Tryna be a Wannabe

I keep trying to be in the know of everything pop culture through social media or listening to Mantam with keen ear. But they cringe at some of the things I say and it’s so much fun to have them give an eyeroll and then correct me.

When Rhianna performed at the Ambani wedding, me tryna be a wanna:

Mantam, do you how much RiRi got paid to perform at an Indian billionaire’s wedding?

Both of them unanimously: Did you say RiRi? Ewww!

Me: That’s what they call her, don’t they?

Mantam (with a tone of disgust): Who’s they? Nobody calls her RiRi

Me: Just like they call Taylor TayTay!

Mantam: Mumma, puhleez don’t say that. Nawwwwrrrr!

Me to annoy them further: By the way, TravTrav is flying to Singapore to meet TayTay

Mantam: Mumma stahhhp


Before we went to the Eras tour, I had joined a FB group of Swifties to get inspiration for costume ideas and also to learn about what to expect. I learnt way too much about Taylor Swift than I knew before. Every time I would find something interesting, I would share it with the girls and also drop all the cool stuff I learnt in random conversations.

One day I said ‘Mother is mothering’ 😅 and I got a huge eyeroll. Since then, I refer to Taylor as mother and they get so annoyed 😂

Then there’s so many people taylor has had beef with and some she had made up with. I can’t keep track. Yesterday I watched Diljeet and Ed Sheeran performing Punjabi song ‘Lover’ and I absolutely loved it. I enjoyed it so much that I was about to share the reel with the girls but I didn’t know if mother had beef with Ed. I messaged in our family group chat asking

‘Do we like Ed Sheeran or not?’

Tammu replied – Neutral

Mannu said – Yeah, we like him.

Then I shared the video with them. They laugh at how silly I am always tryna be a wannabe with them. But I think they secretly love it. Atleast that’s what my delulu tells me 😅

Leave a comment