RSS

Driving diary – Part 2

16 Apr

Continued from Part 1 here:

After my initial goal of getting my driving license flew out of the window, it left us alone till I turned 31. That one year went by with endless running around over the weekends for house hunt, selection appointments and tonnes of other commitments. As the next birthday dawned I realized how I had one item on my checklist before I turned 30 but a whole year passed by without me sitting behind the wheels. I wondered if I would ever get that box ticked ever in my life (Yeah, I can get a bit dramatic from time to time). Whenever I would look at women driving on the road so confidently, I would tell myself how I had failed at learning this life skill and had to always be dependent on Abbas. I had given up the slightest hope of driving. Let alone aiming at getting a license.

And then the universe conspired to slam me with so many of my friends and acquaintances getting their driving licenses. Although I was happy for all of them from the bottom of my heart, it drove me nuts and made me feel like a total loser. I slowly started asking Abbas to let me drive and practice when we went out together. But husbands, I tell ya! Abbas would pant, yell, sigh, scream, hallucinate in the passenger seat and make me go bananas. He once shouted at me thinking I was driving too much towards the left that he thought I was going to bang all the parked cars to my left like some Rohit Shetty movie. We would then return to our designated seats to regain normalcy.

One of my friends informed me that she had got the DL on her 5th attempt. She told me how the officer almost yelled at her saying “You will kill me”. She insisted that if she could do it, anyone could. The only key is to not give up. It stuck with me. Also there were posts by RM and DM about how they got their DLs and the thought of getting DL started haunting me. One of my friends M got her driving license in February and told me how her instructor was amazing and gave me his contact number. I declared to Abbas that I was going to book my driving test first. I would keep procrastinating otherwise. If I had a date fixed, I would certainly work towards it. So we booked 31st March for the driving test.

There were almost 2 months at my disposal to get ready to face the demon (In this case the Driving Test Officer). We had too many things going in February, so I decided to start taking lessons from the instructor in March. I thought I would practice with Abbas in February. Abbas would let me drive only in quiet eerie streets as he would lose his mind as soon as he sat in the passenger seat. One evening when I was in high spirits about driving, I said that I would drive to our favourite restaurant. All was well till I did some silly mistake and Abbas yelled at me. I totally went blank and my mind wandered elsewhere. I jumped two signals, Abbas snapped! He lost his temper and I was too stunned to react. I don’t know how we reached the place. We parked the car and had our meal without any conversation with each other. We were only talking to Mantam and in our own heads. I kept asking myself how I could jump signals and that I had been a hazard on the road. One voice in my told me that I must never drive ever again in my life, the other backed Abbas and supported his reaction, and the last one calmed me down and asked me to get the keys and drive back home again or this incident would prove a major setback again in my driving journey. I had to overcome it by driving again at the earliest.

When we walked towards the car park, two voices in my head were battling with each other – to drive or not! As we reached the car, Abbas, who was silent till then, brought his right hand towards me and handed me the car keys and smiled. I grabbed it, I just had to! I drove decently back home although he had to park the car as I was still confused about the direction in which the car moves in reverse gear! Sigh….

To be continued….

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Driving diary – Part 2

  1. Jo

    April 16, 2017 at 7:12 am

    I hear you.. These husbands 🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄 I don’t think I’ll ever take the test considering how each practice ride end up to be a war-kinda-situation at home 😕

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 24, 2017 at 1:12 pm

      Haha yes. That’s why ditched the husband and learnt from the instructor. Would have never passed in this lifetime if I had to practice with Abbas. Good luck Jo. Go for it girl. You will get the licence soon.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. Roopa Mahale

    April 18, 2017 at 5:33 am

    ‘confused about the direction in which the car moves in reverse gear!’ – had me laugh out loud. It was same for me.I used to be terrified. Just recently I was gifted with 1 hour commute (drive!) .

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 24, 2017 at 1:10 pm

      It used to be so hard until the concept was cleared by the current instructor. Enjoy your gifted commute gal! 😀

      Like

       
  3. anisnest

    April 18, 2017 at 6:01 am

    and I know the result already 🙂 somebody told me 🙂

    Like

     
    • Seema

      April 24, 2017 at 1:08 pm

      Hahaha, you knew it already. I can guess who the somebody is. Is that your gym buddy?

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
