RSS

Fathers’ Day

19 Jun

Dear Annu,

My timeline is filled with messages dedicated to Fathers today and I feel left out. I want to tell the world too that I have the most amazing dad but I keep it to myself. I don’t want to bring any more shame to you than I already have! Well, I have learnt to count my stars and focus on the positives. Though we haven’t interacted or seen each other for over a decade and not a single day goes by without your thoughts, I don’t want to mourn the lack of your presence in my life. I just wanted to write this post to recount some fond memories of my childhood connected with you Annu 🙂

  • You would always bring a box of Kaju Katli for me whenever you went out on your short trips.
  • You would buy latest Harry Potter books and Sidney Sheldon novels for me when you would return from your Bangalore business trip.
  • I still cherish those early mornings when we would read newspaper together and the way you, grandpa and I would divide the newspaper pages between us and kept passing on the page that we finished reading in a circle.
  • I remember the time when you loved Madhuri’s colourful costume in the song ‘Ek do teen’ and took me to a tailor to get a similar one made in my size. You sat there for quite a long time to help the tailor understand how exactly you wanted the dress to be.
  • You would always buy me yellow coloured clothes as you thought the colour suited me. Every time I wore the dress you bought, you would have a look and say that you would buy another shade of yellow next time. Even now, when I wear yellow I feel so nostalgic and closer to you J
  • Solving crosswords was one of our favourite things to do along with grandma
  • Whenever Amma made pure veg dinner, we would scorn under our nose yet eat very little and say that we were full. On many days you would finish dinner and go to the shop to finish some pending tasks. On days where we all would have had an uninteresting dinner, we would keep our ears alert on your return to hear the sound of a plastic bag in which you would have got some non-veg takeaway for our second round of dinner to quench our unsatisfied souls. Amma would scoff at how our appetite had magically reappeared late at the night
  • If I were to call myself punctual compared to the Indian stereotyped standards, then the credit must go to you. You were an epitome of punctuality! Amma and all of us would hop into the car as soon as you adorned the driver’s seat no matter what state we were in. We learned to get dressed on the go. Amma had even mastered the art of pleating her saree as she walked towards the car

 

I might want to write another post as I recall many fun incidents now. Before I go, all I remember is your dialogue that you would often tell Sindhu and I “I could go any length for my daughters’ happiness. Even if you asked me tigress’ milk, I would get it for you”. Annu, would you please get yourself back to me? That is all I seek, pretty please!

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Fathers’ Day

  1. More than words

    June 20, 2016 at 2:11 am

    This post is so sweet Seema but it made me so sad Ssema … Sending a silent prayer that u reconnect with ur dad soon … Hugs honey !!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 15, 2017 at 11:47 pm

      Thanks a lot dear, means a lot to me

      Like

       
  2. lifeslittletwists

    June 20, 2016 at 11:52 pm

    {{{HUGS}}} Beeg beeg HUGS! I hope and pray that you will get to meet your Dad soon… and things will change for the better… Until then, hang in there girl! {{HUGS}} again… these words seem so insufficient… 😦

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 15, 2017 at 11:47 pm

      Thanks RS, no they are not insufficient, they count and mean a lot. Thanks for instilling hope.

      Like

       
  3. Greenboochi

    June 22, 2016 at 5:31 pm

    Hugs Seema..

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
