RSS

Day 4 | Secret Santa

04 Jan

After having successfully played Santa claus these many years, this year was a bummer. Mantam already found out sometime this year that their parents were playing naughty games with them in the name of Mr. Claus. Although they were almost sure of the truth, they still had a teeny tiny doubt about it as we never admitted to them upfront of our crime J

In November I asked them to write a letter to Santa with their wishlist. They giggled as if I have cracked the funniest joke on earth and retorted “Aren’t you and Baba the Santa? Why do we need to write a letter to you?” I didn’t feel like giving in and pestered on “You just write your letter to Santa and let’s send it by post like you do every year. They didn’t take me seriously. After a few days I found out that they had written their letters but were hiding it from me. Mannu even told me that she will not show me the letter. I cheekily told her that she could seal it in an envelope so that I could just go to the post office, buy a stamp, stick on it and drop it in postbox. But she was more intelligent than me. She told me why I couldn’t buy the stamp so that she can stick it on the envelope and drop it in their school post box. Now I didn’t have an answer and chose to keep mum.

Tammu on the other hand wrote a letter with some question in the letter. She gave it to me and asked if I could reply to her instead of Australia Post replying with a generic printed reply from Santa. I told her to just give the letter and that the real Santa would certainly reply. She got the pun. Mantam finally gave their letters to me and I wrote a reply to both of them and they simply loved reading them. The feeling of watching them read and enjoy it with so much laughter filled me up with elation.

Because they took a very long time to surrender their letters to me, I already bought a few presents for them for Christmas assuming that they might not give them to me at all. Mantam were taken by their after school care to shopping centre one day as part of a pre-planned activity. We were asked to give them some money for lunch and some for doing Christmas shopping. They both told us that they would buy something for their friend who was hospitalized then. We gave them money for both.

On Christmas day, while we sneakily placed their presents under the tree, we found that there were some presents for Abbas and I too, beautifully wrapped and with card alongside them. Both the girls were jumping to see our reactions. When we were wondering how they got the money to buy the stuff, they told us the truth. They bought one combo lunch and shared between them and bought these gifts with the remaining money. We were extremely touched by this gesture. But we were in for a surprise inside the cards. The cards read – “Mr. A / Mrs. A, Merry Christmas! You can tell your kids the truth now! Love, Santa 😀 “

We went on a laughter riot reading that note.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Day 4 | Secret Santa

  1. Greenboochi

    January 4, 2017 at 11:53 pm

    Mantam are the best 🙂 Lots of love to them!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 5, 2017 at 10:13 pm

      Thanks a lot GB. Love from Mantam to GB aunty

      Like

       
  2. lifeslittletwists

    January 5, 2017 at 1:40 am

    Wah! These 2 have already grown up enough to joke to you! Mr.A and Mrs.A huh?! Whose idea was it? Man or Tam?

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 5, 2017 at 10:12 pm

      Yeah tell me about it. It was Tammu’s idea. All this keeda wriggles in her mind only 🙂

      Like

       
  3. summerscript

    January 5, 2017 at 7:05 pm

    How smart ! 😀

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 5, 2017 at 10:11 pm

      Yes, we were bowled out!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
