RSS

My ‘gentle’man

28 Jan

Just as we were wrapping up dinner, Abbas asked me – “Are you done with the post of the day? Or are you doing the kabza (capture) on Whitoo (the laptop) today also?” I meekly nodded. He said “You take your office laptop. I wanna watch a movie to unwind”. As usual I said “No, but I want to use Whitoo”. To this the sneaky husband of mine tells “Oh yeah, you gotta embarrass me on your blog eh?” And my jaws dropped. This man reads my posts silently. Lol 😛

So to make up for yesterday’s blunder, here is listing some attributes of Abbas:

1. Although he never lets go of an opportunity to pull my leg, he indirectly supports me and never ever says NO to any of my aspirations.
Sample this: Me checking myself in the mirror after a week of rigorous workout and healthy food intake, “Hey Baba, look! My trousers seem to be a bit loose”. Him: “Was it the new one that you washed recently? It must have got stretched during the wash!!” Later during the day, asks me casually “Acha, what are you going to wear to the pinkathon?” That’s my husband!

2. He is the epitome of being a doting dad. He pampers Mantam to no end. Can you imagine my horror when we had gone to Commercial street for some shopping and on the way back, we spotted a toy seller with battery operated cyclist toy on display. Mantam stopped to look at it and were amazed. They have never had these kind of toys right from their childhood, thanks to their stingy mom who thinks these toys are a waste of money and would rather buy books for them! Abbas bought that toy although I threw a major tantrum and warned him that the toy was not going to see the daylight the very next day on. He said “So be it! You have always said this and deprived them of owning these toys” and bought it for them. Guess who played with toy the most after coming back home. Yes it was the Baba himself!!!

3. At times, his fatherly instincts put the mater in me to shame. You won’t believe if I tell you that he checks Mantam’s school bag everyday in the morning to check if there are pencils, eraser, sharpener and a scale in it. And he even goes one step ahead and sharpens the pencils if they are blunt. And me? I just leave it to them. If they don’t learn to be responsible for their own stuff, they will suffer at school and will eventually learn. But Abbas thinks they are too small for all this. He will never let them grow up, I tell ya!!!

4. Abbas is the go-to person to clean Mantam’s bums after their potty. I am called only when he is not at home. Lol, don’t ask me how and why it is so. They must have gotten used to his pro-activeness :mrgreen:

5. He loves animals and birds. The way he cares for his pets is amusing to witness. He talks to them, cuddles them in his own unique way. Recently the birds have given birth to three little chicks. And he keeps bringing them out of the cage, kisses them on their head and coochie coos in a way that even I haven’t experienced till date 👿

And the list would go on and on! Will save the rest for some other day 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “My ‘gentle’man

  1. R's Mom

    January 29, 2014 at 9:10 am

    Abbas bhai, mein toh aapki sabse badi fan hoon :):)

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2014 at 4:03 pm

      He knows it RM! I think you both must start a mutual admiration club… He is a fan of your stories too 😀

      Like

       
  2. Little Fingers

    January 29, 2014 at 9:12 am

    Your Abbas is a sweetheart for sure 🙂

    Like

     
  3. Sumana

    January 29, 2014 at 11:12 am

    Sucha gem of a person he is. So along with mantam updates, you need to post abbas bhai’s updates as well.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2014 at 4:04 pm

      Will try to post his updates too. Abbasisms then eh?

      Like

       
  4. manasaprasad

    October 15, 2014 at 9:00 pm

    Awww! He seems amazing!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
