Day 6 | My Pen Friend

Recounting my school days here, we had formed different gangs of girls within the class. And there were tiffs between the so called ‘rival’ gangs. Manasa was a part of the other gang and we were never even close to being friends. At the end of 10th standard, we had this tradition of maintaining a slam book where all the classmates wrote about themselves and their contact details. Manasa was going to move to Bangalore. I really don’t remember how, why and when it started, but we started writing snail mails to each other. In the process, we became so close and got to know each other very well. We became thickest of pals. Once I wrote my letter to her, I would start eagerly waiting for her reply. Whenever my grandpa came home with all the mails, I would run to him and check if there was something addressed to me. Receiving a hand-written letter, opening it with so much enthusiasm and going through its contents was something else and absolutely incomparable to e-mails.

While our exchange of letters went on for a few years, suddenly we lost touch. I really don’t remember again how we lost contact with each other. I tried to find her on social media high and low but never did. I would ask my classmates if they knew of her. But I never received a response in positive. Finally, this year I found her on Facebook and I was on cloud nine. But she isn’t very active on FB and I was a bit apprehensive too as there a decade of gap in between us. I didn’t know if she had missed me at all. All of a sudden I had this idea of creating a Whatsapp group of all the classmates from school. While chatting, somehow the topic of my love story came up and I shared the blogpost link.

Manasa then pinged me separately and we started chatting. She asked me if I had a blog and she was amused to know that. And then she told me that she has been blogging as well. I can’t tell you how happy we both were. We started reading each other, savouring each and every post, rediscovering our pen friend’s life just like old times. We could catch up on each other’s journey.Frankly, my love for writing developed with letters I wrote to her and for her to read all that I had written so far on the blog made me feel that the blog has served one of it’s purposes. Blogs are invaluable, seriously! We can never go out of touch again.

Manasa is also participating in the Blogathon this year 🙂