RSS

Day 20 | Sisterhood

20 Jan

Some time back I wrote a post about my dad here. It’s my sister Sindhu’s turn today. I am going to resort to bullet points for my own convenience. 🙂

  • Sindhu and I have an age difference of 3.5 years, we happily sandwiched our brother and cause him misery most times
  • We were a riot together, ganging up on most occasions, arguing like attorneys in the court defending their case, supporting each other through thick and thin.
  • At the mention of arguments, I remember Amma telling me how Sindhu never spoke till was was 5 I guess (Don’t remember clearly, but she had apparently crossed the maximum age when a child generally starts speaking) My parents were very worried as she had started using sign language to converse. A well-meaning soul suggested my parents to visit a temple in Kalawara where one has to buy silver ornaments shaped in the form of the body part that has any disability and put it in the Hundi (a donation box of sorts) and soon the disability gets cured. My mum, being the believer that she is, went to the temple and deposited a silver tongue in the Hundi. Soon enough Sindhu began to speak and there was no stopping. Amma would sometimes even joke that it was a mistake when she would lose arguments with Sindhu
  • Sindhu had curly hair and after a shampoo session, she would look like Putta parthi sai baba 🙂
  • Sindhu was the last to go to school, by the virtue of being the youngest. When she was still at home, my bro and I would discuss about exams and she would think that a doctors comes to examine us a school
  • Sindhu and I would always experiment with cooking. On most evenings, we would try out new dishes and our Annamma (granny) was our partner in crime. Three of us would hog the freshly cooked experiment dish as it would always come out amazing. While Sindhu had this gifted talent of inventing new recipes which turned out superb 99% of the time, I had a special skill with which whatever I tried to cook always ended up tasting the same even with different ingredients 🙂
  • I had this habit of drinking gallons of water and peeing at the same rate. So whenever we made some plans to start doing something, be it cooking, crafting, going somewhere, playing, whatever it could be, I would always say “Let me go pee first before starting”. Sindhu named peeing as “Shubh Karya” (auspicious task). Eventually it so happened that as soon as we decided on some activity, Sindhu would say, “Seemakka, you go and do your Shubh Karya first. Then we’ll start”
  • As any sisters worth their salt would fight over clothes, we did too. There was a time when we would fit into each other’s clothes. We had one whole wardrobe for ourselves and that was the best time as we had more clothes than ever because we exchanged. There was one red chudidar which was both out favourite. Believe me, we have fought over that dress as if it was our ancestral wealth. Sometimes, I used to reach the wardrobe first to claim my right over it and then there was Sindhu who even hid it once so that I couldn’t find it.
  • Whenever we would go to restaurants, if we ordered a dish that has 6 pieces of XYZ, and we would be only 4, I would think that I wil get only one piece so let me eat it slowly by taking my on time. But Sindhu used to gobble it down super quick. One day she told me the secret as to why she did that. If she would finish her first piece quickly, whenever someone would try to serve the remaining two pieces, they would always put one piece on her plate on seeing that it is empty. Then I learnt this trick and started doing the same. Sindhu would pull my leg saying “I am running in loss after teaching you my tricks. I should have taken the advantage myself and not told you.
  • When Sindhu was very small, in one of her first exams she copied from a friend of hers. She was probably too young to understand the concept of exams. The question was to write father’s name. Luckily the boy whom she had copied from shared the same last name as ours. So the teacher did not come to know and she gave marks. Me, being the responsible elder sister, tried to give her a lecture and made her understand the meaning of exams and why copying in never a good idea.
  • Apart from food, we also have a crazy passion for colourful junk jewellery. Recently I saw Sindhu’s photo secretly shared with me by a relative. She was wearing beautiful junk jewellery and I started grinning ear to ear to see my sister sharing the same love even after all these years.
  • I can go on and on forever but I need to put a stop at this point and catch some sleep.
 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “Day 20 | Sisterhood

  1. More than words

    January 21, 2017 at 1:06 am

    Hugs honey … I hope you reconnect with your family soon….

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 23, 2017 at 10:30 am

      Thanks a lot for your kind words. Amen to that

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. tara

    January 21, 2017 at 1:21 am

    hi Seema

    Long time blog reader. Posting for the first time. Please excuse me if I say something wrong. Do try to visit your parents once the next time you go to India or at least your mom or sis.

    10 years is too long. Once your father sees you, he won’t be able to stop himself. You will have the satisfaction that you tried. Sorry if I touched a raw nerve

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 22, 2017 at 9:21 pm

      Hi Tara, thanks for commenting dear. You’re absolutely right in suggesting me to visiting my parents. I have thought of this a million times but ditched the idea every single time. You know thousands of rumours about me have been doing the rounds in my town about me and some of they are still ripe even after a decade of this event. I know for sure that my family had to go through a lot of humiliation because of me. But slowly they are back to leading a normal life now. I don’t want to throw pebbles into calm water and create ripples again at least till my sister gets married. We do plan to visit them after her marriage. I have consulted a few well meaning relatives who are in touch and they too talked me out of the plan. The place I belong to has been prone to communal riots and it is a very sensitive issue there dear. The last thing I want is to subject my family through the whole ordeal again by visiting them. The society is very mean and would not leave any chance to do what they do the best!

      You don’t have to be sorry dear. I am glad you commented 🙂 I will visit them one day, hopefully soon.

      Like

       
  3. popgoesthebiscuit

    January 21, 2017 at 4:36 am

    Hugs Seema ! Heartbreaking to read about your strong sisterhood growing up and then hearing you had to see a recent secret photo of her. Hope things resolve in this lifetime for you and you get to build more precious memories with her.

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 21, 2017 at 10:10 am

      Thank you dear. It does hurt all the time to have neither met nor talked to your own family for a decade but I guess I deserved it. I hope so too, fingers crossed.

      Like

       
  4. Tharani

    January 21, 2017 at 4:44 am

    What beautiful memories Seema. Lol on Sai baba😀😀

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 21, 2017 at 10:08 am

      Thanks Tharani, I felt bad for her to have that kind of hair at times. It’s too hard to maintain.

      Like

       
  5. anisnest

    January 21, 2017 at 7:09 am

    sisterly love is something I am not blessed with! could imagine all the fun you both have had.. hugs!!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 21, 2017 at 10:06 am

      I am fortunate to have a brother and a sister 😀 We had an amazing childhood Ani. I’m Adi and LHB will have a great sibling bond too

      Liked by 1 person

       
  6. Greenboochi

    January 25, 2017 at 11:42 pm

    What a wonderful post Seema 🙂 Being an elder sister has its own perks right?!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 27, 2017 at 3:05 pm

      Yes absolutely, I loved being the elder sister to my dearest Sindhu.I know you too are a doting sister to your Chinthalli 🙂

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
