RSS

7th Birthday

08 Jun

Dear Mantam,

This has been the most awaited birthday for you both. Last year when we moved to this country, both your parents did not have a job. For most obvious reasons, we did not have any kind of celebration as such. The only thing you demanded was a visit to the beach and you were always accommodating of the situation we were in. But somewhere in your tiny hearts, you did have a desire for a celebration and it only grew as you started attending your friends’ birthday parties. Baba and I wanted to make it up for you and we thought you deserved a great party this year. As usual, your Mumma has been planning it for a couple of months now and has driven your Baba crazy. But truth to be told, we are equally excited and looking forward to it as you are! (PS: We might have a low key one next year to recover the money and effort spent this time :-P)

I haven’t been blogging regularly ever since the marathon came to a close. I know I have missed out on recording a lot of your activities, dialogues and milestones. I would like to sum it up in this post before I forget 🙂

Tammu,

You are still the baby of the house always being looked after, being doted upon and always the one receiving advice from the rest of us (Mannu included). You have always conveniently leaned on Mannu for help and support. We were worried that you might not be independent and would always look for a shoulder to carry your burden. Hence Baba and I thought it right to separate the two of you into different section this academic year. You were resistant to the prospect but we did convince you with the positives. Though you reluctantly gave in, you have fared quite well for yourself. Initially you did miss out on getting your home reader everyday, forgot to submit your homework, lost the notes handed out as Mannu was always there last year to remind you all of these. But with constant reminder from us, you are getting used to being by yourself. We are happy about this decision and I know for a fact that so are you J You are a social butterfly and the last time I went to your class, I came to know why your tiffin box always comes back with food. You are too busy chatting, greeting and catch up with so many of your friends during the recess / lunch breaks 😀 You seem to be quite popular among your friends and seniors as well.

In the initial days of this year, your school had asked students who were interested in dance to go for rehearsals during the lunch break on two consecutive days. They would be selecting kids to represent the school in dance events outside school. You being you, did not bother to attend the rehersal at all J Mannu, enthu cutlet, attended and got selected in it. When we got a note from the dance teacher that Mannu was selected, we lightly patted her out of nervousness. We were worried how you would react to this. Surprisingly you were happy for your sister as much as we were. After some time, we got a note from school saying that your were selected to be a part of the school’s writers’ club. You were excited to be a part of it J Last week when Mannu and her dance group performed on the stage during school assembly, you were found cheering for her and you later told us how proud you felt at that moment. Moments like this make us feel that we must be doing a decent job at raising you two!

You know darling, your love for reading and writing makes me feel so good. I love the way you write notes and stick it around the house. It never fails to bring a smile on my house when I see your trace in almost every corner of the house. Be it a message or some drawing or a doll wrapped in funny attire or some creative craft. You are a joker and make all of us laugh with your funny expressions. You have always been the ‘eat-to-live’ kind of a person but in recent times, you have been making rounds to the kitchen when you find the aroma attractive. It gives me a new hope that you will regard food as more than just a necessity to quench hunger.

Mannu,

What do I say about you? It’s as if I’m speaking about myself. As you are growing up, I can see you as a reflection of me. You have inherited my positives along with all the quirks without being partial J Abbas goes bonkers when you initiate cleaning the house as the first priority on Saturday mornings. In spite of his efforts to shush you down, you are persistent about getting it done before putting your feet up to relax. You are the go-to person when any of us is looking for something around the house. I love the way you always follow my tail when I plan to do something new and I feel that I am in adult company when I discuss with you. Unlike Tammu, you readily accepted the idea of being in a separate section. But from what I have learned from you, you both hug each other when you meet at the after-school care. At home, you still try to dominate Tammu as you think she is a kid. We keep telling you to let her learn by mistakes.

When you brought the letter from the dance teacher home, you sneakily handed it to us. You whispered to us and said that Tammu might be sad if she knows. You said you were ok to let go of this opportunity as your sister can’t be a part of it. What do I say about you? You are like the guardian of our family. You keep a track of all that is going on. You remind me to take my jacket, you warn Baba to be careful when he gets fish and tries to cut it with a butcher knife. You are always aware of what the weather is going to be in the morning, sometimes you check outside window, at times you check the app on my phone and then advise us what we should carry along when we venture out. When I take you out for shopping with me, you constantly check the price of the items I am checking and ask me if I really need it. Lol J And when I reach the billing counter, you scan the shopping trolley and tell me that it might all cost a lot of dollars. Do I have so much of money on me? I smile and give a nod. At times you even carry your small money pouch with coins in it and tell me that you have some money on you just in case I fall short!

You are and have always been Baba’s girl. Next to me, you are the one who makes him go weak in the knees. But lately you are also worried when you think that some of your actions might hurt him. You chose me as your confidante and I’m loving every bit of it. Unlike Tammu, you are crazy about food. Whenever we go to a restaurant, you keenly participate in the process of ordering. As soon as we place the order, you clarify what kind of dishes we have sought. You eat like a pro with a fork, spoon or knife as applicable. Simultaneously, you keep a watch on each of the plate and shoot warnings at us if any of the dish is about to get empty saying “I haven’t tried that yet. Save some for me” I love the way you taste everything with so much passion. Whenever we go out, you carry a bag without fail with sunscreen, lip balm, toys, notebook, pencil etc. You try to be independent in whatever way possible. You ask never ending questions and we do get irked with them often. But your silence bothers us more than your banter.

Mantam,

Both of you are two different personalities, yet you always speak in unison when it comes to being righteous. Even though you know that we make you eat the food you bring back home in tiffin boxes, while doing so you have to listen to a repetitive lecture of why you must not waste food, you never throw it in the bins. You have also been found advocating the same lecture to your friends who chuck their food into trash cans. Both of you have also stood up for friends who were being sidelined by a group of kids. Even if Baba and I have a silly argument, you both pitch in from nowhere to see how you could calm us down 😀 Baba has programmed you well by now to switch the channel or divert me when there are scenes/songs where parent love is being portrayed to prevent me from shedding tears. The innocence of childhood is slowly weaning off from you and you are exhibiting a few signs of growing up. Baba and I have always been proud parents and we feel that you balance our life in the right proportions. No matter what situation you are in, always remember that Baba and I will stay by your side.

Love,

Mumma

 
11 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “7th Birthday

  1. More than words

    June 8, 2015 at 9:21 am

    Happy Bday to the wonderful duo !! They are such perfect little kids looking out for each other… Hope their love grows more and shines forever…. It was a joy to read the post Seema !!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 10, 2016 at 5:03 pm

      Thanks a ton Morethanwords. Hope so too

      Like

       
  2. Bikramjit

    June 8, 2015 at 4:07 pm

    Happy birthday and many happy returns of the day to the little ones. . 7 years wowo time is flying ..

    God bless

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 10, 2016 at 5:02 pm

      Thanks a lot Bikram for your wishes

      Like

       
  3. greenboochi

    June 8, 2015 at 11:14 pm

    What a sweet sweet post.. It melted my heart to read about Mantam. Happy birthday little darlings 🙂 Wishing you both all the happiness in the world 🙂

    Like

     
  4. anisnest

    June 12, 2015 at 1:57 am

    loads of love to the twinsies.. wishing them a wonderful birthday.
    Seema, I am sure you would have made their special day more special with your personal touches.. waiting to read more about the party 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 10, 2016 at 4:51 pm

      Thanks Ani. They really enjoyed 🙂

      Like

       
  5. mamaslifeanddreams

    June 19, 2015 at 10:21 am

    Here is loads of birthday wishes for Mantam , may they grow up into lovely individuals with every year.
    And Hi Seema , I am a first time commentator on your blog but I have devoured almost each entry on this page for the last few weeks . And I am in Sydney too ! Lets see if we can connect better 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      March 10, 2016 at 4:35 pm

      Hey mamaslifeanddreams, Im so sorry for the delay in replying. Good to know you are in Sydney too. Drop me a note at kamathseema1@gmail.com and we could connect

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
