RSS

Mantam’s first best friend

22 Jan

Remember the gal G from this post? Mantam and G used to study in the same class and stay in the daycare together till 6PM. As most other kids left early, this trio got bonded to each other. Last year on most evenings when I would go to pick Mantam from their daycare, they would plead me to take G also home. I would make them understand that G’s parents would be worried and it wasn’t right to take her without her parents’ permission. They would give in, albeit with a frown.

One fine evening, I reached their daycare and Mantam came to me bouncing happily and said “Mamma, G is coming to our home today.” I thought it was just another day and smiled at them while signing the pickup register. The caretaker told me “Madam, is G going to your house?”. I shrugged and replied “Errr, they keep saying it every day. But I can’t take her just like that na?” To this the caretaker said “But ma’am, G has convinced her grandpa who has come to pick her up. He has agreed to take her to your home”. My reaction was of disbelief – “Whattt?” I stepped out and the trio gleefully trailed behind.

On coming out, I saw an aged gentleman and G went to him and introduced me as Mantam’s mommy. I said “Namaste Uncle”. He said “Namaste. So shall we make a move then?” I was clueless as to what was gonna happen next. We stepped downstairs and I had fixed an auto to go home which was waiting at the entrance. When we reached the entrance “So uncle, I have this auto waiting….” Uncle said “Oh no problem, all of us can accommodate in it” and he plonked himself inside first. I was perplexed!! G sat on Uncle’s lap and then Mantam and I squeezed in. En route, I tried to engage uncle in a conversation to make him spill out the beans. What was on the cards? Where were we going? I asked him where their house was. Then I told him that our house is in P Layout. Uncle replied “No problem, I’ll come to your house. G badly wants to go there”

My mind was racing with all kinds of thoughts. Is this uncle G’s real grandfather? I didn’t even have G’s parents’ number to confirm. I would be letting in a stranger home, Abbas also would be coming home late. But looking at the way G was clinging to him, I comforted myself that I was overreacting. With these thoughts, we finally reached our home. All of us got down and walked to the elevator. Now this elevator was a bit old fashioned one where you get to see the door and on opening it you would have another sliding door. When I reached out to open the door, uncle started removing his footwear. I was flabbergasted, “Ayyo uncle, why are you removing your shoes?” Uncle replied “I don’t want to enter your house with the footwear”. He was very innocent and I went on a guilt trip for having judged him baselessly.

We entered our home and I asked uncle to be comfortable. I offered to make some tea and he happily accepted. The kids played with a vengeance. It was their long cherished dream to get G to our home. I gave tea to uncle and asked if he would like to watch TV. He asked if there were Tamizh channels and sadly I had to answer him in negative. He asked me to put on any Hindi music channel and he enjoyed watching the songs. I went about my regular chores and preparing dinner. It was almost dinner time for Mantam and I didn’t know what was going to happen next. I finally asked uncle how he was planning to go home. He said that his son would come to pick them up. I asked him if I could feed dinner to G also along with Mantam. He told me to ask her and feed if she was okay to have. So the dinner was fed and the wait for G’s dad began. He came at around 9:30PM and they all went away although G was reluctant to leave.

After they went, Mantam were directed straight to their bed. Both climbed onto their respective cribs. When I was about to make an exit from the room, I shuddered on hearing a sudden wail. Mannu was bawling as she was missing G. It took a lot of soothing talks, hopes of meeting her the next day and a lot of convincing to get her to sleep. Although the entire episode was weird, the kids had a whale of a time. I was very happy for them. A deep thought also struck me – “How our lives have become so planned that we get so disturbed with a sudden twist in the routine!”

PS: I reached the 200 post milestone with my previous post. Thank to Maya for initiating this blogathon!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Mantam’s first best friend

  1. Tharani

    January 22, 2014 at 11:18 pm

    Aww. Long live their friendship 🙂
    Congrats on reaching the 200 mark 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2014 at 3:51 pm

      Thanks Tharani 🙂 Unfortunately, Mantam are in a different school now. But they are in touch over phone. We have to make them meet soon 🙂

      Like

       
  2. alwayshappykya

    January 23, 2014 at 3:08 am

    Oh, how sweet and ‘paapa’ that grandpa sounds. And, you are right, we cannot digest an unannounced visit out of the blue anymore.Life isn’t that simple anymore 😦

    would Read each of your blogathon posts and waited for the next one eagerly.
    Keep writing Seema..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2014 at 3:52 pm

      Life isn’t that simple anymore – sad but true AHK 😦

      You comments always cheer me up 🙂

      Like

       
  3. manasaprasad

    October 15, 2014 at 9:48 pm

    I cant believe even I found the situation very wierd! But u handled it pretty well…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      October 17, 2014 at 9:34 am

      Thanks Manasa 🙂

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
