RSS

Day 30 | Fitness funda

30 Jan

The titles of my post these days seem to be inclined to alliteration due to Mantam stressing on it lately in their stories. I digressed even before beginning the post!!

I am a person who had never even done simple stretches or danced in the name of workout. In Jan 2015, when I joined a new client I noticed that some of my colleagues there go to boot camp. On enquiry I learned that every week day from 12:15 to 1, workout classes are conducted in the park across the office’s street. My colleague Sups asked me to join her if I was interested. She told me that one week was free and that I could continue further if I liked it. By then I had put on so much weight that I grabbed the opportunity with all my body parts (pun intended!)

I still remember the first class that I attended, I could not even do 10% of what others in the class were doing. I was huffing and puffing and even before reaching halfway, I plonked myself under the shade of a tree giving up. The instructor told me to take it easy as it was my first class and told me a line that has stuck with me even now, “Don’t compare yourself with the other people in this class. They have come a long way to reach this level of fitness. In every class, compare your performance with that that of your previous class.” Although I could not continue that class, I laced up and showed up class after class. Tried to outperform the feat I had achieved till then with each passing class.

I was getting fitter, lifting heavier weights, mastering my boxing strokes, sprinting faster and longer, doing more reps of the same exercises that I could not even do initially. It was going great. But because I did not mend my eating habits, I did not see any significant change in my weight or inches. My other two colleagues and close friends Harvy and Sanyo volunteered for the “Member for the month” program conducted by the bootcamp instructor. They would take 1 person training class every week, for four weeks. Their goals before the program would be noted down, their weight and inches would be measured. They would be trained for the four weeks to achieve their goals. We saw the transformation in these two girls over the next one month and it was like magic. I too was tempted to try it out. I roped in Sups if she would like to ta along with me. I was not game for doing it alone. Sups readily agreed.

We signed up for the program, our instructor Dave took down our goals (which was mainly to lose inches), he measured out weight and inches, he asked us to sprint 400 metres and noted down the time we took to complete it and then we began our journey. Dave was amazing to check on us, monitor us, motivate us to stay focused. At the end of the four weeks, we had achieved some impressive numbers. Our running speed had increased. We felt fitter and better about ourselves. And then the India vacation happened, I came back and joined the bootcamp and continued for about 2-3 months. Then suddenly I developed neck sprain and the doctor advised to take a break from the bootcamp for 2-3 weeks. Slowly the fitness drive decreased inversely affecting the weight and inches. To add more fuel to the fire, I got released from that client and moved to a different location.

I did join a gym which was located in the same building as my client’s office. But I was asked to move again after a month. I lost the deposit I had to pay to get the membership, plus they charged me 4 weeks’ fee as notice. I felt guilty of wasting money and didn’t bother joining any other place. It was a good decision because they still had me shuttle between locations every now and then. But over time, I gained so much weight now that I am finding it hard to walk at a good speed. I pant for breath even if I have to briskly walk to catch a train. I have let the slumber damage my fitness levels alarmingly. I am trying to get back to track now.

Luckily, I found a bootcamp near my office just last week. And the icing on the cake is that it is free of cost. Because it is free, the classes have to be booked ahead and it works on first come first serve basis. The latest slot available was on 10th Feb and I made no delay in booking it. I also managed to book the whole of following week already. Can’t wait to get back to the groove and treat my muscles with delicious exercises. Did I tell you that my favourites, by the way, are boxing and strengh training (because my upper body is quite strong. My bootcamp instructor used to call me Junior Tyson 😀

Will be editing this post in a while to add some photos. 10 more minutes to go before the clock strikes 12. So I got to publish this post first.

Updated:

With pictures of bootcamp and also my first ever 14K marathon in Sydney. Sanyo, Harvy and I did it together and had loads of fun all the way because of one another’s company. Mantam and Abbas were super proud of me 🙂

imageedit_2_2921837020

Boxing with Harvy

imageedit_8_5789111837

Sups and I pumping iron

original_url: 9B9554FD-E16E-45ED-8B25-90FD3CDAEA53

The bootcamp scene

original_url: 96F36A30-1844-4253-BE62-3914F36A2ECF

What I came home to after completing the marathon

imageedit_3_9937189348

At the finishing line

imageedit_9_7404006518

My proud daughters

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Day 30 | Fitness funda

  1. Greenboochi

    January 31, 2017 at 1:00 am

    Wow amazing Seema! 🙂 I am super conscious of my surroundings and can be at ease when there are others working out around me. That’s why I dont even go to my office gym. I want some lone time while working out but then I miss out on the strength training etc. Looking at you lift those weights and punch, I am super inspired 🙂 Way to go!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2017 at 11:24 am

      I used to be like you GB. But once I started going to these group exercises held in a park, I have shed all my inhibitions. There were random strangers in the park who even stopped by to click our pictures. Initially, I used to feel awkward but then started enjoying all the paparazzi 😀 I cannot exercise alone any more. Just screw the onlookers and enjoy the sweat my darling! You will not look back again, trust me.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. lifeslittletwists

    January 31, 2017 at 2:03 am

    My God! All you girls are so much into fitness! I am slowly putting on weight sitting at home all day long but to get that butt out of the nice sofa is such a hard task 😦 I seem to keep finding excuses and COLD being primary excuse. I better start something! Soon!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2017 at 11:20 am

      Oye, I saw your Disneyland pics! And with that cute haircut, you look like a school going girl. Having said that, I do couch the fact that exercising for your health and well-being.

      Like

       
  3. lifeslittletwists

    January 31, 2017 at 2:04 am

    And you! My God! 14K marathon and boot camp! Way to go!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      January 31, 2017 at 11:18 am

      It was a thing of the past RS. Now I’m feeling jealous looking the pictures of myself that I posted. I need to get back to the fierce mode again!

      Like

       
  4. popgoesthebiscuit

    January 31, 2017 at 6:31 pm

    What a wonderful example you are setting for your girls !! Their banner is so cute and full of love for you. Stay blessed !

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2017 at 2:11 pm

      Oh yes, that’s one of the motivating factors too, to lead by example. Thanks Pop 🙂

      Like

       
  5. anintrovertedblogger

    February 5, 2017 at 8:16 pm

    Amazing! 14k marathon is amazing! I really want to do one too!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2017 at 9:12 am

      Yes, do it AIB. I can guarantee that you’ll feel on top of the world.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  6. anisnest

    February 6, 2017 at 8:34 am

    woww.. strength training! that is something I need like now and that note from kiddo’s is awesome.. good luck with your fitness goals Seema!

    Like

     
    • Seema

      February 7, 2017 at 9:08 am

      I love strength training Ani, more so because my uppe body is strong. Ask me to run a few metres and I’ll get cold feet 😀 Thanks and wish you the same dear

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
