RSS

Pursuit of Livelihood | Part 3

16 Dec

Hopefully the last!  The beginning of July was pretty bleak. We were leaving no stones unturned to find any source of income. Abbas got a call one fine day and they seemed to be very keen to meet him. That was his first time going for a physical meeting, so he went formally dressed with so much gusto. When he finished the interview, he called me and began guffawing at the other end. I was clueless as to what to make of it. He said “Seemu, I got the job but you won’t believe if I tell you that this is going to be a 4 hour job” I was flabbergasted initially but later when he assured me that he was not joking, I too laughed it off. We had never imagined someone calling for a proper interview for a one time job of just 4 hours!! Abbas was asked to come the following week but he didn’t get back to them.

I had applied for apprenticeships in Baking, Early Childhood training, nursing, aged care and many other courses that I lost track of my applications. One day all of a sudden, I received a call when I was at the train station. The lady on the other end talked about me applying for some course and said that she wanted to discuss with me about it. Now due to the surrounding noise, I thought I heard she was speaking about the Baking course. I started speaking very passionately about how Baking was my life blab la bla. She quietly listened to me for almost 5 minutes. And once my rambling was over she politely asked me “It’s so good to know about your interest in baking but I’m puzzled why you applied for Early Childhood Training course then”. I was only thankful that I wasn’t facing the lady. I tried to make up for the blasphemy but then it was very evident to her. She still hung up on a polite note J

Second half of July brought about a couple of opportunities for me. I had a telephonic round with one company which got cleared and they scheduled a client interview on Monday the 29th. On Friday the 26th a guy from company R who had interviewed me back in May suddenly called me. They said they had a 3 week contract which would start from Monday and asked if I would be able to join. I couldn’t believe my ears and I asked him if he was sure about it. He said if I was ready to join, he would immediately send me the contract papers. I told him about the interview on Monday and asked if he can make Tuesday as the joining date. But he said that it would not look professional for him to tell the client to postpone the joining date and that if I could not join on Monday, then they had to look for other options. I told him that I would get back to him. Abbas and I thought about it and also sought S’s opinion. She advised that it would be foolishness to leave an offer in the hope that an interview might click. She said getting an entry is more important and it will be easier to gather momentum from then on. We blindly accepted the offer and I joined work on Monday.  My contract got extended by two more weeks. Once it was over, the company R told me that they had received outstanding feedback from the client. So they were keen on taking for more projects. They were anticipating a 4 month contract where they were planning to propose my profile.

By then, my Project Manager at the client site had referred me to a friend of hers who worked for a competitor of company R. They took telephonic interview and offered me a 4 week contract. I called the HR at R and explained the situation. I told them that for me having a job is more vital so if they could assure me that they are going to take me for the upcoming project I can let go of the other offer but if they were still sceptical then I had to take up the offer. But since they were not in a position to assure me, we thought we must go with the 4wk offer. My first contract had ended on Thursday and I was on my way to sign the next contract on Friday morning. I got off the train and saw that the HR from R had left me a voice message saying he had something very urgent to tell me. I called back and he told that they had had a quick meeting with their General Manager and they had got approval to hire one resource. Since I was on their priority list anyway, they were ready to take me on their permanent payroll. I called Abbas and he told me to take a train back and go to the office of company R and finalize the deal before rejecting the other offer. I was on cloud Nine. It was a big achievement to get a permanent job here and I really wished to be associated with company R as they were one of the leaders in the field that I was working. I joined the company after a week’s gap.

In the meanwhile, Abbas also received a call back from the company D that had called him in May. He went through 4 rounds of interview and managed to grab a permanent job offer for himself too. We were hoping with all our might that he got that job as his profile had very less opportunities any way. I’m so proud of Abbas for he managed to impress the interviewers well enough for them to offer him a prominent role in the organisation. Given that it was the only opportunity on hand, we would have been screwed had he not made it! We were so relieved when both of us got permanent jobs and Abbas has been blaming me for all the success, happiness and achievement. It has been a bumpy ride but we made it to the other end of the tunnel. It wasn’t easy at all. This was undoubtedly the biggest challenge we faced but I’m elated to say that we came out with flying colours.

With both of us working, we had the big question of how we are going to manage Mantam after school hours. Will write about that in the next post.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

24 responses to “Pursuit of Livelihood | Part 3

  1. greenboochi

    December 16, 2014 at 6:26 pm

    It feels so good to read about the good ending 🙂 Hugs Seema.

    Like

     
  2. Archana

    December 16, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    At last a happy end to the job hunt. I was reading all these posts with lot of anxiety of wht next.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 25, 2014 at 6:48 pm

      Yayay, It was a happy end finally 🙂

      Like

       
  3. sangeethamenon06

    December 16, 2014 at 9:22 pm

    So happy for you Seema. Getting a job was very crucial for you guys and yes you nailed it 🙂 Congrats !!

    I laughed a lot thinking about the whole bakery telephonic conversation of yours. Haha!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 25, 2014 at 6:44 pm

      Hey Sangeetha,

      Thanks a lot. The conversation was so funny but thankfully I wasn’t facing that lady 🙂

      Like

       
  4. raji

    December 17, 2014 at 12:46 am

    Seema, you are an awesome and positive person. I am so impressed by your perseverance. Now that you are well settled, enjoy your days in Australia with Abbas and ManTam.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 25, 2014 at 6:40 pm

      Thank you so much Raji 🙂

      Like

       
  5. seema3

    December 17, 2014 at 1:21 am

    whoa! you guys really took big risks, glad everything worke dout. How stressed u both must have been in those may-june months….keep writing..love to read

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 25, 2014 at 6:19 am

      Thank you my namesake 🙂 Glad that you enjoyed the read

      Like

       
  6. Bhavani

    December 17, 2014 at 4:59 am

    Wow..all is well thats ends well…..Glad things worked out perfectly though after a little struggle. But I have to applaud you guys for taking such a big risk and settling in nicely…

    All the very best wishes…I am sure just like the US, you should have a very good After School care for your kids. Would love to read your experience on that.

    My kids have been in day care here in the US since they turned one. And they thrive so well..absolutely no issues…

    -Bhavani

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 25, 2014 at 6:19 am

      Hi Bhavani,

      Thanks a lot dear. Yes the day care is really good. Will write more in the upcoming posts.

      Thanks for the wishes. Happy holidays dear 🙂

      Like

       
  7. Little Fingers

    December 17, 2014 at 6:30 am

    I am so glad to hear how everything fell into place in the end. Congrats you both for standing for each other.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 25, 2014 at 6:17 am

      Thanks you so much Lifi 🙂

      Like

       
  8. amitasingh10

    December 17, 2014 at 7:57 am

    Wow, Happy Happy post today 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 25, 2014 at 6:17 am

      Hehe, all is well that end well eh? Thanks for sticking around Amita. Means a lot

      Like

       
  9. simple girl

    December 22, 2014 at 2:36 pm

    OMG seema..
    I read the whole post and the previous posts as well..
    You guys are rockstar.. loads of hugs ….

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 25, 2014 at 6:11 am

      Thank you SG. 🙂

      Like

       
  10. Deepthi

    December 29, 2014 at 10:55 am

    It’s was really like a film story.. Suspense, tragedy, recalling things and a happy ending.. Good one.. I liked it the most…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 30, 2014 at 4:42 am

      Glad to have entertained you filmi style 🙂

      Like

       
  11. AA_Mom

    December 30, 2014 at 11:04 am

    I thought I had written this comment – but maybe it was only in my head.

    As you know I have been reading you for a long time now – I am amazed to see how you have moved from a small town to the position that you are in only with sheer hard work and some risk taking. I have had situations in life similar to what you mentioned in your posts and just marching forward with hope in heart and a clear vision has lead to many a success and seeing the similar spirit in you is nice and humbling. 🙂

    Hope you all are always happy and continue to climb new heights.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      December 30, 2014 at 6:27 pm

      Hey AA_Mom,

      Yes, you have been reading me from quite a long time. Felt so good to read this comment. It does take a lot of mental strength to stay focussed amidst negativity. Kudos to you too. Hope to hear your story one day,

      Thank you so much AA_Mom. I’m elated and humbled to read this comment.

      Lots of love

      Like

       
  12. anisnest

    January 7, 2015 at 8:07 am

    hugs Seema.. your determination is what has got you through the tough times.. hugs again and stay happy always..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 8, 2015 at 9:43 am

      Hugs right back and thanks a lot for wishing us well right through

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
