RSS

Anger over food

15 Jan

Inspired by Tharani’s post

Abbas has a few dishes that he hates to the core. I generally avoid making them or prepare them when he has some leftover that is his favourite. But there are times when I get this sudden urge to cook something and eat but know very well that Abbas would freak out at the dinner table. I take chance once in a blue moon only to invite Abbas’s wrath.

On one such night, Abbas came home really hungry and when he saw what I had cooked, he lost his cool and yelled at me. I now remember it was Soya Chunks curry and I had prepared it really well. Mantam had finished our dinner and licked our plates clean. Tammu even took a bowlful of curry and had it like a dessert after her dinner. I told Abbas to at least taste the curry once and that he might like it. He got furious and angrily marched to bed.

I too got enraged at his behaviour, cursed him under my breath for being so adamant and decided to have my dinner. Why should I show my anger over food? I coolly sat down, had my dinner, cleared the dinner table, put the leftovers in the fridge, cleaned the kitchen counter top and went off to sleep.

Next morning, we talked to each other and patched up. But Abbas asked me how I could have dinner myself without even offering him to make something else. That too when I knew very well that he was too hungry when he reached home. I felt so guilty but I told him that long time ago, on a similar instance he had denied my offer to prepare some other dish. He said “Even if I deny, you prepare and give me, I’ll eat it”

After that it only happened once that he got frenzied at the dish of the day, I quietly went into the kitchen to prepare some aloo fry. All the while, he kept saying “Don’t make anything. I won’t eat” and as soon as Aloo fry was kept on the table, he quietly came and had his dinner.

Nowadays, I tell him in the morning itself that I’m making his non-favourite dish so that he has all day to be mentally prepared for it.

Whenever something like this happens, I remember the way we used to also freak out at Amma when she made something we didn’t like. Now I understand how difficult it is to serve food that suits everyone’s palate! Hats off to your patience Amma and sorry for all the tantrums I used to throw at you 😦

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Anger over food

  1. R's Mom

    January 15, 2014 at 4:14 pm

    Oye ma, you have the patience of a saint…I would NEVER EVER EVER prepare anything separate for RD…its like, tereko eat karna hai toh karo, or prepare something yourself or order in…Gee! you really are a great wife!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 16, 2014 at 8:32 pm

      Great wife kuch nahi re. Abbas very rarely gets angry, like once in a bluemoon. When he does, it is usually very intense. If I react, it gets out of control. So I try to keep my cool which brings his anger down.

      And whenever we have some argument or fight, he is the one who initiates to patch up even when I am at fault. So, itna to main kar hi sakti hoon na?

      Like

       
  2. Tharani

    January 15, 2014 at 5:19 pm

    Yeah how we used to torture our amma know. Now only I realize how difficult it is to cook and satisfy everyone ..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 16, 2014 at 8:37 pm

      Ya, I remembered we even made Amma make Rava dosa and coffee for us at 11 in the night when rest of the family members had dozed off by 10. I feel so ashamed now.

      Like

       
  3. Maya

    January 15, 2014 at 7:03 pm

    I can never have this problem. The husband can eat anything. I really mean it. Anything! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 16, 2014 at 8:38 pm

      Wow, hats off to him!

      Like

       
  4. manasaprasad

    October 17, 2014 at 1:25 am

    Yup u are a saint!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      October 17, 2014 at 9:37 am

      I become a saint only when Abbas freaks out, which is quite rare. lol

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
