RSS

Day 17 | Mantam-ism to the rescue

17 Jan

All these days I was happily sailing through the Blogathon with ease due to the holiday series. Today I was totally blank as to what I must write. With a little more than an hour to go, sleep luring me to go to bed and tiredness causing the mind to protest, the very own Mantamism comes to the rescue. Thankfully I had made simple notes about a few conversations on my phone which I am going to elaborate in this post.

As you all know, we as a family, have started day-dreaming about out new home. We talk at length about all the things we plan to do there, how we are going to live there, when we might be moving, etc. You get the drift right?

Some of the conversations related to the same:

Abbas: As soon as we move in, I’m going to buy an aquarium which will be at the entrance of the house. In the backyard I’ll have a huge cage for my pet birds. We’ll also get a dog.

Me: You do all that you want, but not as soon as we move in. By the way I’m only interested in a dog.

Tammu: I want a little baby sister. My friend K had a little baby sister mumma. I too want to have one.

Abbas (in a mischevious tone): Seemu, we are both such nice people. We must produce more like us as a gift to the world.

Me: Oh yeah, why not! Only if you can conceive, I’m happy to go for it.

Abbas: Hmph

Tammu (Now clueless about the decision): Mumma, so can I have a baby sister?

Me: Yes darling, you can have a doggy sister.


Abbas: We will have to buy a beeeeeg TV and a fridge before anything else.

Me: Why do you need a beeeeg TV first? We already have a TV and we can live with it for some time.

Tammu: Can we have a swimming pool?

Abbas and I (unanimously): NO!!

Tammu: Ok fine. Can I have my own room?

Abbas: No!

Me: Yes!

Mannu: Can we have a trampoline?

Abbas: Yes, why not?

Me: Errrr, we’ll think about it. By the time we move in, you girls might not even be interested then.

Abbas and I back to the initial argument about TV.

Mannu (in a gyani-baba tone): Guys, guys! Listen to me.

Abbas and I looked at each other and then at her

Mannu: First we must fulfil the needs. Only then we can think of the wants. Remember that needs are important. Wants can be let go of.

Abbas and I: ?!?!?!? (Too shocked to utter any word)


 

Getting a dog has been voted in favour of by all four of us. So we have started imagining our future pet dog too. We even started coming up with names. My suggestion was ‘Rocky’ as my pet dog at Kundapur was named that and we were very attached to it.

Mantam and Abbas had many other suggestions, but as soon as I suggested Rocky, Mantam liked the name. Abbas utterly disliked it.

Mantam trying to convince Abbas.

Mannu: Rocky is such a nice name. It sounds like a rockstar

Abbas: Why would you name your dog something that sounds like a rockstar. It sounds so silly.

Tammu: Baba, if we name our dog Rocky then we will become a smart family.

All three of us (puzzled): Whattt???

Tammu: Look, mumma’s name starts with S, then Mannu with M, then Baba with A, Rocky with R and my name with T. S, M, A, R, T – that will make us the Smart family!


We had recently been to one of friends’ home during christmas where we partied and stayed overnight. Mannu and I spent some time alone in their backyard sitting on 2 zero gravity chairs, gazing at the stars and having a heart to heart conversation. We really enjoyed it and this is how the conversation ended.

Me: Mannu, I feel so happy to be having this conversation with you.

Mannu: Me too Mumma.

Me: I absolutely love the idea of spending 10-15 minutes every night gazing at the sky. DO you like it?

Mannu: Yes Mumma. It’s really good.

Me: Hmmm

Mannu: Mumma, once we move to our new home, all four of will do this together. What do you say?

Me (excited by the idea): We’ll buy 4 of these chairs and do star gazing together. Sounds like a plan.

Mannu (in a concerned tone): Mumma, do you think we’ll have enough money to buy 4 chairs once we move in?

I started laughing at her innocence and went to tell Abbas the same

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Day 17 | Mantam-ism to the rescue

  1. lifeslittletwists

    January 18, 2017 at 4:51 am

    SMART family already knows the difference between needs and wants.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. anisnest

    January 18, 2017 at 8:51 am

    tell me more about the need vs want.. this is something I learned from Adi few years ago. until then I never thought about need vs want!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Seema

      January 18, 2017 at 9:09 am

      Yeah, they said that they were taught it in school. The kids seem to have it all sorted eh? *facepalm*

      Liked by 1 person

       
  3. Greenboochi

    January 18, 2017 at 7:52 pm

    Mantam are the best 🙂 🙂 many kisses and hugs to them! Thank God you didnt have any other topic and chose Mantamisms for today’s post – you have made one soul extremely happy 😀

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 23, 2017 at 11:20 am

      Hahaha, I’m so glad that I made you happy with Mantamism post. I’m collating a few other incidents on my phone. Will do another one soon, just for you darling

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
