RSS

Day 15 | Holidaying – part 7

15 Jan

We woke up 7-ish the following morning as we planned to start for home as early as possible. Did I mention that I had done two loads of laundry and got all the clothes dried the previous night itself? I kept the clothes that we had to wear on that day aside, folded all the clean dry clothes and packed back in our bags. I can’t tell you how happy that made me feel to think that all I had to do after going home was to transfer the folded clothes from the bags to the wardrobe. Mantam woke up around 8 reluctantly. As soon as we told them that Molly was up and that the earlier they got ready the longer they would get to play with Molly, they sprung up instantly. We wrote feedback (farewell note) for the hosts in the guest diary in our room. We could hear the hustle and bustle in the kitchen upstairs where the big brekkie was being cooked.

 

We went upstairs while the kids had already started playing. We helped Axel and Sue in giving the last-minute touches and arranging the breakfast table. On the table were bread toasts, bacon, mushrooms, scrambled and poached eggs and hash browns. We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast together chatting, chatting and more chatting. It seemed like we had known one another for a long time. We made them promise that they would come over to Sydney once our house in completed and stay with us. Axel took us to their garden to click some family portraits as he was a professional photographer. We took a picture together as a group too. Sue gave us a carton of eggs from their chickens to take home.

 

After a long adieu, we finally managed to leave their home although half-heartedly. When we had just been 10 kms away from their home, Axel messaged saying that we had left our games of scrabble and spot it at their place and that they will get them when they visit us J We took only 2 loo breaks on the way and drove straight home as we were craving for home food badly. We reached around 3 PM, I took shower first and headed straight into the kitchen to make a simple meal. Mantam did a lot of unpacking and cleaning the home. Abbas did the rest. A comfortable nap on our own beds, hot cup of homemade chai that followed, the feeling of being back to our own cocoon, and most importantly the next day not being a working day were some the blessings we happily counted.

 

And with that, folks, my holiday series comes to an end. I will soon be looking desperately for tags and cheat posts when I run out of topics to write about. However, I have been feeling so good about blogging again. It makes me redeem the guilt of ignoring my blog baby.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Day 15 | Holidaying – part 7

  1. lifeslittletwists

    January 16, 2017 at 1:52 am

    One takeaway for me – to try and sort out laundry before going back home – 1 task less after reaching!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 17, 2017 at 4:31 pm

      So true, it’s one of the painful tasks for me after reaching.

      Like

       
  2. anisnest

    January 18, 2017 at 7:09 am

    that sounds like a lovely vacation Seema.. I could see it all through your words..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 18, 2017 at 9:10 am

      Thanks Ani. Glad that you read through all the posts and enjoyed the vacation along with us

      Liked by 1 person

       
  3. Greenboochi

    January 18, 2017 at 11:57 pm

    I love reading your posts Seems, especially for the level of detail you remember 🙂 I loved this Holidaying series and felt as though I witnessed all of it first hand. That’s the magic of your writing 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 23, 2017 at 11:14 am

      Oh my god! That just made my day. I always wonder if the posts get boring with so much of details involved. But once I start writing, I somehow go deep down small details. Thank you dearest GB. Mmmuah

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
