RSS

What’s up?

18 Mar

It’s been a while since my last post? This year after the Blogathon, I had vowed to be regular throughout the year. Almost everyday, I have had a blogpost drafted in my mind but somehow other mundane chores take priority on most days. On remaining days, it’s my slumber!

I just want to write down what’s been happening in our lives in my favourite bullet points:

  • First things first, We got the ย much awaited council approval of plans for our home on 20th of Feb (Co-incidentally the same day 3 years ago we had got our Australian visa grant letter). Subsequently, we also received the letter of authority to commence construction by the end of February. We were thrilled and couldn’t wait for the construction to kick start. But as the old adage goes, “Man proposes and God disposes”, March dawned with heavy and continuous rains. There has been no breather since and it’s going to rain cats and dogs till the end of this month. In summary, we are just waiting while paying our monthly installment for a piece of land. Sigh!!
  • I have been practicing driving with Abbas (only to increase his blood pressure everytime he sits in the passenger seat). I have booked my test on 31st of March. I booked driving lessons too, just to be thorough with rules. Although I have no hope of passing in the first attempt (No human that I know of has passed in my suburb in their maiden test), I am determined this time to keep at it. Thanks to RM, Maya, TP, Roopa and some of my other friends here who were as scared as me but went ahead and gave the tests till they achieved that lucrative Licence. I am hoping for the best but prepared for the worst.
  • This year when we went to enroll Mantam to the swimming classes, Abbas told me that the adult beginner class has slots too and we grabbed the opportunity with both hands and got enrolled. I must write a separate post on our journey.
  • Mantam’s school music band conducts try-outs for kids when they enter Year 3. Mannu was sleected for flute and Tammu for Clarinet. Mannu had already completed her basic course in Drums and was so passionate about it, so we requested if there was an option for her to do drums instead of flute. Initially they denied but later told us that there is a spot available for drums. Tammuย had also done keyboard last year but we saw that her interest in keyboard had hit rock bottom by the end of the year, so we let her go with Clarinet. They have lessons every Monday after school and rehearsals every Monday morning before school.
  • I had joined a bootcamp near office and went atleast twice a week but ever since the Monsoon season started, workouts have taken a back seat.
  • While we are talking about learning new skills, I have learnt to make the heart pattern on coffee that the baristas make. We have a professional coffee machine at workplace where we start from the scratch by grinding the coffee beans. After several failed disastrous attempts, I am now able to make the heart pattern and planning to slowly graduate to the leaf pattern.
  • Mantam are continuing with the gymnastics classes this year too. But they don’t have the same enthusiasm as last year. Abbas and I are wondering if we should let them continue or quit. We did ask them a couple of times but got very neutral answers.
  • Mannu got selected in her school’s dance group this year while Tammu got selected in the T-Ball team.
  • Too many things going on our lives and we are loving it. 2017 has been a great year so far and we hope it continues to be so

How have you all been? How’s this year treating you so far?

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “What’s up?

  1. Manasa

    March 18, 2017 at 8:38 pm

    Love this format!!! Please keep at it now n then!
    All the very best for your driving test! You know what, I failed thrice in Dubai, twice in the US before i got my license n cinched it in my first attempt in India! ๐Ÿ™‚ see… It takes a lot of tries, n sometimes just a single attempt!
    N mantam r so cool!!! I somehow felt tammu was the drumming type! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 24, 2017 at 1:17 pm

      Yes, I did get it in my first attempt. Thanks for the motivation sweetheart. As much a dramebaaz Tammu is, we would have thought so too. But turns out that Tammu, is the ‘huli’ only at home and turns out to be an ‘ili’ in public. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

       
  2. My Era

    March 19, 2017 at 5:17 pm

    Wow! congratulations on the council approval ๐Ÿ™‚
    So happy that you guys have enrolled for the swimming lessons along with the twins. Good Luck with the driving test. I’m sure you’ll do well as long as you steer clear of the trams and are careful to give way where due.
    Enjoy the rains and good luck with the leaf pattern on the coffee cup ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

     
  3. Roopa Mahale

    March 22, 2017 at 1:18 am

    Don’t worry, you will clear. Have faith. Fikar nako :).

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 24, 2017 at 1:14 pm

      Oh my, you really had the confidence in me, didn’t you? Thanks again dear. Means so much to me.

      Like

       
  4. lifeslittletwists

    April 11, 2017 at 6:41 am

    yaay! but how are things now? Its April – did you get your license? has work and boot camp started? Have the rains let up? Swimming is on my bucket list to learn..I hope I do…tell me how your journey has been…

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 24, 2017 at 1:13 pm

      Sorry for the late posts. Yes yes yes, I got my licence. I will write a post on swimming lessons soon.

      Like

       
  5. anisnest

    April 18, 2017 at 5:57 am

    I am breathing heavy just by reading all these activities ๐Ÿ™‚ Go go to all of you.. keep up with them..

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 24, 2017 at 1:09 pm

      Thank you so much Ani for the constant encouragement

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
