RSS

Day 2 | Abbas’s Surprise Birthday Party

02 Jan

It was Abbas’s birthday yesterday and I had planned a surprise party for him. Since I am at home with Mantam and he is working, it was easier to buy stuff and hide in the pantry. But I was really scared that Mantam might spill the beans any moment. So, I hadn’t told them that we would have a party. I just told Abbas that my office colleague will visit us. Otherwise it would be difficult for me to prepare some food, keep the house orderly and make everyone wear decent clothes. I had invited Ro and his wife, one of my Mommy friends M, who has twin daughters studying with Mantam, her husband A also is friends with Abbas. I also invited one of Abbas’s colleague S who has become close to him with his family. I sneaked his number from Abbas’s phone and spoke to him. He offered to bring some food along and later his wife also called me to ask if I would like them to get a cake. They have a 3 month old baby and I told her that I would be happy by their presence and didn’t want them to stress out.

I was constantly in touch with these folks and was deleting all the messages just in case Abbas takes my phone to check something. On 1st Jan, Abbas was at home and I had no way of decorating the house without his knowledge. At first I thought I would ask Ro to take Abbas out to the mall with the pretext of buying something but most shops were closed here. So, I thought best idea was to brainwash Mantam that we must do some decoration on Abbas’s birthday as we never got around celebrating their birthday. They requested Abbas and the three of them decked up the house.

Now Abbas didn’t know that Ro knew about his birthday. He casually called him to wish Happy New Year. And Mantam told on phone “Ro uncle, Ro uncle, aaj Baba ka birthday hai” and Ro started emotionally blackmailing Abbas that he didn’t bother to tell him or invite him. He is having some other friends and not Ro. Abbas told that some colleague of mine is coming and that he hadn’t invited anyone. But Ro was happily pulling Abbas’s legs. Finally Abbas told him to come for dinner. Ro again started saying senti dialogues like “Oh now, you are calling me out of pity.” Abbas was actually feeling bad that he should have invited Ro. Anyway, Ro agreed to come (pretended)
Ro and his wife were the first ones to arrive at 6. Abbas seemed a bit confused as they were invited for dinner while my colleague was supposed to come at 6  Then came M, A and the twins. Abbas then figured out that something was cooking. He asked me if my colleague was actually coming or not. I just said that someone is coming. He kept on guessing but never had the faintest clue that I could connect to his colleague S. When they came he was shell shocked.

We had a lovely time together. Although the guests didn’t know each other, they all bonded soon. M had brought Chhole and I made arrangements for Chhole Chaat with chopped onions, cucumber, tomato, lemon, chillies, green chutney, tamarind date chutney and bhujia. I had baked garlicky potato wedges and made couscous salad. Grilled some store bought garlic bread and made microwave popcorn. Served store-bought Hummus and Avocado dips, juice and Coke. After the food, we all played Bingo / Housie. It was so much fun with kids also participating in it. Ro won two prizes and it was a sight to watch all 4 kids staring at him as if he was the villain. We had so much fun playing the game. Abbas even entertained people with his rastachaap dance.

After the game, we cut the cake that I had made. It was a celebration chocolate cake and was liked by all. Once everyone left, we were very exhausted physically but were high in spirits  It was a beautiful evening spent with lovely people. Abbas was overwhelmed with so much love and attention and he felt very special for it was the first time that he had such a celebration where people brought him presents 

IMG_2470

IMG_2473

IMG_2474

IMG_2477

IMG_2479

IMG_2486

 
34 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

34 responses to “Day 2 | Abbas’s Surprise Birthday Party

  1. greenboochi

    January 3, 2015 at 12:42 am

    Wishing Abbas a very happy birthday 🙂 You did a great job Seema.. 🙂 I can’t manage having this kind of surprise party for S.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 4, 2015 at 11:24 am

      Abbas says thank you 🙂 Me too 😀 Even I thought I would never be able to do it. I was feeling so weird to be hiding from him which I never do. You too sure can if you plan (read scheme) it carefully. Take help from your friends also.

      Like

       
  2. manasaprasad

    January 3, 2015 at 2:07 am

    How awesome! 🙂 A belated birthday wishes to Abbas! He is one lucky husband and baba!
    By the way, is that your home? At first glance I thought it was a rented hall or something! It is gorgeous! 🙂 And the cake looks delicious too… Can you post the recipe sometime?

    Like

     
  3. Tharani

    January 3, 2015 at 2:34 am

    Wow. You are awesome Seema. The only time I planned a surprise birthday party for the husband, he came home much earlier than expected as surprised us all and I gave up after that 😉
    Glad Abbas enjoyed the day and that cake looks yummy…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 4, 2015 at 11:31 am

      Haha, sorry to hear that the surprise boomeranged 🙂 Thanks Tharani

      Like

       
  4. popgoesthebiscuit

    January 3, 2015 at 2:52 am

    Wow, good job in pulling this off. Awesome that the twins are at a fun age and can serve as accomplices for planning and executing surprises:) The menu had me drooling btw and now I am craving chole chaat.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 4, 2015 at 11:33 am

      Yes, with kids as accomplices it was double the fun. Chaats are always tempting no? Ayyo, you made me drool now 🙂

      Like

       
  5. thesingingmama

    January 3, 2015 at 3:24 am

    Heartwarming to read this post, great effort, kudos to you. Belated b’day wishes to Abbas. You all look cute. Yes, you can call me TSM 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 4, 2015 at 11:33 am

      Thank you so much TSM.

      Like

       
  6. Bikramjit

    January 3, 2015 at 3:40 am

    Many happy returns of the day to abbas. . Happy birthday

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 4, 2015 at 11:34 am

      Thanks Bikram – from Abbas 😀

      Like

       
  7. lampnitslight

    January 3, 2015 at 3:45 am

    Many Happy Returns of the Day to Abbas 🙂 Great effort Seema!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 4, 2015 at 11:34 am

      Thank you from both of us Garima

      Like

       
  8. princessbutter

    January 3, 2015 at 3:56 am

    Happy birthday to Abbas!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 4, 2015 at 11:35 am

      Abbas passes on his thanks to you Princessbutter 🙂

      Like

       
  9. Little Fingers

    January 3, 2015 at 6:20 am

    Such a fun surprise party that was . So happy to see you all together enjoying the day.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 4, 2015 at 11:36 am

      Thank you so much Lifi

      Like

       
  10. Vaayadi Pennu ;)

    January 3, 2015 at 6:16 pm

    Surprise birthday parties are the bestest …

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 4, 2015 at 11:50 am

      Yeah, true that!

      Like

       
  11. summerscript

    January 3, 2015 at 10:42 pm

    The pics are lovely 🙂 Food looks yummy and house looks very nice 🙂

    Like

     
  12. lifeslittletwists

    January 4, 2015 at 11:54 pm

    Hats off to you Seema! With all the stress of last year and so much happening, you have managed to pull off a wonderful surprise party for Abbas…tell him that he is a very lucky man! 😉 For some reason I had tears by the end of this post! God bless!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 5, 2015 at 8:33 am

      Thanks RS. He does mention it quite often that he is very lucky 🙂

      Like

       
  13. lifeslittletwists

    January 4, 2015 at 11:55 pm

    And your house looks great. Now i want to see the house pics

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 5, 2015 at 8:34 am

      We bought a few things to deck up the house a little bit last month. Will do a picture post soon (Thanks for the idea)

      Like

       
  14. The Girl in Blue Jeans

    January 5, 2015 at 7:26 pm

    Wow! Kudos on pulling that off! Personally, I cannot manage, or even try a feat like this 😐 I am a pathetic secret keeper, plus kids and work and all that, even thinking about it is exhausting me! Lovely pics too 😀

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 8, 2015 at 9:20 am

      I was on holidays and Abbas was working, which helped me in executing it easily. In our case, Abbas is a pathetic secret keeper 😀 Thanks DI

      Like

       
  15. simple girl

    January 5, 2015 at 7:47 pm

    That was such a cute surprise .. Belated happy birthday to Abbas………. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 8, 2015 at 9:22 am

      Thank you Simple Girl. Will convey your wishes to Abbas.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
