that 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 8, 2014 at 3:47 pm

      I know, I could have managed somehow if I stongly intended to. But a lot of nanny changes, work pressure and a few other issues that we were going through just didn’t see me in a right frame of mind to post. We didn’t go for a live in nanny but yeah, she stays from 9 AM to 6 PM Mon-Fri. She leaves once I reach home. The current nanny is really awesome and I pray she sticks on with us. 😀

      Like

       
  4. R's Mom

    January 7, 2014 at 8:59 am

    Glad you got help Seema….Abbas bhai is a very smart fellow…of course cooking you can do, and its nice that you get to spend quality time with ManTam! Do write more about the changes in your life 🙂

    PS – the prompts are only if you run out of topics 🙂 you dont have to follow them 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 8, 2014 at 3:50 pm

      RM, Abbas bhai ke naam ka ek sentence nahi likha, aur uski tareef chalu eh??

      Lots to write re… I’m feeling relieved as I’m posting each day. Will use the prompts when I run out of ideas. 🙂

      Like

       
  5. lifewithasparklingsoul

    January 7, 2014 at 10:24 am

    Happy to see your post after a long time Seema…I missed your posts 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 8, 2014 at 3:50 pm

      Thank you so much for letting me know. Means a lot 🙂

      Like

       
  6. sangeetha menon

    January 7, 2014 at 3:57 pm

    Seema ..even i had felt the same when we had a maid for cooking alone.. It was like cooking became alien to me … But I soon regained my position as we thought we were becoming so dependent on her and stopped her. Happy to read about you though and about Mantam’s grooming

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 8, 2014 at 4:00 pm

      Lol on ‘I soon regained my position’. Yeah we do become dependent on them and when they suddenly bunk, we feel so handicapped. Instead if we are used to doing things on our own, work gets done without any hitches right? But we could always do with some help instead of stretching ourselves beyond limit.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
