RSS

I’m still alive and kicking

01 Mar

Dunno how I manage to do it every year after the blogging marathon. I did not write a single post in Febraury. I was determined to write one yesterday before the month whizzed past but I was at my laziest best. Sigh!

Life just got busier as Mantam’s school re-opened on 28th of Jan. They entered year 1, we split them into separate sections. The homework cycle changed L Earlier they were given homework on Friday and were to submit on Wednesday. This year, the homework is sent home on Monday and they are to submit on Friday. In Kindy, they had all fun stuff to do. But this time around, they are given 19 words every week to write and practise. On Friday, the teacher also takes a dictation of those words. Along with that they get a book home each day to read. In addition, they have to speak in front of the class on a topic. Again, last year it was simple topics that we would just spontaneously talk about while having breakfast or walking to the station. But this year, topics need some preparation ahead of time and also some efforts from parents. The only advantage of all this is that the TV in our home is resting thoroughly during the week as there are no takers J

To add to all this, my travel time has increased and I am told that we need to maintain strict 8 hours at work. I drop Mantam at 8:30 and take the 8:35 train in the mornings. I reach office by 9:15 on most days. On a few days that the train is delayed, I reach late and consequently I stay back and reach home late as well. Abbas picks Mantam in the evening from the school care and reaches home before me. He gives Mantam a shower, makes tea, loads the clothes in washing machine on alternate days and also tidies the home (in his own standards but it never appeals to me, grrr) I stop by supermarket once in a while to pick milk or bread or such necessities on the way back home. By the time I freshen up and sip that tea, the clock makes no delay in striking 7. Abbas and I juggle between getting the homework done, collecting the truckload of tiffin boxes from all four bags. Due to my weakness of not being able to start cooking unless the sink and kitchen platform are clear, my cooking gets delayed at times. Somehow, I manage to rustle up dinner by 9 on most days. By this times, Mantam are drained out and have no energy left. So, Abbas feeds them so that they can hit the bed quickly. By the time we finish dinner, I don’t even have the energy to clear the dining table L

I think I had mentioned about attending a boot camp during lunch hour at office. I enrolled in it and have been regularly attending since three weeks. Abbas opines that it is due to this workout that I’m out of energy. I agree with him but with passing days, I know that my fitness level will improve. I can see the improvement in me when compared to the first few days. It is surely a task to go change into workout clothes, run to the park opposite your office building, make your body do heavy duty exercises, sweat out in summer sun, come back and change into office clothes, have lunch while you work. But I have started enjoying the routine a lot and this is the only thing that I am looking forward to at this client place. Workwise, I have been assigned with something that I have never done before and I don’t have any support to lean on. Google zindabad! Please pray for me to sail past this hurdle. If I somehow learn this new tool and make it work, it would not only make me more confident but also add a great value to my skill set. To make things even worse, we have a new Desi manager who is leaving no stone unturned to micromanage us. It’s a shame to see such unprofessional attitude, which I didn’t experience in my past three stints in this country.

Thanks to those of you who mailed in to check. I will try to be regular but can’t promise as you can see how erratic life is at this point L

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “I’m still alive and kicking

  1. manasaprasad

    March 1, 2015 at 12:15 pm

    Wow! I’m impressed with how u have been managing so much! A boot camp will make u even better at handling everything life throws at u! Take care!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 10, 2016 at 5:11 pm

      Yeah, sometimes I wonder how manage to always have my plate full and overloaded all the time, but it has become normal for me now. I would go crazy otherwise. 😀

      Like

       
  2. popgoesthebiscuit

    March 2, 2015 at 1:47 pm

    Hooray for doing the bootcamp! That’s impressive that you make it out there every single day in the middle of work. I have to just get up from my desk(I work from home) , put on my shoes and get on an elliptical at home in the middle of work, and somehow am unable to do even that! The two hour cooking marathon must be nuts – with dinner and lunch boxes to pack. Would love to read/ hear about what you typically make that works well for the next day lunch boxes, especially for the girls. Good luck with learning the new tool thingee.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 10, 2016 at 5:10 pm

      Hey thanks a lot. I think even I wouldn’t have moved an inch if I were working from home. I enjoy this more as it is done in a group and other colleagues at work go there too. We kinda motivate each other and don’t let one another skip sessions. 😀 Will try to do a post on what I pack for them in their lunch box. (Really really sorry for the delay in replying)

      Like

       
  3. Bikramjit

    March 2, 2015 at 8:26 pm

    WElcome BACK 🙂

    and fitness is imortant so keep on with the boot camp with the kids growing up you gonna need all the fitness 🙂 he he he

    take care and god bless

    Are you going to see any of the world cup matches .. If India make it to the semifinals I am planning to come 🙂 the match will probably be in sydney so fingers crossed … the best is if i get leave it will be sponsored so i can save my money toooooooo yayyyy

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 10, 2016 at 5:08 pm

      Oopsie, sorry for going through the comment after more than a year *Hanging my head in shame* 😦 Did you come to Sydney?

      Like

       
  4. journeyofmythoughts

    March 27, 2015 at 8:16 pm

    Thanks to you, i took up that challenge. Though it is hard to manage, i found it really helpful and it brought out the spontaneous me outside and made me talk about all those things that i would never be able to during normal days. I generally think of a topic and within seconds i decide to skip posting it for the fear of detailing. It looks as if i am much better at posting regularly after the January stint.
    And wow, you do all that during lunch hour! That’ amazing. Good luck with your new tool learning thing.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 10, 2016 at 5:07 pm

      Thanks a lot and forgive my laziness in approving the comments so late 😦 Really ashamed

      Like

       
  5. amita

    April 9, 2015 at 6:21 pm

    Madam, hope all is good at your end. Loads of love to ManTam.

    Please take care dear.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 10, 2016 at 5:06 pm

      Yes Amita, all is well. How have you been?

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
