RSS

The love for yarn

13 Jan

My granny was gifted with crafty hands. She was an inspiration for many. When we were kids, most of our dresses were stitched by her for us. How comfortable we would be in those clothes stitched with love. She also had this craziness for crochet. She would create numerous things with that one hook and thousands of varieties of yarn. I was attracted to this art from a very young age. I must have been in lower primary when I would pester her to teach me. She would bluntly deny saying “Barap sheekh surveri” (Education comes first) I would plead to her that I have completed my homework / studies but she would never give in. Lots of women from town would come to learn from her and I would hide behind granny to sneak in and learn. But it was difficult to absorb it that way.

One summer vacation, my granny’s elder sister (Mhav), who was a pro in crochet than my granny, came to stay with us for a couple of weeks. She noticed my thirst for this craft and taught me the basic stitches lovingly. My first creation was a flower which was irregular in shape due to a lot of mistakes. But Mhav took one piece of cloth and stuck the flower to it and asked me to preserve it as it was my first creation and hence very special in its own way. After Mhav left, I would pick granny’s yarn and hook and simply try stitching quietly right in front of her. Granny let go of her resistance and began teaching me wherever I went wrong. There was no stopping from then on. Even when Granny would go to visit Mhav’s home, she would take me along to see the new patterns that Mhav would have created so that we could come back home and replicate it. I am indebted to these two super women for passing on their love for yarn to me.

Recently, I have been bitten by the yarn bug and I ventured into creating these ear-rings. Here are some pictures:

20140113_065705 20140113_065603 20140113_065540 20140113_065442 20140113_065418 20140113_065331 20140113_065246 20140113_065133 20140113_065304

 
25 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

25 responses to “The love for yarn

  1. More than words

    January 13, 2014 at 9:47 am

    Wow!!! They are so lovely.

    Like

     
  2. R's Mom

    January 13, 2014 at 11:24 am

    oh my God, Seema, you are such an artist..those are lovely lovely lovely 🙂

    Like

     
  3. Rahmath

    January 13, 2014 at 11:49 am

    It’s so beautiful Seema. You know i remember seeing one such earring in a mall for some 250 – 400 rupees. I envy you.You actually work in an office!!!Why????

    Just had another thought.
    You work both outside and inside home, You haveTwins, you bake and you do crafts, you blog, you read… How do you manage to have the time or energy????? Do you have some kind of a magic potion????

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 16, 2014 at 8:17 pm

      No Magic potion re… I don’t do all these things all the time na? Just manage to juggle between them depending on the situation! Where there is a will, there is a way

      Like

       
  4. princessbutter

    January 13, 2014 at 12:24 pm

    Omg! Love the hoops!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 16, 2014 at 8:19 pm

      Thank you. Hoops were my personal favourite too 😉

      Like

       
  5. Tharani

    January 13, 2014 at 12:30 pm

    Looks very pretty. I love the red one specially 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 16, 2014 at 8:19 pm

      Is red your fav colour?

      Like

       
      • Tharani

        January 16, 2014 at 8:26 pm

        Yes I love red 🙂

        Like

         
        • Seema

          January 16, 2014 at 8:38 pm

          It’s Mannu’s favourite too 🙂

          Like

           
  6. greenboochi

    January 13, 2014 at 1:35 pm

    Lovely lovely lovely 🙂 🙂 I have tried knitting like 10+ yrs back.. having forgotten most of it, I didnt bother learning again. Should do it very soon.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 16, 2014 at 8:20 pm

      yes, please do… I somehow tried my hand at knitting but couldn’t pursue it. Didn’t have someone to guide.

      Like

       
  7. Ashwathy

    January 15, 2014 at 3:20 pm

    OMG!! Beautiful! Pls teach me also! 😀 I’m serious… I love this work!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 16, 2014 at 8:29 pm

      Sure, would love to. Come to Blore Ash. There are only two basic stitches you need to master. If you learn them, you can stitch any pattern.

      Like

       
      • Ashwathy

        January 16, 2014 at 8:44 pm

        Will meet u during next visit…pukka 🙂

        Like

         
        • Seema

          January 22, 2014 at 5:09 pm

          Will look forward to meeting you 🙂

          Like

           
  8. Me

    January 20, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    Wow !!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 22, 2014 at 5:18 pm

      Thank you 😀

      Like

       
  9. manasaprasad

    October 17, 2014 at 1:32 am

    Post a video tutorial or a step-by-step instruction. They are so cool! I’m sure my daughter will love to wear them if I learn to make some for her.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      October 17, 2014 at 9:38 am

      They are so many you-tube videos manasa. Though I know the basic stitches, I refer to online videos or images to explore new patterns

      Like

       
      • manasaprasad

        October 17, 2014 at 10:58 am

        Still, I’d love to know your take on it n your modifications.

        Like

         
        • Seema

          December 25, 2014 at 7:08 pm

          Will try to do Manu.

          Like

           

Leave a Reply

 
