RSS

Birthday celebrations

16 Jan

On the eve of my birthday, my uncle arrived with his family. Initially Mantam were acting all shy in front of them. But soon, the initial inhibitions vanished into thin air and they began entertaining with song, dance, puzzles, talks etc. All of them had a great time interacting with Mantam. I worked from home that day and was glued to the laptop even when they entered home at around 5:30 pm. The dinner preparations began only after 6:30pm. My aunts helped a lot in the kitchen and we rustled up Rice, Dal, fulkas, Brinjal Fry, Bengali Chicken Curry, Pan grilled Basa fillets, Carrot-Mung dal salad and brownies with ice-cream. We were awake chatting till 1AM and Mantam refused to sleep too. They began combing my uncle’s hair and when he appreciated their work, they were flattered. They got their dabba of hair clips and started decorating uncle’s head with all the clips. We had a great laugh while uncle enjoyed all the attention from Mantam as they brought a mirror to show him the end result.

Next morning, uncle’s bro and family, who stay in Bangalore, arrived at around 11 AM. Their presence only added to the fun and laughter. This aunt brought a home-baked yummilicious Coffee-Vanilla walnut cake. Mantam took the cousins to the park and walked them around the apartment building. Abbas was supposed to work that day but was unable to step out amidst all the hullabaloo. For lunch we had previous night’s chicken curry, rice, fulkas, Bengali khichuri, fried eggs and fish fry. After lunch, we had the cake cutting ceremony. The cake was scrumptious. I had never made a coffee cake and I instantly fell in love with it. As soon as we all hogged on the dessert, the door bell rang and guess what? Another cake arrived! It was ordered online by Bhaiyya and Bhabi. Just the previous night, Tammu was cribbing that “Mumma bakes cakess on everybody’s birthday. Who will bake on Mumma’s birthday?” Her miseries were wiped out with not one but two delicious cakes.

After the evening tea, the entire family left. There was eerie silence at home and we were all gloomy after the merry time. It was one of the most memorable birthday ever for me. On each of my birthday post wedding, I would not feel like celebrating thinking about my parents. But this time, I was so occupied that there was no scope to grieve. I was elated from the moment they came home. All of us, specially Mantam had a ball.

As the night advances, Tammu made a dull face. When I asked her what made her sad, she replied “Mumma’s birthday is going away… I want to celebrate even more” We had a family huddle hug and went to sleep thanking God for blessing us to be a close-knit unit.

A few pics of the cake:

DSC03948

DSC03950

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “Birthday celebrations

  1. summerscript

    January 17, 2014 at 8:00 am

    Happy for you πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 22, 2014 at 5:10 pm

      Thank you SS πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  2. Little Fingers

    January 17, 2014 at 8:18 am

    Happy Birthday Seema !! That was awesome fun birthday celebration.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 22, 2014 at 5:11 pm

      Thanks LF. Sure it was! πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  3. R's Mom

    January 17, 2014 at 9:02 am

    yummmmmmmmmmmmmmm and what a super bday celebration…awesome

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 22, 2014 at 5:11 pm

      Thanks RM πŸ˜€

      Like

       
  4. Tharani

    January 17, 2014 at 11:59 am

    Awesome birthday celebrations. The cake looks yummy. Belated birthday wishes Seema πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 22, 2014 at 5:11 pm

      Thanks a lot Tharani πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  5. Ashwathy

    January 18, 2014 at 12:24 am

    God bless you all! πŸ™‚
    And that cake… if I were there I would have pounced on it before you could click the pic… πŸ˜›

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 22, 2014 at 5:14 pm

      Lol, we had finished pouncing on the coffee cake and hogging it when that cake was delivered. I could easily click pictures as there were no takers at that moment. πŸ™‚

      Like

       
  6. Noodle

    January 23, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    Belated birthday wishes Seema! So glad you had a good one. I came across your food blog 2 weeks back, when I was googling an amchi (yes, I’m amchi too!) recipe. It’s a great place. That led me to this blog. I spent the rest of the night going through all your posts here. I know a part of your story from your posts. You are a very brave and wonderful person. Your little family has touched my heart. God bless you all. I hope your parents reconcile with you for their sakes. They don’t know what they’re missing out on πŸ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2014 at 3:54 pm

      Hey Noodle, welcome here! Glad you liked my space. Thanks for all the compliments and the wishes dear. I know, they’re missing out on a lot of happiness, especially Mantam πŸ˜›

      Hope to see you around πŸ™‚

      Like

       
    • manasaprasad

      October 17, 2014 at 1:22 am

      I totally agree with u!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
